We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend it highly enough, clean, friendly and great pool!”
Review of Soontreeya Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soontreeya Lanta
Ranked #4 of 157 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't be happier with our stay.

We got picked up free of charge at the pier and taken to the resort which is about a 10 minute drive (5km). On arrival we were greeted in an extremely friendly manner and shown to our bungalow which was very clean and clearly well looked after. The room was big and had everything you need (good fridge, tv, wardrobe and nice big bed). Also, the complimentary breakfast was very good, tasty and filling!

We spent the rest of our stay lounging in the beautiful, well maintained infinity pool where we could read our books and sunbathe in peace. For me the real reason to stay at this place is because of the extremely friendly and helpful staff as well as the lovely bungalows which are clearly very well cared for.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendog87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Small, cozy property with simple and straightforward Bungalows, a stones-throw from wonderful sunsets, beaches and restaurants. Bungalows are good sized but not for the traveler looking for modern lux. This is a simple and basic-needs property, that is clean and safe for the budget traveler. Satellite TV to keep in contact with the world, separate big bathroom with western-toilet that works great. Hot water and closet in room. No frills, but for the price and great location, it's a great value. AND THE BUNGALOWS ARE DRY! The bathroom is semi-open and the rooms stay dry. No damp issues here!

A small walk (5-10 min) up the beach or to the main street you'll find plenty of restaurants, cafe's and bars that are affordable. Yes there are rocks and the end of the pathway, but this is great for snorkeling! For those people who prefer white sand--5 minutes past the rocks and you're in heaven.

Staff is kind and helpful and can rent scooters from to head south or into Saladaan (both about 15-25 min ride away). Internet works the closer you are to the router, we needed it for business. They happily moved us to a closer room. Typical of a small island, sometimes things don't work, so be patient. For the price, we would stay here again! Can't beat the location, the friendly staff for the price!

Room Tip: A must: eat at Rann Restaurant: great price, great food! Be prepare to rent a scooter: affordable an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This were a good Resort for the Price. It had a good location next to the beach and restaurants. (too many rocks to swim).

Super friendly staff and only 12 units to manage. It was clean and had beautiful Jungle noises at nighttime.

Attractive Pool!

One thing that are not so good is the bathroom. It has an open roof and outdoor with walls around, next to the neighbors. They will hear what you are doing!! Also it was noise from the party Saturday night on the beach.

Also, was not very bug proof. They should have mosquito nets around the bed.

The pillows were too big, and the bed sheets were not too comfy either.

Set all aside. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: any room is good.. Only 12 of them. 1 is closest to reception, 12 is farther away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52024Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We found Soontreeya by chance and were lucky to do so.

This is a small reosrt with twelve bungalows set in pairs (more of that later!), set just off Long Beach, down the same path that leads to thr Relax Bay Resort.

The Managers, a lovely couple with a 3 month old baby both spoke good English and were really helpful. The other staff, who couldn't speak English, were also wonderful. They were the cooking and cleaning couple.

The Resort has a very nice swimming pool which was greatly underused. They could do with some loungers, but the four or so plastic chairs were hardly ever all in use. The pool is flanked bythe eating terrace where breakfast was served. This was a standard 'American' breakfast often followed by fruit.

The bungalows are concrete with lots of windows. Each has a nice terrace. There is A/C and a TV. The bungalows are really spacious which is a real bonus. Plenty of storage space. there are not individual safes but easily accessible safety boxes at reception. The bathrooms were spacious with really good, powerful, hot showers (wet room style). Here's the rub, each pair of bungalows have bathrooms side by side. The wall between them stands at about 2m but then there is a gap up to the roof. You can hear everything going on in your neighbour's bathroom. Luckily it was our friends next door!

The resort next door, Marina Bay, has a beach bar and restaurant. Very nice. Next door is a Thai Massage place.

The beach here is about 60 seconds from the Resort. Really close. Fairly good snorkelling if you swim around the rocks.

BE WARNED. Every Saturday the closest beach bar holds a party. This is extremely loud and finishes at about 0500. this will not be to everyone's taste. However, the Rain God paid a visit the Saturday we stayed and so it was OK.

There were very good eating places locally, Red Snapper being one, and Mr Wee 3 being another.

The bungalow cost 1600 thb a night. Not cheap per se, but we thought it was worth every penny for the space it gave.

I would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Numbers 11 and 12 are the furthest from Reception and the partying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HalDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Although arriving at the last minute due to a booking error by Agoda the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Bungalows are spacious and kept very clean and although located at one end of Long Beach there are bars and restaurants within walking distance. Breakfast was enjoyable and the only negative thought was that a couple of sunbeds/umbrellas would have really made the pool more useful. Enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend for travellers

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brightside54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Koh Lanta is an extremely peaceful island anyway, compared with Samui or Tao, but Soontreeya is tucked away in a lovely little corner at the bottom of Pra-Ae Beach (Long Beach), only a 30 second walk to the beach. Although a 7-10 minute drive from Saladan where all the main shops, restaurants and hubub is and the port, if you hire a bike for 200-250 baht it won't matter. We spent 5 nights here and then moved up to Saladan so we got the best of both.

The staff could not be any friendlier, so welcoming and helpful. It's very laid back, most days we were the only ones by the pool. With only 12 bungalows it's never busy or noisy.

Only downsides to this lovely place are that the breakfast included is only a cooked one, egg, sausage, ham & toast. And they do not have any sun loungers. But honestly the good weighs out the bad. We enjoyed our stay immensely and would recommend this to anyone seeking tranquility!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

resort is in nice quiet location but needs a little bit of tlc. just a freshen up. pool is not the greatest but is no more than 20m from the sea.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilyboy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
581 reviews
3.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
3.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
8.2 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#13 of 84 in Ko Lanta
441 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#2 of 228 in Ko Lanta
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soontreeya Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soontreeya Lanta

Address: 111/2 M 2 Long Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soontreeya Lanta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soontreeya Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing