We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not one to miss”
Review of Soontreeya Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Soontreeya Lanta
Ranked #3 of 151 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. It was lovely to get a personal touch and they seemed genuinely interested in our feedback. The owners took real pride in the food they served-it was unbelievably good. The bungalows themselves were lovely, freshly painted, spacious and modern. I'll definitely be back next time I'm in Thailand!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwynethMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsmido, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay Gwyneth. It was great to see you girls having such a good time. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Wow! We stayed at the soontreeya for 3 nights. We could have stayed there for ever. Excellent bungalows, perfect beach location and the staff is amazing. The treated us like family. Very nice soft beds, good cleaning service, beautiful swimmingpool. Something I really need to mention: we saw lots of bad reviews online, but this was due to the former owners. The new owners, a great Irish guy and a lovely Thai lady did renovations on everything. Skip all the bad reviews. I recommend this place with all my heart. Thank you all for our lovely staying. Lots of love, Hilde & Ruben from bungalow 8.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HildeRuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsmido, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Wow! What a review. Thanks to you both for being fantastic guests. And we appreciate you mentioning our renovations...it's a great help to our business. Hope to see you both again very soon at Soontreeya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Really want to say would a lovely time and experience we had at Soontreeya, the owners Conor and Sai have really made a wonderfully homely and beautiful resort.
The rooms were big and spacious and beautifully decorated. And the food was AMAZING! best I had on my visit to Thailand.Fresh ingrediants servered in lovely location.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsmido, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks Shelly we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This was my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel. It has always been a great value and remains so however the hotel condition is slipping. New management is taking over the hotel later this year and I suspect that many of the material improvements required have been held off until then.
1. Bungalows: Duplexes, Cement / Block construction with small porches on front and toilet located at rear outside with I love because of their simplicity. The Air Conditioning works well. The windows are wood framed and some are starting to fall off hinges and latches are sometimes not locking well so check them carefully. The bungalows face a large open grass space with coconut trees and landscaping and paths, very nice. Water was the hotel is filtered, I haven't experienced any problems with it but still resort to using bottled water for drinking and brushing.
2. Safe: none in room, believe there are lock boxes in office.
3. Pool: nice but no lounge chairs, just some old crappy plastic chairs. Pool was a bit cloudy this last visit, not sure if there is a chemical issue but wasn't green so I swam. There is an area serviced by a jet pump but this was not working on my recent visit.
4. Beach: short walk, close enough that the wifi still works there from the hotel. The Korner Bar run by a Thai man named New sells beer (70-80 baht) and liquor. Walk past the Marina resort next door along the beach and there is a restaurant that I eat at which is good.
5. Breakfast: Simple, you can order an omelet.
6. Staff: Always friendly and the owners are very nice people but soon will be having new management run the hotel so they can focus on their restaurant and raising new baby.
7. Tips: Don't expect much except a great place to sleep for value and be patient because I believe later this year things will turn around for the better.

Room Tip: steer away from the bungalow closest to the parking if you want more privacy and trees to shield fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailorboy4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soontreeya, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review. You were indeed correct when you observed that there would be changes to the resort.

My name is Conor and my wife, Sa and I have taken over at Soontreeya Resort since May 2013. As you predicted, we have made extensive improvements to the resort.

To address your well-made observations I would like to inform you of the following:

1. Bungalows. These have been decorated inside and out in bright colours and tastefully furnished with new mattresses, lighting and furniture. All windows have been reconditioned with new bolts. There are also mosquito screens on the doors. We have surrounded the bungalows with plants that deter mosquites, ants and other insects which we have found to be very effective.

2. Room Safes: We have installed secure safes in every room which are bolted to the wall.

3. Pool: We have contracted out the servicing of our pool ensuring that the water is crystal clear at all times….there is also a fantastic shaded swim up bar. There are new large timber sunbeds and umbrellas around the pool.

4. Our new ‘Bia’ restaurant serves top quality European and Thai style dishes and we now have extensive breakfast, lunch and dinner menus.

5. There is a full time yoga teacher at the resort and there will be daily classes given on a specially built platform with beautiful sea views.

6. We have recruited excellent, experienced staff with required levels of English.

7. We are developing a mini mart/gift shop on site which should be fully operational within the next few months.

Thanks again for your detailed review which has been very helpful to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and wanted to stay for much longer, it was lovely. Large clean rooms with good aircon and plenty of light, lovely outdoor bathroom with hot showers, no problems with mosquitos. Chairs outside bungalows could do with a clean or replacing though. Amazing pool, again chairs could be replaced with loungers but otherwise perfect location for relaxing with a beer after a day at the beach. Great location, only about 50 metres from the beach though you do have to walk a bit further to get to swimmable areas but not a problem and made for a perfect stroll home after dinner along the beach (bring a torch though!). The best bit about this place, however, was the family who were super friendly, incredibly helpful, and helped arrange trips around the island and our transfer up to Krabi. Would definitely stay here again, for a lot longer...

Room Tip: All bungalows the same I would imagine, really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We booked in here for 4 nights and booked out again within 3 hours after we had arranged different accommodation starting the next day.
The staff were very friendly on arrival and when we were shown to our adjoining bungalows we all questioned our decision. The outside was scruffy and hadn't been painted for years. The 2 plastic chairs were so filthy and ingrained we asked them to be changed before we even opened the door.
Well we opened the door to be greeted by a grey concrete floor and a bed with a grey coloured duvet on it. We then checked out the bathroom to discover that only a single brick thick wall separates the adjoining bathrooms with an open section at the top meaning that we could hear EVERYTHING that our neighbours did in their bathroom...disgusting!
We ordered a taxi and immediately started looking else where.
The pool had green algae in the grout and the only chairs around the pool were as filthy as the ones we rejected no one would want to sit in them! The Breakfast the next day was acceptable and the service was friendly. The beach is not suitable for swimming as it is very rocky so you have to walk for about 15/20 mins to get to the sandy swimmable area.
Overall I can only think the good reviews came from backpackers used to poor conditions. The place needs major money spending on it as it looks like it hasn't been touched in years. Sorry but that is the opinion of 4 of us who spent 6 weeks travelling in average 2 star hotels and if you like clean avoid this place it earnt the title of worst place of the 3 countries we stayed in.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soontreeya, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you for your review.

We have taken over the management of Soontreeya since May 2013 and while our predessors received generally very favourable reviews, we have taken special note of your comments to assist us in making the required improvements to the resort.

We do feel that your rating was overtly harsh. For example, the beach area which is most suited to swimming is but a 5 minute stroll from the resort and not the 15/20 minutes you described.

All of your concerns have, we feel, been addressed. Were you to return to Koh Lanta, we would be delighted if you would pay us a visit and, who knows, even stay with us. It would be interesting to get your feedback on the improvements we have made.

Best regards,

Conor & Sa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We booked for 3 nights, and wanted to stay longer, but they were fully booked :-(
However they did ask around the other local hotels, and found us a room to move to, saving us a major stress, when they really didn't have to do that.

This is a very homely establishment, run by a friendly family.
Breakfast is cooked to order, with nice fruit platter.
Pool is clean, but would benefit from new chairs and the addition of loungers.
Very close to the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adam_and_amy_drew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
3.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lanta Castaway Beach Resort
3.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
3.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soontreeya Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soontreeya Lanta

Address: 111/2 M 2 Long Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £26 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soontreeya Lanta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soontreeya Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing