We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cosy BB near the beach”
Review of Long Beach Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Beach Chalet
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Familily managed Bed and breakfast with relaxing athmosphere. Quiet pool area, OK breakfast, friendly staff. Yes; you do hear the traffic from the main road, but that is practically unavoidable on Lanta. Comfortable beds, semi outdoor bathroom, nice private relaxing area under the bungalow (on stylts). Long beach is a three minute walk away, and the most beautiful beach on the island! Here you also find the best restaurant in the area: Lyms Rice Bowl. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the first evening, but never returned after discovering Lyms. Really enjoyed our stay, and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnogmagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 585 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2013

german / english:

sehr hilfreiche und nette Rezeption!
schön angelegt / nahe Strasse kein Problem ...
Frühstück durchschnittlich. Kein einziges Mal alles komplett gebracht für 2 Erwachsene und 2 jugendliche Kinder, notabene mit Kreutzchen schriftlich bestellt..
Restaurant 3 Mums OK und guter Durchschnitt..
Zimmersauberkeit beurteilt von meiner Tochter 14: Zimmerstaub unter das Bett gekehrt. Staub auf oberen Tablaren, sonst OK.
Betten OK, Möblierung: Es fehlen Stühle auf dem netten Balkon.
Preisleistung gut!!!
Was kann man verbessern:
Kleiner Tisch und Stuhl fehlen in den standard garden lofts und der Nam Loft beeinhaltet nach europäischem Verständnis die 3-fache Fläche ;-)
Wirklich gutes Preisleistungsverhältnis und auf Koh Lanta würde ich hier wieder buchen.

english:
very helpfull and polite reception
nice architecture and main road cöosed by not any problem
Breakfast average but better as at many other places same class. 3 times breakfast but not 1 time served what was ordered on paper in written. In my opinion very british so a lot of space for improvement :-) (sorry dear British but I not know any Europeans eating your horrible sausages and slightly sweet beans except of you ...).
Restaurant 3 Mums good everage.
Cleaness of rooms by my daughter 14 years: Dust of room was moped under beds in both of our rooms. Higher parts of cupboard also with many old dust.Rest really OK.
Beds OK. What is missing is 2 chairs on nice balcony.
They call it standard garden loft. It has no table and no chair and in my European understanding of the word loft it is just a reasonable room ... but is really OK.
Recommened and very good value for price! Would book again on Koh Lanta.
I did a direct booking and did have some questions. All emails and calls inprofessional style and on rather short notice!
sehr

Room Tip: Höhere Zimmeernummern sind weiter weg von Hauptsrasse. Higher room umbers mean to be further away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob_Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

As soon as my wife and I arrived at this hotel we were treated very well. Very helpful staff. beautiful surroundings. We escorted to our large deluxe chalet, we had a day bed and hammock under the bed so we could escape the afternoon sun. The room was beautiful all made out of bamboo with a floor to ceiling window that spanned across the whole wall. The mosquito net on the bed it so needed as they love my wife. The bathroom is rustic with a contemporary twist.

The beach is a few minutes walk from the pool, wow no one on the beach. The restaurant which run is by mother, aunty and uncle of the hotel manager, provides day beds and cushions on the beach free to use. Lyms rice bowl is amazing!!

We rented a scooter and discovered the island, what a fabulous place to be.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy280671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I would dearly like to know WHERE the 140 or so reviewers have previously stayed to award these rickety jungle huts an "excellent" rating. Just check out my posted snapshots if you don't believe me, because the camera never lies, right? (My favourite is where a patch of band aid was used to repair a weeping (?) hole in the door to the concrete shower "cell" that is regularly besieged by an army of bugs and mice once the broken light goes out.) The wicker furnishings that are the "chill-out" area beneath are so crusted and stained from countless seasons of picnic fall-out that they could be used to make soup! And might I suggest the smiling receptionist take up middle distance running if she reckons the beach is only 100 metres from the resort. Saved only by their charming pool, Long Beach Chalets can at best score a very, very average.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
16  Thank AandDVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LBCmanager, Owner at Long Beach Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am

We are very grateful for your prompt feedback on your stay with us at Long Beach Chalet. It is a shame to hear, however that you did not agree with those other '140 reviewers' on our rating as a small B&B 2 and a half star accommodation.

We are also happy that you were even kind enough to address your concerns of our well worn amenities from the non stop high season period of 6 months by providing us with adequate photos. I assure you these issues will be well addressed as soon as we have the chance to renovate all the chalets to rid of their 'Rickety'- ness, of course we would only be able to do this once the low season nears.

Now please this is nothing personal but just a friendly advice, as well as for your own future reference (so that you don't go off on another 'undeserving' hard working business owner). Please kindly use more professionalism when making a 'structured' criticism or feedback about the means of how that particular business should improve or progress on. We do not and have never denied anything our customers kindly points out, if anything feedback is what we love to hear about the most, since it acts as a building block towards bettering ourselves as a team.

Long Beach Chalet standards on service is deemed as one of our greatest prides. Since there were no apparent personal 'grudges' or dissatisfaction on either our service or our rooms during your stay of 6 whole days at Long Beach, it is therefore anybody's guess that your stay with us had been quite satisfactory (or else believe you me, anyone would have requested an immediate room change or money back based on the comments you have made on here)

Bottom line is, we truly appreciate the time you took to write this review, however the way of addressing the issues to us, we feel should have been a bit more tasteful, if a 3 star rating is what you think we deserve then we will gladly accept it, if you think our rooms need renovation we accept and totally agree with you on that too! However, the thing we can not accept is your ridicule on our hardworking 'smiling' staff and service. If immaculate service, 100% bug free rooms with crystal clear waters of the beach right outside your doorstep is what you are looking for, then I recommend you to go to 4-5 stars resorts. Possibly 'Natural Lanta' is also a bad choice for you too.

Sincerely,

Long Beach Chalet MGT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed here as a couple in January 2013. The place is lovely and the staff are extremely nice. Both restaurants are lovely and food is good. Chalets are clean and would stay here again. I would recommend hiring a moped and visiting other beaches are there are nicer ones along the coast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstyrichie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I did a great deal of research before booking our stay here. We were a party of 6 people and I was very worried about having the responsibility for everyone's enjoyment. I needn't have worried at all. This place is just perfect! From all the e-mails with the hotel prior to our journey, they couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating...and very patient with frequent changes to the booking.
When we arrived we instantly loved the chalets. We had 2 superior and one deluxe and everyone thought their room just perfect! I have been amazed at some of the previous reviews... regarding noisy floorboards, mosquitoes, lack of chairs in rooms etc etc. We have been very privileged to stay in a large variety of hotels (and we are not young! we were celebrating my husband's 60th birthday!) but you come to realise how little you need to actually be comfortable. The people here make the place. The warm welcome, lovely lovely people... we felt at home while we were here. The beds are large and very comfortable, the place is spotlessly clean, breakfast generous, (more about food in a mo!) and a delightful pool too cool off in. Thank you everyone at LongBeach Chalet. But I must make special mention of the wonderful Poo...so kind and patient and professional.
As for food... we love trying local restaurants wherever we go...but here we discovered Lym's Rice Bowl, on the beach and we were ruined!! Ate there every lunch and dinner except for 2!! Lyn, Puy and Ake... what WONDERFUL characters, unlike anywhere we have been! Their main concern is that people feel at home and they are just fantastic! Told us anecdotes about their lives...Puy is the youngest at 65! And, yes, the food is fab! Try it, you will discover why everyone who goes there loves it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jax_46Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. Nice Thai bungalows on stilts with thatched roofs. Unfortunately made the mistake of booking in advance following tripadvisor reviews and was put in bungalow B2 which was too close to the busy road so not a good sleep. Bungalow B2 was next to the 2 restaurants so not only road noise but normal noise you get from restaurants quite late into the night, then from early morning the staff arrive to prepare meals - normal Thai people in lots of coughing and clearing throats and spitting. Had 2 meals here - one western burger which was just a frozen piece of meat and a Thai meal of chicken, chillies and basil which was unedible and totally bland. Cannot fault the friendliness of the staff and lovely pool and grounds. So much to choose on this island so don't book ahead - just turn up and find the right place for you.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the rear of the grounds near the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 242PeterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,522 reviews
2.3 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
7.8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
8.3 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Chalet

Address: 472 Moo 3 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £22 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Long Beach Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Long Beach Chalet is a small, cosy, family run resort located within walking distance to a private stretch of beach on Long beach.The chalets are tastefully furnished, with modern amenities and luxurious beds. Our excellent family-like service is also one of Long Beach Chalet's strong points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Long Beach Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Chalet Hotel Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing