We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical oasis!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alanta Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alanta Villa
Ranked #10 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tropical oasis!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

After a smooth transfer from Krabi airport by mini van and 15 min speed boat ride we arrived at the fantastic villa.

The villa's are located a short walk from the main road with various restaurants and shops. We stayed in the 2 bed room villa Male.

Bed rooms
Spacious, clean and with a very good bed.

Bath room
Balinese style so outside shower and toilet

Living space
Is very nice with a fully equipped kitchen, dining table for 4 persons, flat screen satellite tv and a cozy lounge corner. Attached to the living space is the small but very nice pool to cool down.

We stayed here for 6 nights and absolutely loved the peace and quiet. Geng, the manager on site, is an absolute delight. He arranged food on the first night, hired our motor bikes, etc nothing was too much trouble.

The villa gives ample space for 4 persons.

Negative sides? Mosquito's were annoying but that is part of the tropical life style. There is enough anti mosquito stuff to chase them away.

Enough said! Go and book yourself a villa and enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Even before getting there, we knew we'll have a great stay as Geng, the GM, was quick to respond to e-mail enquiries and all our concerns. We're a family of four adults, one child and one toddler and the 2-room villa fit us all so comfortably. The plunge pool was just nice for us to laze around and that's where we spent most of our time. Rooms were impeccable designed and we all had a great slumber! We didn't check out the beach as we had to walk out of the villa entrance down the sloping pathway and cross the main road to get there which Mom found a bit too strenuous for her knees. Geng was quick to note our dietary requirements and supplied us halal sausages for breakfast which he stocked in the fridge upon our arrival. His thoughtfulness was greatly appreciated. We cooked a lot in the villa's kitchen and got our supplies from the minimart down the road from the villa's entrance. Geng also helped us with our car rental which made exploring the island a breeze. Housekeeping was excellent and cleaned up after us in the kitchen, which truly made this a vacation for everyone! We love, love LOVE this place and would sure return in future. Trust the reviews you read here and book yourself a stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmaRamsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

had a verry nice stay in alanta villa! a beautyfull and secluded pool villa named "kanika".
we stayed with our 7 month old baby and all was done to fullfill our and the babies needs (even a nice baby bed with moskitonet).
a perfect place to relax with all the comfort needed. 2 bedroom, pool, open kitchen and livingroom, flatscreen, minibar etc. ( the baby loved the pool to cool down).
thanks for a great time we allways look foreward to come back

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robs1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanya, Hainan, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I are currently staying here for our honeymoon, and I felt inclined to leave comments about our stay so far because I'm so pleased that we spent a few extra dollars to stay at such a fantastic place. Alanta Villas are stunning, private, and impeccably clean. The service you get from Geng, the owner of the villas, is so friendly and helpful - he wants you to feel relaxed and happy, and makes it possible for you to not even lift a finger! Every detail is looked after - from complimentary breakfast items in the fridge to flashlights and mosquito picks, everything you could need is stored neatly in the villa. The best thing about Alanta villas is how it manages to be luxurious and high end, without losing touch with authentic, natural surroundings - this is so far from the generic atmosphere you get at so many resorts! The villas are decorated with beautiful Asian accents, the landscaping is lovely, the private pool is welcoming after a day out in the sun, and the open-air bathroom is really awesome (having your morning shower with butterflies fluttering around is a great way to start the day!) I can't recommend this place highly enough - do yourself a favour and stay here for an absolutely amazing holiday :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RandiPandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

After a week on Phuket we moved on to Koh Lanta. We had stayed in Krabi many years ago but when I checked out Krabi and Phi Phi Island it was not the sort of holiday we were after. Everything had changed, not necessarily for the better.
Due to it being low season the boat transfers to Koh Lanta were not available so it was a five hour drive via minivan from Phuket to Koh Lanta, which includes two ferry crossings to get from the mainland to Koh Lanta .
Everything was booked online through Alanta Villas, including the transfer there and back,. This was relatively hassle free apart from having to pay two deposits and the remainder, in cash, on arrival and incurring substantial bank fees in the process.
A word of warning here if you are using the transport recommended by Alanta Villas. The driver had some sort of death wish and we were genuinely in fear of our lives a number of times. The trip took five hours going down and four coming back, at 120+km/hr in blinding rain at times. This was taken up with the company on our return and I am confident the matter has been rectified. As anywhere else in Asia there are plenty of transport options available.
We arrived on Koh Lanta at Saladan, it is the main town and ferry terminal on Koh Lanta. There are a number of shops, restaurants and banks in Saladan. I mention banks as we never saw a money changer, apart from the banks during our stay. It may be different in the larger resorts but we never went there. Apart from that there are not many other shops on Koh Lanta apart from the inevitable minimart and 7/11.
Alanta Villas is approximately 10-15 minutes South of Saladan. It was an inauspicious start when we turned off the road onto a muddy track, however this improved after 200m and was a smooth concrete road for another 200m before entering the gates of Alanta and Saneh Villas. By way of explanation these are two separate Villa units within the one complex. Alanta has four villas inside the gate and Saneh another six further up the hill. Saneh are for sale and rent whereas Alanta are only for rent. Geng the resident manager has an interest in both complexes.
There is a large swimming pool and change facilities at the top of the area for communal use, however having our own pool we never used the main pool.
We were met by Geng and some of the staff and taken into our villa through the typical Balinese temple gates. All four Alanta Villas are identical in layout and facilities, we had the first unit inside the gates.
Breathtaking is the first reaction, it is exactly as you see it on the internet only better in real life.There was a large open pavilion on our right that contained the lounge with large flat screen TV and DVD player, which flowed in to the dining room and the kitchen. All beautifully appointed and the attention to detail and the small touches made it even better. There is free wi-fi and a kitchen that has everything you could ever want and then some, and all of a very high quality.
At the end of the pavilion were the two totally separate bedrooms, airconditioned and fan of course, and without a doubt the most comfortable beds and pillows we have ever slept in. we are even trying to buy the pillows at home!
And then the "piece de resistance" the outdoor bathroom, shower and toilet, again beautifully presented and immaculately clean.
Then there is the outside - our own 6x5m pool, lounges and umbrella and outdoor pool shower in immaculately groomed gardens.
Everything was cleaned daily, including he pool. There were a couple of minor maintenance issues that were fixed or replaced immediately by the pool/maintenance guy.
Geng was very helpful and knowlegeable and arranged motor bikes for us, which we glad to hand back. It is very easy to ride around Koh Lanta, but when you are as bad as us the minivan is a better option. There are any number of drivers touting for business but we lucked on to Farouk, who was a delight. Very reliable and prompt whenever we rang.
The villas are approx 400m to the road and then another 200m to the beach. Unfortunately we were unable to use the beach due to the rough windswept conditions during our stay. This also limited any water based activities. One of the drawbacks of going low season. However, conversely nothing was ever crowded and a lot of the accommodation and restaurants were closed for the season. The units are 300m from Nengs restaurant, deservedly #1 restaurant and other smaller restaurants and shops.
Time for Lime was a hit both as a restaurant and cooking class, but as the "lazy partner" I was only allowed to watch and eat. Relax Bay restaurant was not as good, beautiful location on the beach but the food was not as good as others we had experienced, despite a 20% discount courtesy of Geng and Alanta Villas - same owner.
If you can find better accommodation on Koh Lanta I doubt it. It is obviously not for everyone being self contained and away from the night life, shops and restaurants, but nothing is far on Koh Lanta. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are no best rooms here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

Think: Designer space, Modern, Outside living space, Close to shops and local restaurants, friendly staff, Effortless stay.

Stayed here for a few days for our Honeymoon.

This exclusive villa sits in a small compound just in from the coast. There are 4 rental properties and a half dozen other owned ones from their sister company in the same compound, making it personal but still retaining privacy.

The 2 bed accom is outstanding, with all the mod cons, including A/C and plasma TV/DVD. The kitchen is well equipped if you fancy cooking yourself or just having breakfast.

The beach is close but you are not right on the beach so it is much quieter (and nicer) in my opinion.

'Ghen', the compound host, arranged an effortless transfer from our other accomodation on the island, as well as dropping us off at the bus station upon our departure. Also on hand to arrange anything from renting scooters to offering advice on where to eat/drink.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All acom is great. Satisfaction guaranteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhysotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

My family and I stayed in Alanta Villa during the Christmas season and it was beautiful. The villa had two gorgeous rooms and one of them had an extra bed, so it slept 5 people total. The design, layout, and styling are all top notch. The outdoor dining room kitchen is very enjoyable and the private pool in the villa was great. It was perfect for swimming or lounging in the chairs, you could lay in the sun or under the umbrella. The staff keep everything very clean and maintained well!

It is not on the beach, but a short walk away from a really nice beach. It is also close to a reasonable amount of restaurants shops, but there isn't a huge selection. We rented scooters for the week, so that we could get around more. Geng, the manager, was terrific and helped us rent the scooters and setup some trips in the area. He used to be a dive instructor in the area for a number of years and has great knowledge of the area.

I would definitely recommend Alanta Villa to anyone with a larger group who wants to stay together or for anyone looking for some private relaxation. It was very beautiful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grant24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.4 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.6 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alanta Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanta Villa

Property: Alanta Villa
Address: 429 Moo 2, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 203 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alanta Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ko Lanta, unspoiled island of Andaman sea, Alanta Villa offers 2 bedrooms villas with private pool, Dining area and expansive al fresco living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alanta Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing