We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family and a great stay”
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Can only re-iterate what the two previous reviewers have said. We stayed in a larger chalet and liked the fact that the bathroom was en-suite rather than having to go outside and across to the bathroom. Lyms Rice Bowl served the most amazing food in a gorgeous setting and they work so hard and are so helpful. Our room was kept so clean and the pool was great and so quiet. If you want to go on any excursions, they will help you and book it for you. Really cannot fault anything with the chalets, staff or food served at Lyms or the three mums. Would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CocoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a great hotel, absolutely fantastic service and really lovely, helpful people running the hotel. The rooms are great - we stayed in the larger room by the pool one night and a smaller room a second time through - its worth the extra money to get the larger room in my opinion.

The location is great - easy rise to/from the pier and night market and you can't beat long beach for swimming and walking. As a bonus you also get to wander down to the beach (2minute walk) and lounge on the bamboo beach huts/chairs of Lym's Rice bowl restaurant & bar (food is more expensive by Thai standards but AWESOME and well worth it for a nice dinner out).

For most of our lunches we ate at a GREAT roadside restaurant right across the main road called "sunrise restaurant" - the owner/chef is a very sweet lady and she cooks up a huge variety of delicious dishes for very reasonable prices and they have THE best mango shakes I've had so far....they taste like puréed frozen mango, no filler, absolutely awesome on a hot day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Long Beach Chalets _ good value, clean chalets a 5 minute walk through natural plants and fauna.
Cannot recommend enough, staff courteous and welcoming. Rooms / bathroom / linens etc. kept spotlessly clean. Chill out area below chalet wonderful, pool and gardens very well maintained.
3 mums restaurant - again nice staff, complimentary a la carte breakfast (not European standard) but there was always a nice crepe, eggs, toast, fresh fruit etc., so a more than adequate start to the day.
Ignore any previous 'bad' reports regarding bathrooms (problems with mosquitos, bugs etc.), you are in Thailand / a tropical destination..... These things are to be expected, just ensure you use repellent from dusk onwards! Ditto, squeaky floorboards..... Not annoying, funny if anything & we are aware that owners are trying to address this particular issue.
Pros: clean, spacious chalets, semi-open bathrooms with hot showers, nice balcony furnished with huge beanbags (albeit small), lovely chill out areas below chalets, well kept gardens and clean pool.
Moving on to Lym's Ricebowl owned by same family which is positioned on the beach 5 minutes from the chalets walking through private grounds. EXCELLENT! I will provide a further review - see restaurants.
Bamboo beds & beach beds with cushions provided free of charge to both chalet guests & the public, adjacent is a great massage venue run by a mother & daughter.... Again recommended, do give them a try. For approx £7 you can have a wonderful 1 - 1.5 hour massage, sheer bliss and if you need your feet sorted, just go for the foot scrub.
Probably the best position on Long Beach, clean facilities, clear blue sea and safe to swim.
Many other restaurants & bars within easy reach, but why go anywhere else as the food and staff were wonderful. So kind, welcoming, funny and the food cannot be faulted.
To sum up - we booked for next year 2014 before we left!

Room Tip: Pool facing deluxe rooms are larger, but we found standard chalets fine..... B block seem newer. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

the location is perfect, the setting too as well as the lodging and the welcome. Good help for excursions. very pleasant swimming pool aftera nice swim in the sea nearby.
Excellent restautrant on the beach hed by the manager's mother Lym.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow as far as possible from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Overall this is a nice family run Hotel with very helpful and friendly staff in a pretty good location on the beach (just south of a lot of the big resorts so a bit quieter).

However, I would just pre warn people before booking that there can be a lot of road noise through out the night and on our third and final night we could hear the bass from a nearby club until the early hours! We stayed in Room 1 and were warned on check in of the potential noise but as there was no alternative room we decided to go ahead. We were offered a move to room 2 on the second night but this was next door to room 1 so the noise levels would have not have been much better- tip - go for a pool room or one of the rooms further from the road.

One other point to note if you book via booking.com. We had originally booked our 1st night in one of the superior rooms but were informed on check in that there was a system error and the room was not available. This was no big issue but it would have been nice to have been informed prior to our arrival. Again check directly before you arrive if this is going to be a problem though I suspect this was a bit of a one off.

I'm quite picky and therefore do not be put off staying here from the above, the issues can be simply avoided if you contact them in advance.

The rooms are a good size with all you need, fridge, AC, clean bedding and towels and even a TV. There are hammocks and a lounger under the rooms which are great for chilling out on in the evening. For the price this is a great place but just beware of the room location and check before you arrive.

Another great plus for this place is the Three Mums Restaurant on the beach. The food was by far the best we had on the beach and definitely the best spring rolls we had all Holiday :-). If you like your food also check out Time for Lime.

Finally, the sunsets all the way along this coastline are amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1 and 2 as they are close by the noisy road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I read all the good reviews of this place and so booked as part of our 3 week travel around Thailand for our honeymoon.

Overall it was fine but I will list cons first then end positive with pros.

Cons
1. Room - the floorboards creak so loudly when you walk it's impossible to tiptoe to the toilet in middle of night without waking your partner! Towels ran out for 2 days so we had to share a beach towel we had brought with us for showers. The bed was changed but didn't seem the floors were cleaned. The aircon is poor also - woke up sweating every night. The bathroom sucked as it was a wet room and wasps kept flying in the open air gap when brushing my teeth. No hot water either. Just didn't feel comfortable or clean in there. They should close the gap with netting. Plus everyone could hear me peeing.

2. Mosquitos - everywhere and savage too. There is a net provided but just being extra strong repellent as the sand flies are bad also.

3. Walk to beach - rocky and full of rubbish/glass. Be careful of your bare feet.

4. Noise - waterfall from pool comes on at 6am so bring earplugs or ask to be moved away from pool. Mosque kicks off at 5am too then every 2 hours going forward. Lanta is predominately Islamic so just bear in mind.

5. Lack of seating in room - I had to drag our balcony chair in to do my hair in the mirror etc. Chairs would be good.

Pros
1. Food - Three Mums restaurant does good food for breakfast and dinner. Tasty and good prices.

2. Service - the brother and sister owners are helpful and informative and friendly. They helped us get a good deal on a speedboat transfer to the next destination.

3. The pool and grounds - pretty and clean. The waterfall and little jacuzzi pool is lovely.

4. Hammock under rooms - really nice to chill out under.

5. The beach - stunning Long Beach with an array of amazing bars and restaurants. Worth exploring as much as possible.

6. Bike rental - cheap and fun if you get a kick out of danger.

7. Bed - comfortable and big.

I wouldn't recommend if you're used to more luxurious places which was our problem and I admit it's my fault for not really checking. If you're on a budget this place is good value for money for sure. Good for younger couples I would say. Overall it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanwa_Sunas, Manager at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Mr & Mrs Petra Gladbach,

We are grateful to hear both your positive and negative feed back on our resort :) & I am sincerely sorry to hear that we were not able to meet or exceed your expectations during your stay with us. I STRONGLY assure you that your feedback has been treated as a perfect case study for our team here at Long Beach Chalet, and we will ENSURE that the mentioned conditions will be directly dealt with.

However, as discussed during your check out before your departure to the next hotel, we would have been able to remedy all of those factors should you have informed us maybe the first or second night of your stay? But you have decided to stay for 5 out of the 10 initially intended before addressing the issues & promptly decided to check out the following day. Since you had chosen to stay on and had not really alert us of your discomfort & displeasure we were unable to cater to your specific needs. Such factors as hot water, air con, & unsatisfactory bathroom/bedroom preferences, is very common and present in every resort/hotel of all sizes & prices. These amenities gets utilized often & so hardly gets time to replenish themselves before the next check in, which is especially true for every hotel during the high and peak season all over the world. If you had let us know we would have been able to come up with some solution or means of meeting your requirements or at least been able to allocate you to a different room if the issues persisted.

Please also understand the 'nature' of the architecture of our bungalows also. Each and every chalet is a high rise complex .ie. as you would term on 'stilts', & has been constructed of purely wood and concrete, the chances of it being 'wobbly' is therefore granted, especially if it has gone through the whole year of the high season period. However, having said that we are grateful and aware of this & it has already been forecast ed that we would renovate each individual chalet during the low seasons to address its 'wobbliness'. Please also understand that the 'gap' in the bathroom is intended like that, due to the very concept of 'outdoor' bathroom. This help with air circulation of the bathroom itself. All of our bathrooms are constructed like that.

As for the towels, we would have been able to issue you with new ones or at least given you explanations as to why there was a temporary shortage of towels, the whole island had to undergo a power cut for the whole day during one of the days of your stay which meant that the whole bungalow's laundry were unable to get washed/dried in time for next day's use. Even so, if you could have informed us that you have been using the same towels 2 days straight, we would have been able to directly address the House Keeping.

Once again, I sincerely thank you both for taking the time to right this very honest & useful feedback on Long Beach Chalet. We will now work TWICE as hard on both our service & overall satisfaction to our customers.

Sincerely,

Long Beach Chalet Mgt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had such a great stay at Long Beach Chalet. The owners are fab and are english speaking (I think they went to school in the uk). We stayed in both the standard and luxury rooms. Luxury are quite a bit bigger and have more light in them due to big windows but really both were lovely, clean and were actually rather luxurious for the price! I loved lounging in the little bed under the room - great for lunchtime snoozes! We stayed at Layana as well during our trip which was lovely but actually if we went back again we would stay here no matter what our budget was, it was just brill (they are literally next door to each other!). Our only quibble was the transport - we booked a 'luxury' car to drive us from the airport and it was rather scuzzie and took a long time while from Layana we got the speedboat which was so quick! I think they seem to have other options now (we went a year ago) so I'm sure thats all sorted out. We were there on honeymoon and it was very romantic, although the warmth and friendliness of the staff make it suitable for families and singles too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazt36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,500 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.3 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £40 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing