We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here when in Lanta”
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at Long Beach Chalet in December 2011. All I can say is WOW!
First is the staff! The staff was the greatest of anyplace I have ever stayed. At check in we were met with nice drinks and friendly staff that got us all processed. At one point my wife's stomach was cramping (from too hot food we had prior to our arrival). The Mum was so sweet giving her some medicine and tea to make her feel better. The entire stay was met with staff that was happy to help and a pleasure to talk with! What an awesome bunch of people!

The rooms are also awesome. They were well appointed and well kept. The chalets are just plain awesome! The relaxation area below the chalets are fun and relaxing.

The beautiful Long Beach is a short walk away.... Very short.

Room rates and food prices were very good and reasonable!

I can't wait to be back at Long Beach Chalet.... And we will be back!

If your going to Lanta you would be crazy not to stay here... If your not planning on going to Lanta you should consider it. A very peaceful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear valued customer,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. The Long Beach Chalet team feel encouraged by the positive comments received and will strive to improve our weaknesses so that we will be better when you return. The Superior Rooms are now being totally improved so that all small blemishes that were evident are eliminated.

Wishing you a healthy and prosperous new year.
Best Regards,

Tam , Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Long Beach Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed for 12 nights at Long Beach Chalet in Dec2011 and prepared ourselves for disappointment, since the place sounded almost too good here in Tripadvisor. But no: we'll join everyone and say we loved our stay.
The place is very well maintained, very clean. Rooms are nice, beds very comfortable, and under the bungalow there's a kind of an out-door living-room with hammock. Used it a lot!
One of us is sensitive sleeper and felt that the soundproofing could have been better. Also the bungalows' floor shakes a bit when you walk in there, which may be a small minus. We stayed in one of the new bungalows, and figured that the bathroom wasn't finished, since the walls and floor were just plain concrete. This didn't bother us. Nice finished touch comes from small things like cotton buds and conditioner.
I have some serious food allergies so it was important for me that the restaurant "Three Mums" could prepare food meeting my special needs. One of the mums, Lynn, took extra special good care of my eatings. Prices are very reasonable, so it was easy decision to eat there a lot. Also very convenient to pay by telling your room number. The food can also be ordered to your bungalow.
Lynn and Tam kept coming to have a chat during breakfast and dinner, asking about our trips and doings, so we felt well taken care of!
Breakfast list is not very long, but everything is served for you by order, which means you always get cold things cold and hot things hot. Very good.
Lovely beach is just a short path-walk away, and there are great beach bars "Klapaklum" and "Calypso" with nice and relaxed staff. You can sit or lie on their chairs etc. and order cold drinks, shakes and food at very good price. Do try Calypsos Chicken Satay - never had better! Klapaklum served excellent Massaman Curry.
If we get back to Ko Lanta, we will absolutely go back to Long Beach Chalet.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Dear Elina,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. We are delighted you both had a great time staying with us.

We have noted the minor concerns about the new bungalow. The bathrooms walls are made from polished concrete with touches of wood and bamboo - intended to give the bathroom a rustic feel. We will work continuously on improving the look and functions of our unique bathrooms!

We believe that from April 2012 onwards, the sound problem shall be greatly reduced because the road down to the beach shall be become a strictly private one that will limit the number of vehicles passing nearby.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,
Tam, Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Wow, after a very bad service experience on Koh Phi Phi we arrived in Koh Lanta and had the warmest welcome at Long Beach Chalet. Welcome drink, a proper introduction of the hotel, the island (things to do) etc.

Location:
set back from the main beach, central
Beach:
they have a agreement with a beach shack, however I think they should offer some sun beds for free for their guests.
Restaurant:
outstanding absolutely scrumptious food. You just want to take the 3 mums who cook the food home with you. Unreal, it's so good.
Room/Chalets:
Very nice, clean, bright, with A/C and TV, little balcony and a chill area underneath the chalet, where they also serve you food if you feel like some me-time.
Service/staff:
super friendly, helpful, most hospitable staff ever

I've seen better Thai islands than Lanta, however this place made our stay and we are having the very best memory of it, forever!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flashpackhippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. We are delighted to hear that you had a great time staying with us and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Superior rooms by the pool very nice but still unfinished when we arrived, but still able to relax with a comfortable bed, ac, large tv, and hot shower. Right by the pool, which was nice. Lazed around under the room in what can only be described as a car park with a bamboo bed/ pillows - ideal for reading / drinking / chilling.
Great food in the restaurant, perfect English spoken by most staff, slight unprofessionalism you get with being a young family run business, but any negatives can be totally overlooked. Will stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjars555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2012

Dear valued customer,

Thank you very much for writing us a review. The Long Beach Chalet team feel encouraged by the positive comments received and will strive to improve our weaknesses so that we will be better when you return. The Superior Rooms are now being totally improved so that all small blemishes that were evident are eliminated.

Wishing you a healthy and prosperous new year.
Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We were on honeymoon in Long Beach Chalet.
Accommodation was in the form of bungalows, which were very spacious and comfortable. Bathroom I came unfinished and there was no space for storing things.
Pool was nice and relatively large. Staff nice and friendly. The disadvantage I see in the distance and the breakfast that is served. I would recommend rather buffet selection that everyone chose what he likes. Maybe breakfast earlier than 7:30.

The kitchen was excellent - I was surprised delicious food. Sometimes I was not surprised that once food has been decorated with ornate and sometimes not at all. Cook did not want to decorate some time.

Accommodation shall be the price and it was very nice, near the beach, I would certainly return to it, but I would say that it still needs to improve deficiencies.

Thank you for a pleasant stay.

Christine and Martin

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristynaSlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

Dear Christine and Martin,

Thank you very much for taking the time out to write us a review. We are glad that you had an positive overall stay but have seriously taken note of the recommendations you have given us.

First, just to clarify our location: we are located 100m (from gate to sea). Its a few minutes walk down to undoubtedly the best part of long beach, where it is both quiet and with some nice bars and restaurants to choose from. Long Beach Chalet does have a future plan to pave and develop this nature path down to the beach and also intend to build beach front chalets too.

Regarding the breakfast, we do have a la carte breakfast included in our price. Thus, guests can choose from a variety of items accompanied by drinks and fruits. We do have a lenient refill policy though, so guests can ask for more if required (at no extra charge). Unfortunately, since we are still a very small resort, buffet breakfast is something we are unable to do right now (but definitely for the future when we have more chalets!). Breakfast official opening time is 7.30 am but our staff start in the kitchen from 7 am. Please feel welcome to come have breakfast with us a little earlier (or later than the 10.30am official time)

The comment about the food decoration is the first we have received but nevertheless, we will work harder on maintaining the high level of quality that's normally provided day in day out. All dishes are always decorated with some garnish and carrot carving that's been meticulously prepared by the mums.

Thanks again for your kind comments and we wish you both all the happiness for your marriage.

Best Regards,

Tam, Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We are family with 1 kid stayed at Long Beach Chalet for 4 nights and every night was aswesome even tho we didnt get to try any meals for Three mums because of my husband has his favovite place but Tam and his sister and staffs were lovely,breakfast was reasonably delicious.It was our little paradise staying there.we will be back
Little BEN and family

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nippy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Dear Goldberg family,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very happy that you all had a great time staying with us. We will continuously improve our standards so that Long Beach Chalet will be better each time you return! If possible, try out the food at the Three Mums's Restaurant too

Best Regards,
Tam, Long Beach Chalet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Long Beach Chalet is a very good family run resort with a walking distance to the beach of max. 2 min. The bungalows are spacious, reasonably priced, clean and modern. The pool is absolutely great and was always very clean.
The Three Mums restaurant is excellent (one of the best thai food restaurants I have been). The resort-team was very knowledgable about the area and always most helpful if you have any travel and sightseeing questions, they can organize everything (they also organized our transport back to Bangkok).
Only one remark about this very good resort: the rooms close to the road are loud so just ask for one towards the beach (the only reasons why we are not giving an excellent score).
We can definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHRIandKRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,475 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.8 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £19 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing