We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, great fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai Cat

Thai Cat
Ranked #28 of 289 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Bar Scene, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: This is a beach restaurant at the northern end of Long Beach where we ate last night. I was greatly disappointed by the meal and the price in a country where we have been so impressed by the quality and the cost of foodcountrywhere
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“Amazing service, great fresh seafood!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We ate here many times during our short stay at Lanta. Each time was great. The staff is so friendly and treated us like old friends. I recommend ordering from their fresh barbecue seafood. The chef and fisherman Dilok was helpful with suggestions and we enjoyed the tiger prawn and butterfish.
If you visit Lanta don't miss this great spot.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lrun1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    211
    65
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food and service to match!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Lovely setting with delightful staff willing to help you with a smile! The food was delicious and we couldn't believe how cheap it was. They also have a few lovely dogs which were all strays taken in by the owner, they are just as friendly as the waiters ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dam395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The restaurant was delicious. A cute cat enjoys. There are many books to choose from. it is considered part of the service. Is the same.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Namkhinglovelinguan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thai Cat is awesome!!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Been there with my wife and brother - best restaurant at Lanta)))
Had every breakfast and supper there - nice staff which's working as a swiss watches, you just think about what you want and they've already brought it to you.
The best tom yum we've ever tried; shrimp cocktail looks like it contains prawns))) and not only Thai food is great - even mexican is awesome (after Thai ones it doesn't even tastes as spicy). And one more thing you should definitely try is fried papaya salad with seafood, mmmmmm and of course BBQ in the evening.
I'll be missing this place till the next vacation)))

P.s. By the way there were a lot of families with kids, so if you want to find the place for all family - this is the spot.
P.p.s. The only point that might seem as disadvantage is that there's no Wi-Fi spot, but I consider that sitting in this place, watching the beach and sea or (what is better) orange-purple sunset you will not want to connect with outside world :)))

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexander_Rakovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach Restaurant”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

During the week we stayed on Koh Lanta we went to Thai Cat twice simply because the food is delicious and the setting perfect, on the beach at sunset, feet in the sand and lovely food. The freshly barbecued fish with a simple lime dressing was absolutely delicious, the morning glory in oyster sauce was yummy too. The Green Curry was excellent too. Good fruit shakes, excellent service, friendly staff. Really liked this place. We even got to play with some of the kids when we joined in their ball game as we were leaving. Can't say enough good things about the place, truly reasonable prices too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sailqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Cat also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Thai Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing