We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique resort with excellent charm.”
Review of Soontreeya Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Soontreeya Lanta
Ranked #10 of 170 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed in bungalow #5 for four nights. First, I must comment that outside of five-star hotels, the bed at the Soontreeya was the softest I have slept on in Asia. None of those typical hard Asian mattresses here. The room was well done and seemed to have been recently refurbished. I loved the color scheme and of course the towels folded into playful art is always a plus. In room safe, excellent aircon and good wifi.

The bathroom is typical of what you'll find in Southeast Asia in which the shower, sink and toilet are all in the same room without some kind of divide. I understand this is shocking for a lot of Westerners but trust me it's quite common in Southeast Asia. The bathroom itself was clean and the shower offered good pressure and a little electronic water heater device (again common in Southeast Asia).

The swimming pool was amazingly awesome. I spent more than a few hours at a lounge chair just chilling out. Breakfast is listed off of a standard menu. I picked the vegetarian option each day so that was my only basis of the food but it was quite good. Each morning during breakfast I saw an outside pool cleaner guy come visit and check the pool.

The staff are super helpful and friendly. Puii at the front desk was my main point of contact for booking a motorbike rental and several tours as well as an excellent tip for a great authentic Thai restaurant. The location is pretty good as it's off the main road and not too far to the beach (just passed the Korner Bar). There is a 7-11 just two minutes down the road via motorbike.

Power went out once, but came back on within a few minutes. Not the resort's fault but if you're a Westerner you probably won't be used to it. It's okay it will come back on in a few minutes.

The place is ran by a gentleman from Dublin and his wife. Overall an excellent stay. If I return to Koh Lanta I'd definitely stay here again and I've already highly recommended the place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seth009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your detailed review of Soontreeya. Come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Conner, Sa and the entire Soontreeya family make this place a friendly, relaxed slice of heaven. A great location. Beach bar within a lazy stone's throw from the pool. Walk around the corner and all of Long Beach is before you. Scooter south and find all the hidden coves and empty thatch roofed bars.

The rooms are very nice. The AC blasts. The grounds are pleasant with a lovely pool and restaurant/bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It feels a lot like hanging out among friends.

We will be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Many thanks for your great review. We would love to see you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Originally booked 6 nights, stayed 21! Conner and Sa and there staff were brilliant, very accommodating, helpful, always welcomed with a smile. Food excellent, rooms brilliant and a bed I would love to take home. Would recommend Soontreeya to singles, couples and families. Definitely a 5 star resort. All the jolly!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daisy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

All the jolly to you too. And thanks for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

If like us, you have been seduced by the pictures for this hotel, think twice. The swimming pool is much smaller than it looks and pretty dirty and the rooms even though modern are not very functional. The access to the beach is not very easy or as close as told.
The shower is right in the middle of the bathroom with no separation with the rest (so if one takes a shower, the bathroom is flooded which ca be annoying) and there is no room to put your stuff (tooth brush, cream, etc) or to hang up wet towels. Finally, I got sick from the A/C in this room because it is turned right on the bed and blows icy air in your face all night long.

The personnel was very nice and helpful. We rented motorbikes from them and they also offered to make our trip arrangements. The breakfast is stunning. It's the only place in Thailand where I have had such great scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Don't take room 1, it's the room right next to the parking lot and you might be woken up by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gynezt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
Your review contains a number of ‘firsts’ for us. It is the first time a guest has complained about the size of the swimming pool as well as describing it as ‘dirty’. It is also the first time our air conditioning is said to have been too cold.
Our pool is over 125m sq and we have just twelve rooms. If anything it is considered to be out of proportion but it means that the pool area is never too busy, even in peak season. It is one of the largest pools in the area. We employ a highly regarded swimming pool contractor who clean and maintain it every morning. In tropical climates rain can leave algae in pools which can make the water less clear than normal. This is not ‘dirt’ and is perfectly safe to swim in. When it does occur, we set up an external filtration system to clear it. This generally takes up to 24 hours. At no stage has our pool been anything other than slightly cloudy.
We reject the suggestion that our air conditioning made you ill. In any event there are temperature and directional controls on the unit which can be adjusted. If you were unable to do this yourself, a quick mention to reception would have solved the problem straight away but you chose to bring it up on Tripadvisor instead!
We do not accept your view that we are somehow trying to deceive our guests in to believing that our resort is better than it is, quite the opposite, in fact. Our approach is to under-promise and over-deliver to our guests. There are many photographs of our pool and resort taken by ourselves and our guests that, we are confident, show the resort as it is. Many of our guests have mentioned this to us.
We describe ourselves as a garden resort close to the sea. All of our descriptions of proximity to beaches bars, restaurants and other amenities are accurate and to suggest otherwise is incorrect.
You do make some minor points which we will take on board. This is our first season and we are striving to improve our service and facilities.
We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast and have passed on your compliments to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived here after partying in phi phi island and couldn't ask for better!! The Irish owner Conor was fab,so friendly and anything we wanted to know we asked him, he let us have his bike for the day where we drove to all the other beaches he recommended, the national park and old town which was amazing! This was the only place we had washing done and it was done perfect although our whites weren't quite whites after but who cares! The room was amazing and the food in the restaurant was lovely the hotel was set up perfect and the bed!!! The best bed I have ever slept in I was asleep by 8pm the first night the bed is heaven!
Lovely hotel recommended to all!!!!

Room Tip: Bungalow number one was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missnat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Very nice review, thank you. Glad you were able to relax during your stay.....although you can still party here too.....just not so packed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have been for 2 nights in Soontreeya Lanta in February 14. The communication via Email before arrival with Connor was very friendly and very quick responding. He organised us the transfer from Saladan to Soontreeya Lanta. Everything was very smooth from the very beginning of our arrival. Connor and Sa has welcomed us so friendly from the first minute of our arrival.
The rooms are fantastic, very nice decorated with all the details for it. The bed is very comfy and i had my best 2 nights sleeps during our 4 weeks travel in Thailand :-)
The pool is very clean and very nice set up just next to the restaurant. For a nice swim on the beach you can walk a little a long side of long beach. It has less rocks, then in front of the resort side it self.

Conor and Sa are so very friendly and the work in a profesional way in their resort. They help with anything you need. They were assisting us to book the ferry tickets onto Koh Jum and the transfer again.

The restaurant is very cozy too and has a good variety in the menu card.

Since they also have a very cute little daughter it's also very child friendly and perfect for famlies.

We felt very comfortable during our stay with them and were sad to leave. We hope to come back and stay next time longer. If you travel during high season, it's good if you book early.
We were lucky to get a room for our 2 nights stay :-)

Thank you Conor and Sa again for a great stay in Koh Lanta and hope we'll see you all again.

Maddie&Sven

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeleine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review. Please come back and stay for longer next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The fabulous owners and staff made me feel very welcome, completely relaxed and very safe. There are no english language issues here with the Owners being Irish (yep - a long way from home) and Thai. All the staff also spoke great english. There was plenty of recommendations for what to do - and lots of lazing by the amazing pool! To watch the fabulous sunsets from the beach there are a couple of lovely relaxed bars only a 30m very safe walk away. There are restaurants (other the the great one in the resort) a short 5 min walk away. The rooms were spacious with beds that were supportive but soft and comfortable - thank goodness (very different to other places). All in all a fabulous place with wonderful staff that will make you very relaxed!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singlelady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thanks for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.....maybe around six nations time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
601 reviews
3.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
3.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lanta Mermaid Boutique House
4.5 mi away
SriLanta Resort
SriLanta Resort
#23 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,159 reviews
8.2 mi away
Anda Lanta Resort
Anda Lanta Resort
#8 of 85 in Ko Lanta
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soontreeya Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soontreeya Lanta

Address: 111/2 M 2 Long Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £50 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soontreeya Lanta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soontreeya Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing