We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #10 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tropical Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

As soon as my wife and I arrived at this hotel we were treated very well. Very helpful staff. beautiful surroundings. We escorted to our large deluxe chalet, we had a day bed and hammock under the bed so we could escape the afternoon sun. The room was beautiful all made out of bamboo with a floor to ceiling window that spanned across the whole wall. The mosquito net on the bed it so needed as they love my wife. The bathroom is rustic with a contemporary twist.

The beach is a few minutes walk from the pool, wow no one on the beach. The restaurant which run is by mother, aunty and uncle of the hotel manager, provides day beds and cushions on the beach free to use. Lyms rice bowl is amazing!!

We rented a scooter and discovered the island, what a fabulous place to be.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy280671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    112
    39
    18
    3
See reviews for
62
317
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I would dearly like to know WHERE the 140 or so reviewers have previously stayed to award these rickety jungle huts an "excellent" rating. Just check out my posted snapshots if you don't believe me, because the camera never lies, right? (My favourite is where a patch of band aid was used to repair a weeping (?) hole in the door to the concrete shower "cell" that is regularly besieged by an army of bugs and mice once the broken light goes out.) The wicker furnishings that are the "chill-out" area beneath are so crusted and stained from countless seasons of picnic fall-out that they could be used to make soup! And might I suggest the smiling receptionist take up middle distance running if she reckons the beach is only 100 metres from the resort. Saved only by their charming pool, Long Beach Chalets can at best score a very, very average.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
16 Thank AandDVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBCmanager, Owner at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am

We are very grateful for your prompt feedback on your stay with us at Long Beach Chalet. It is a shame to hear, however that you did not agree with those other '140 reviewers' on our rating as a small B&B 2 and a half star accommodation.

We are also happy that you were even kind enough to address your concerns of our well worn amenities from the non stop high season period of 6 months by providing us with adequate photos. I assure you these issues will be well addressed as soon as we have the chance to renovate all the chalets to rid of their 'Rickety'- ness, of course we would only be able to do this once the low season nears.

Now please this is nothing personal but just a friendly advice, as well as for your own future reference (so that you don't go off on another 'undeserving' hard working business owner). Please kindly use more professionalism when making a 'structured' criticism or feedback about the means of how that particular business should improve or progress on. We do not and have never denied anything our customers kindly points out, if anything feedback is what we love to hear about the most, since it acts as a building block towards bettering ourselves as a team.

Long Beach Chalet standards on service is deemed as one of our greatest prides. Since there were no apparent personal 'grudges' or dissatisfaction on either our service or our rooms during your stay of 6 whole days at Long Beach, it is therefore anybody's guess that your stay with us had been quite satisfactory (or else believe you me, anyone would have requested an immediate room change or money back based on the comments you have made on here)

Bottom line is, we truly appreciate the time you took to write this review, however the way of addressing the issues to us, we feel should have been a bit more tasteful, if a 3 star rating is what you think we deserve then we will gladly accept it, if you think our rooms need renovation we accept and totally agree with you on that too! However, the thing we can not accept is your ridicule on our hardworking 'smiling' staff and service. If immaculate service, 100% bug free rooms with crystal clear waters of the beach right outside your doorstep is what you are looking for, then I recommend you to go to 4-5 stars resorts. Possibly 'Natural Lanta' is also a bad choice for you too.

Sincerely,

Long Beach Chalet MGT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here as a couple in January 2013. The place is lovely and the staff are extremely nice. Both restaurants are lovely and food is good. Chalets are clean and would stay here again. I would recommend hiring a moped and visiting other beaches are there are nicer ones along the coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstyrichie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I did a great deal of research before booking our stay here. We were a party of 6 people and I was very worried about having the responsibility for everyone's enjoyment. I needn't have worried at all. This place is just perfect! From all the e-mails with the hotel prior to our journey, they couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating...and very patient with frequent changes to the booking.
When we arrived we instantly loved the chalets. We had 2 superior and one deluxe and everyone thought their room just perfect! I have been amazed at some of the previous reviews... regarding noisy floorboards, mosquitoes, lack of chairs in rooms etc etc. We have been very privileged to stay in a large variety of hotels (and we are not young! we were celebrating my husband's 60th birthday!) but you come to realise how little you need to actually be comfortable. The people here make the place. The warm welcome, lovely lovely people... we felt at home while we were here. The beds are large and very comfortable, the place is spotlessly clean, breakfast generous, (more about food in a mo!) and a delightful pool too cool off in. Thank you everyone at LongBeach Chalet. But I must make special mention of the wonderful Poo...so kind and patient and professional.
As for food... we love trying local restaurants wherever we go...but here we discovered Lym's Rice Bowl, on the beach and we were ruined!! Ate there every lunch and dinner except for 2!! Lyn, Puy and Ake... what WONDERFUL characters, unlike anywhere we have been! Their main concern is that people feel at home and they are just fantastic! Told us anecdotes about their lives...Puy is the youngest at 65! And, yes, the food is fab! Try it, you will discover why everyone who goes there loves it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Nice Thai bungalows on stilts with thatched roofs. Unfortunately made the mistake of booking in advance following tripadvisor reviews and was put in bungalow B2 which was too close to the busy road so not a good sleep. Bungalow B2 was next to the 2 restaurants so not only road noise but normal noise you get from restaurants quite late into the night, then from early morning the staff arrive to prepare meals - normal Thai people in lots of coughing and clearing throats and spitting. Had 2 meals here - one western burger which was just a frozen piece of meat and a Thai meal of chicken, chillies and basil which was unedible and totally bland. Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff and lovely pool and grounds. So much to choose on this island so don't book ahead - just turn up and find the right place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the grounds near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 242PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed in one of the larger chalets with an ensuite. We were there for 4 nights and really wished we had booked longer. The rooms were clean and although there is no safe in each room we had no issues with anything going amiss. The aircon was awesome as was the pool and location. We hired scooters from the hotel at a very reasonable price. The 3 Mums restaurant is lovely and breakfast was very hearty. We did eat 3/4 nights across the road at the Sunrise Restaurant. Ill write a review of that independently.. Very quiet, perfect friendly and helpful staff. the only thing i have recommended to the hotel is that the fridge stay on when you take the key from the door. Other than that, perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brooketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Can only re-iterate what the two previous reviewers have said. We stayed in a larger chalet and liked the fact that the bathroom was en-suite rather than having to go outside and across to the bathroom. Lyms Rice Bowl served the most amazing food in a gorgeous setting and they work so hard and are so helpful. Our room was kept so clean and the pool was great and so quiet. If you want to go on any excursions, they will help you and book it for you. Really cannot fault anything with the chalets, staff or food served at Lyms or the three mums. Would reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
2.6 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#20 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Property: Long Beach Chalet
Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing