We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warmly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Warmly recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for 12 nights at Long Beach Chalet in Dec2011 and prepared ourselves for disappointment, since the place sounded almost too good here in Tripadvisor. But no: we'll join everyone and say we loved our stay.
The place is very well maintained, very clean. Rooms are nice, beds very comfortable, and under the bungalow there's a kind of an out-door living-room with hammock. Used it a lot!
One of us is sensitive sleeper and felt that the soundproofing could have been better. Also the bungalows' floor shakes a bit when you walk in there, which may be a small minus. We stayed in one of the new bungalows, and figured that the bathroom wasn't finished, since the walls and floor were just plain concrete. This didn't bother us. Nice finished touch comes from small things like cotton buds and conditioner.
I have some serious food allergies so it was important for me that the restaurant "Three Mums" could prepare food meeting my special needs. One of the mums, Lynn, took extra special good care of my eatings. Prices are very reasonable, so it was easy decision to eat there a lot. Also very convenient to pay by telling your room number. The food can also be ordered to your bungalow.
Lynn and Tam kept coming to have a chat during breakfast and dinner, asking about our trips and doings, so we felt well taken care of!
Breakfast list is not very long, but everything is served for you by order, which means you always get cold things cold and hot things hot. Very good.
Lovely beach is just a short path-walk away, and there are great beach bars "Klapaklum" and "Calypso" with nice and relaxed staff. You can sit or lie on their chairs etc. and order cold drinks, shakes and food at very good price. Do try Calypsos Chicken Satay - never had better! Klapaklum served excellent Massaman Curry.
If we get back to Ko Lanta, we will absolutely go back to Long Beach Chalet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Elina,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. We are delighted you both had a great time staying with us.

We have noted the minor concerns about the new bungalow. The bathrooms walls are made from polished concrete with touches of wood and bamboo - intended to give the bathroom a rustic feel. We will work continuously on improving the look and functions of our unique bathrooms!

We believe that from April 2012 onwards, the sound problem shall be greatly reduced because the road down to the beach shall be become a strictly private one that will limit the number of vehicles passing nearby.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    115
    40
    18
    3
See reviews for
64
326
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Wow, after a very bad service experience on Koh Phi Phi we arrived in Koh Lanta and had the warmest welcome at Long Beach Chalet. Welcome drink, a proper introduction of the hotel, the island (things to do) etc.

Location:
set back from the main beach, central
Beach:
they have a agreement with a beach shack, however I think they should offer some sun beds for free for their guests.
Restaurant:
outstanding absolutely scrumptious food. You just want to take the 3 mums who cook the food home with you. Unreal, it's so good.
Room/Chalets:
Very nice, clean, bright, with A/C and TV, little balcony and a chill area underneath the chalet, where they also serve you food if you feel like some me-time.
Service/staff:
super friendly, helpful, most hospitable staff ever

I've seen better Thai islands than Lanta, however this place made our stay and we are having the very best memory of it, forever!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Superior rooms by the pool very nice but still unfinished when we arrived, but still able to relax with a comfortable bed, ac, large tv, and hot shower. Right by the pool, which was nice. Lazed around under the room in what can only be described as a car park with a bamboo bed/ pillows - ideal for reading / drinking / chilling.
Great food in the restaurant, perfect English spoken by most staff, slight unprofessionalism you get with being a young family run business, but any negatives can be totally overlooked. Will stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjars555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear valued customer,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. The Long Beach Chalet team feel encouraged by the positive comments received and will strive to improve our weaknesses so that we will be better when you return. The Superior Rooms are now being totally improved so that all small blemishes that were evident are eliminated.

Wishing you a healthy and prosperous new year.
Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were on honeymoon in Long Beach Chalet.
Accommodation was in the form of bungalows, which were very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom I came unfinished and there was no space for storing things.
Pool was nice and relatively large. Staff nice and friendly. The disadvantage I see in the distance and the breakfast that is served. I would recommend rather buffet selection that everyone chose what he likes. Maybe breakfast earlier than 7:30.

The kitchen was excellent - I was surprised delicious food. Sometimes I was not surprised that once food has been decorated with ornate and sometimes not at all. Cook did not want to decorate some time.

Accommodation shall be the price and it was very nice, near the beach, I would certainly return to it, but I would say that it still needs to improve deficiencies.

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Christine and Martin

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristynaSlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
Dear Christine and Martin,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write us a review. We are glad that you had an positive overall stay but have seriously taken note of the recommendations you have given us.

First, just to clarify our location: we are located 100m (from gate to sea). Its a few minutes walk down to undoubtedly the best part of long beach, where it is both quiet and with some nice bars and restaurants to choose from. Long Beach Chalet does have a future plan to pave and develop this nature path down to the beach and also intend to build beach front chalets too.

Regarding the breakfast, we do have a la carte breakfast included in our price. Thus, guests can choose from a variety of items accompanied by drinks and fruits. We do have a lenient refill policy though, so guests can ask for more if required (at no extra charge). Unfortunately, since we are still a very small resort, buffet breakfast is something we are unable to do right now (but definitely for the future when we have more chalets!). Breakfast official opening time is 7.30 am but our staff start in the kitchen from 7 am. Please feel welcome to come have breakfast with us a little earlier (or later than the 10.30am official time)

The comment about the food decoration is the first we have received but nevertheless, we will work harder on maintaining the high level of quality that's normally provided day in day out. All dishes are always decorated with some garnish and carrot carving that's been meticulously prepared by the mums.

Thanks again for your kind comments and we wish you both all the happiness for your marriage.

Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We are family with 1 kid stayed at Long Beach Chalet for 4 nights and every night was aswesome even tho we didnt get to try any meals for Three mums because of my husband has his favovite place but Tam and his sister and staffs were lovely,breakfast was reasonably delicious.It was our little paradise staying there.we will be back
Little BEN and family

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nippy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Goldberg family,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy that you all had a great time staying with us. We will continuously improve our standards so that Long Beach Chalet will be better each time you return! If possible, try out the food at the Three Mums's Restaurant too

Best Regards,
Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Long Beach Chalet is a very good family run resort with a walking distance to the beach of max. 2 min. The bungalows are spacious, reasonably priced, clean and modern. The pool is absolutely great and was always very clean.
The Three Mums restaurant is excellent (one of the best thai food restaurants I have been). The resort-team was very knowledgable about the area and always most helpful if you have any travel and sightseeing questions, they can organize everything (they also organized our transport back to Bangkok).
Only one remark about this very good resort: the rooms close to the road are loud so just ask for one towards the beach (the only reasons why we are not giving an excellent score).
We can definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIandKRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here more than one week in a standard room and enjoyed relaxing here. Here are the reasons why:
- good size room with good bed
- the relax area beneath the room with lounge bed and hammock
- aircon
- hot showers
- free WIFI
- satelite TV with a few English channels
- close to the beach but no issues with noise from the bars along the beach
- good food from Three Mamas restaurant
- reasonable price for the season and location in Koh Lanta
- responsive staff
- daily cleaning

The reasons why we are not giving an excellent score are:
- the bathroom is only accessible by going outside. Not convenient at night. It is a few steps but still
- the chalets 1 to 5 were built first. The construction of the floor is a bit weak which means that the room seems to shake if someone walks inside the room. The newer rooms seem to have a more strudy construction.
- the hammock looks great (made from bamboo) however it is not as comfortable as a conventional cloth hammocks.
- the pool looks nice but there are only 6 deck chairs for 20-25 potential guests

Overall a good place to have a relaxing time or as a basis to explore the island or the surrounding waters.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristofvdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Christof,

Thank you very much for writing us a very good review. The team at Long Beach Chalet are working hard to maintain the standard and also fix in the necessary areas that need to be improved.

Regarding the structure of the chalet, we do share your view that our bathroom is very different from conventional ones. We are currently working on some solutions to how to make the "gap" to the bathroom a more pleasant one. Already, some chalets have bamboo blinds fixed on the sides to block the view. This hopefully should help us maintain the uniqueness of the layout as well as make it more private for the guests.
The floors of the first five are perfectly safe but as you mentioned, do shake when walking around. The new chalets don't have this problem but these older 5 will be fixed as soon as possible (during the next low season).
The bamboo furniture, hammocks was part of our concept to make it feel tropical. We will see if we can have some special cushion made for them to make them more comfortable.
The pool has 8 deck chairs right now (not 6) and has rarely been fully occupied. If the situation changes, Long Beach Chalet will swiftly add more to accomodate.

Wishing you both a great new year ahead.
Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.3 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Property: Long Beach Chalet
Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing