We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Soontreeya Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Soontreeya Lanta
Ranked #4 of 144 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have stayed there 2 nights during low season.everything was perfect...
-convinient location close to the beach
-nicely decorated room
-great food
-verry attentive helpful staff
Would come back anytime

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review we would be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    64
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
126
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I visited Soontreeya Resort in May of this year as part of our annual holiday to Thailand. We stayed 6 nights. Finding Soontreeya Resort was like finding an oasis in the oasis of Ko Lanta. A very relaxing and well run establishment with only 12 bungalows, all tastefully decorated and kitted out. Among other things our bungalow included were a flat screen television ( with satellite viewing ) small fridge , safe , western bathroom, and as others have mentioned, the most comfortable bed my wife and I have ever slept on..it was, truly outstanding. Outside our room was a small covered terrace with table and chairs , a great place to sit at the end of a busy day with a cold drink and contemplate the next days activities.The large swimming pool at Soontreeya was awesome and a welcome relief on a hot day. Even though the resort is only a stones throw from the ocean , we spent most of our time in and around the pool drinking pina coladas, chang beer, eating bar nibbles and relaxing on the sun loungers. The swim up bar was not operating at the time ( low season ) but I am sure it is a hit with everyone when it is.
Included in our tariff was breakfast , and again this place does it well. You get 7 or 8 choices from a menu including an american breakfast , muesli fruit and yoghurt , eggs and omelettes etc etc and fresh , fresh coffee. Service was brisk and attentive.
The small restaurant, seats about 30, also cooks delicious thai and european food which we sampled more than once and there were no complaints , fresh and tasty at reasonable prices.
Overall, this resort was the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Its not to big , it is clean and comfortable , more than affordable (remembering it was low season and prices were adjusted)
and close to everything you may need.
During our stay we got to know the owners very well , a lovely Irishman named Conor and his equally lovely Thai wife, Sa. With their staff, they all made us feel extremely welcome and I cannot speak highly enough of them , nothing was ever a problem.
We wished we had stayed longer..and next time we shall. Well done Soontreeya Boutique Resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jono2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We especially appreciate you posting your beautiful photos of Soontreeya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited February 2014, a couple with a 2.5yr old child. We arrived in ko lanta and had transport prepared for us to take us to the accomodation. Stayed for a full 10 days. location was excellent, very central and it was very easy to explore the island. Connor and his team made us feel very welcome, and were very very helpful. They are genuinely friendly people, and will treat you as guests and friends. Food at the restaurant was good, however i still suggest that you explore the 'cheap' humble restaurants not frequently visited by tourists - they are always good. Resort is the right size, not too big, but you can still meet some people if you feel like - and it was very child friendly. Do explore the other beaches of the island, and dont forget to visit Relax bay just a short walk away from the resort. Will stay here again when i revisit Lanta! Regards, from Kenneth (Malta), Johanna and little Julian.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Kenneth for your very nice review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us. We enjoyed your company. Look forward to seeing again you some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel just last month in April. It's a comfortable little boutique hotel with only 12 bungalows. The rooms are very nice and the beds are gigantic! There were three of us in the room and we never used the extra bed they gave us.
The breakfast was good as well. No buffet breakfast, you can choose from the menu - all kinds of eggs and bacon and muesli and so on.
The pool was a hot spot as well. We spent many days in and around it.
Only about 100 meters to the beach, although you can't really sunbathe in that section, you have to walk a bit.
Overall a very good hotel for both families, couples or a bunch of friends. Will surely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Your review is much appreciated by Sa, myself and our staff. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the delights of Koh Lanta.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I stayed in bungalow #5 for four nights. First, I must comment that outside of five-star hotels, the bed at the Soontreeya was the softest I have slept on in Asia. None of those typical hard Asian mattresses here. The room was well done and seemed to have been recently refurbished. I loved the color scheme and of course the towels folded into playful art is always a plus. In room safe, excellent aircon and good wifi.

The bathroom is typical of what you'll find in Southeast Asia in which the shower, sink and toilet are all in the same room without some kind of divide. I understand this is shocking for a lot of Westerners but trust me it's quite common in Southeast Asia. The bathroom itself was clean and the shower offered good pressure and a little electronic water heater device (again common in Southeast Asia).

The swimming pool was amazingly awesome. I spent more than a few hours at a lounge chair just chilling out. Breakfast is listed off of a standard menu. I picked the vegetarian option each day so that was my only basis of the food but it was quite good. Each morning during breakfast I saw an outside pool cleaner guy come visit and check the pool.

The staff are super helpful and friendly. Puii at the front desk was my main point of contact for booking a motorbike rental and several tours as well as an excellent tip for a great authentic Thai restaurant. The location is pretty good as it's off the main road and not too far to the beach (just passed the Korner Bar). There is a 7-11 just two minutes down the road via motorbike.

Power went out once, but came back on within a few minutes. Not the resort's fault but if you're a Westerner you probably won't be used to it. It's okay it will come back on in a few minutes.

The place is ran by a gentleman from Dublin and his wife. Overall an excellent stay. If I return to Koh Lanta I'd definitely stay here again and I've already highly recommended the place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seth009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of Soontreeya. Come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Conner, Sa and the entire Soontreeya family make this place a friendly, relaxed slice of heaven. A great location. Beach bar within a lazy stone's throw from the pool. Walk around the corner and all of Long Beach is before you. Scooter south and find all the hidden coves and empty thatch roofed bars.

The rooms are very nice. The AC blasts. The grounds are pleasant with a lovely pool and restaurant/bar. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It feels a lot like hanging out among friends.

We will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Many thanks for your great review. We would love to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Originally booked 6 nights, stayed 21! Conner and Sa and there staff were brilliant, very accommodating, helpful, always welcomed with a smile. Food excellent, rooms brilliant and a bed I would love to take home. Would recommend Soontreeya to singles, couples and families. Definitely a 5 star resort. All the jolly!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daisy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conor S, Owner at Soontreeya Lanta, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
All the jolly to you too. And thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.9 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lazy Days Bungalows
Lazy Days Bungalows
#8 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
0.2 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soontreeya Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soontreeya Lanta

Property: Soontreeya Lanta
Address: 111/2 M 2 Long Beach Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Soontreeya Lanta 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Soontreeya Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing