We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalet Bungalows”
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Nice Thai bungalows on stilts with thatched roofs. Unfortunately made the mistake of booking in advance following tripadvisor reviews and was put in bungalow B2 which was too close to the busy road so not a good sleep. Bungalow B2 was next to the 2 restaurants so not only road noise but normal noise you get from restaurants quite late into the night, then from early morning the staff arrive to prepare meals - normal Thai people in lots of coughing and clearing throats and spitting. Had 2 meals here - one western burger which was just a frozen piece of meat and a Thai meal of chicken, chillies and basil which was unedible and totally bland. Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff and lovely pool and grounds. So much to choose on this island so don't book ahead - just turn up and find the right place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the grounds near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 242PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in one of the larger chalets with an ensuite. We were there for 4 nights and really wished we had booked longer. The rooms were clean and although there is no safe in each room we had no issues with anything going amiss. The aircon was awesome as was the pool and location. We hired scooters from the hotel at a very reasonable price. The 3 Mums restaurant is lovely and breakfast was very hearty. We did eat 3/4 nights across the road at the Sunrise Restaurant. Ill write a review of that independently.. Very quiet, perfect friendly and helpful staff. the only thing i have recommended to the hotel is that the fridge stay on when you take the key from the door. Other than that, perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Can only re-iterate what the two previous reviewers have said. We stayed in a larger chalet and liked the fact that the bathroom was en-suite rather than having to go outside and across to the bathroom. Lyms Rice Bowl served the most amazing food in a gorgeous setting and they work so hard and are so helpful. Our room was kept so clean and the pool was great and so quiet. If you want to go on any excursions, they will help you and book it for you. Really cannot fault anything with the chalets, staff or food served at Lyms or the three mums. Would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CocoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This is a great hotel, absolutely fantastic service and really lovely, helpful people running the hotel. The rooms are great - we stayed in the larger room by the pool one night and a smaller room a second time through - its worth the extra money to get the larger room in my opinion.

The location is great - easy rise to/from the pier and night market and you can't beat long beach for swimming and walking. As a bonus you also get to wander down to the beach (2minute walk) and lounge on the bamboo beach huts/chairs of Lym's Rice bowl restaurant & bar (food is more expensive by Thai standards but AWESOME and well worth it for a nice dinner out).

For most of our lunches we ate at a GREAT roadside restaurant right across the main road called "sunrise restaurant" - the owner/chef is a very sweet lady and she cooks up a huge variety of delicious dishes for very reasonable prices and they have THE best mango shakes I've had so far....they taste like puréed frozen mango, no filler, absolutely awesome on a hot day.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMThai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Long Beach Chalets _ good value, clean chalets a 5 minute walk through natural plants and fauna.
Cannot recommend enough, staff courteous and welcoming. Rooms / bathroom / linens etc. kept spotlessly clean. Chill out area below chalet wonderful, pool and gardens very well maintained.
3 mums restaurant - again nice staff, complimentary a la carte breakfast (not European standard) but there was always a nice crepe, eggs, toast, fresh fruit etc., so a more than adequate start to the day.
Ignore any previous 'bad' reports regarding bathrooms (problems with mosquitos, bugs etc.), you are in Thailand / a tropical destination..... These things are to be expected, just ensure you use repellent from dusk onwards! Ditto, squeaky floorboards..... Not annoying, funny if anything & we are aware that owners are trying to address this particular issue.
Pros: clean, spacious chalets, semi-open bathrooms with hot showers, nice balcony furnished with huge beanbags (albeit small), lovely chill out areas below chalets, well kept gardens and clean pool.
Moving on to Lym's Ricebowl owned by same family which is positioned on the beach 5 minutes from the chalets walking through private grounds. EXCELLENT! I will provide a further review - see restaurants.
Bamboo beds & beach beds with cushions provided free of charge to both chalet guests & the public, adjacent is a great massage venue run by a mother & daughter.... Again recommended, do give them a try. For approx £7 you can have a wonderful 1 - 1.5 hour massage, sheer bliss and if you need your feet sorted, just go for the foot scrub.
Probably the best position on Long Beach, clean facilities, clear blue sea and safe to swim.
Many other restaurants & bars within easy reach, but why go anywhere else as the food and staff were wonderful. So kind, welcoming, funny and the food cannot be faulted.
To sum up - we booked for next year 2014 before we left!

Room Tip: Pool facing deluxe rooms are larger, but we found standard chalets fine..... B block seem newer. Can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

the location is perfect, the setting too as well as the lodging and the welcome. Good help for excursions. very pleasant swimming pool aftera nice swim in the sea nearby.
Excellent restautrant on the beach hed by the manager's mother Lym.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow as far as possible from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Overall this is a nice family run Hotel with very helpful and friendly staff in a pretty good location on the beach (just south of a lot of the big resorts so a bit quieter).

However, I would just pre warn people before booking that there can be a lot of road noise through out the night and on our third and final night we could hear the bass from a nearby club until the early hours! We stayed in Room 1 and were warned on check in of the potential noise but as there was no alternative room we decided to go ahead. We were offered a move to room 2 on the second night but this was next door to room 1 so the noise levels would have not have been much better- tip - go for a pool room or one of the rooms further from the road.

One other point to note if you book via booking.com. We had originally booked our 1st night in one of the superior rooms but were informed on check in that there was a system error and the room was not available. This was no big issue but it would have been nice to have been informed prior to our arrival. Again check directly before you arrive if this is going to be a problem though I suspect this was a bit of a one off.

I'm quite picky and therefore do not be put off staying here from the above, the issues can be simply avoided if you contact them in advance.

The rooms are a good size with all you need, fridge, AC, clean bedding and towels and even a TV. There are hammocks and a lounger under the rooms which are great for chilling out on in the evening. For the price this is a great place but just beware of the room location and check before you arrive.

Another great plus for this place is the Three Mums Restaurant on the beach. The food was by far the best we had on the beach and definitely the best spring rolls we had all Holiday :-). If you like your food also check out Time for Lime.

Finally, the sunsets all the way along this coastline are amazing!

Room Tip: Avoid room number 1 and 2 as they are close by the noisy road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dougy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.3 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £22 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing