We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really don't come Lanta”
Review of Lanta Just Come

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lanta Just Come
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really don't come Lanta”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I would never recommend this place. It is unfriendly, overpriced and not a good location. Its on the road and the traffic noise and dust is constant. I felt uncomfortable spending time there. The room is nice but it doesn't make up for everything else - bad atmosphere, bad location and terrible security - room keys are just left and the desk is often unattended. I wanted to shorten my time there and offered notice and they charged us an extra day at 1800 bt and no negotiation. We moved to Khum Laanta - great atmosphere, price and facilities - much happier!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 222jktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    51
    22
    15
    10
See reviews for
11
90
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Lanta Just Come has a bait and switch where they show you a nice room at booking time that turns into a windowless isolation cell in the small print of the confirmation. If they can't make money off of you with overpriced excursions they will try to get it from cancellation fees.

Room Tip: choose a more honest hotel
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank travelight14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

If you fancy paying £30 / $50 for a room in Thailand, DON'T COME HERE. Especially if you don't like the smell of sewage in your room.

I'll keep this short. And this is our first negative review on tripadvisor, and of ANY accommodation in SE Asia - we've been travelling for 3 months!

The room:
in theory, the rooms are nice. (Although for this money, you can do better). BUT our room STANK. To the point it was almost unbearable. The hotel staff (see below) were unable for us to move rooms as the hotel was full - a result of the weirdly high reviews on here and it being the high season. The sewage problem is not just in our room, we heard and have read from others it's throughout the hotel.

The Staff:
very unfriendly, unhelpful and unsympathetic to our needs and problems. Very bad attitudes generally.

The location:
a 3 minute walk from what I can see is the worst beach on Koh Lanta. We've moved from other accommodation (Lanta Roundhouse - very good) and have been on the island now for 2 weeks. The beach here IS NOT NICE. Rocky, meaning no good for swimming and likely to be full of sea urchins.

So, if you're booking in advance, go elsewhere. I'd certainly recommend the beaches of Khlong Nin or Kantiang Bay.

DEFINITELY DON'T GO HERE!


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank thedonandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Bitterly disappointed in our 3-night stay at this place, characterised by unfriendly staff, poor value for money and an ordinary location.

We booked through booking.com and paid the upper limit of our nightly budget due to Just Come's half decent reviews.

The staff were borderline rude and seemed uninterested in helping us with anything, despite their travel agency business. We tried them first for tours and onward travel, but went elsewhere on every occasion and found much better prices.

The attached restaurant was average and very pricey.

Our room was big, and the TV, aircon and bar fridge all worked really well. But the bed was hard an lumpy, and the pillows gave us both severe neck pain.

The bathroom was another lowlight. It stank of sewage, the sink leaked onto the floor and only one jet on the showerhead worked.

It's a 2-minute walk from the beach, sure. But it's the ugliest beach on Koh Lanta. It's not rocky, it's just rock. Unswimmable.

Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Just Come offers great value, if you prefer air-conditioned hotel room over bungalows.

Rooms:
- Very clean
- Beds are comfy (not too soft or hard) for my taste
- Wifi is available in the rooms, as long as you pick one near the router on the wall (one in each of the three storeys)
- Tiled bathrooms and hot water
- Only a little noise from nearby mainstreet (I stayed in rooms 204 and 208)

The manager, Abu, is an easy-going person and runs the hotel with his family. Food available in the cafe is affordable and does the trick. Nothing fancy though. Coffee served was made from real beans, so no insta-coffee BS, unlike in most restaurants in Thailand.

The nearby Khlong Khong beach is a 2 minute walk away and features a couple dozen cozy beach bars. It's known to be one of the more relaxed beaches on the island.

Don't miss:
- Cloud 9 beach bar (take the path next to opposite Peak Cafe to the beach, walk south some 200-300m)
- Peak cafe. Excellent coffee, ciabattas and omelettes
- Kwan's cookery. Follow the main street north some 300-400 meters. Awesome curries and seafood. Take the cooking class for some extra fun! Mrs. Kwan is the personality you just need to get to know.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tomumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We would like to thank Abu and his family and staff for a very enjoyable stay. We initially came for 2 nights and stayed for 3 and a half weeks, much to Abu's amusement when at first we kept extending for 'one more night' before eventually giving in and booking for weeks in advance. It became a running joke that every time he saw us we were extending our stay. Lanta Just Come is situated centrally in Klong Khong and its just a 3 minute walk across the road (through Lanta Lodge resort) to the beach.

The rooms are spacious, practically brand new, with MASSIVE comfortable beds, fridges, flat screen tv's, crispy cool aircon, and hot water showers. Our room had a balcony which was nice and useful for drying things but unfortunately did look out on to the back of the property which was being developed further up, but not a problem - ask for a front facing room if this is an issue. Abu has motorbikes for rent, and there is a cafe downstairs although we only used it the once as it was more expensive than most others just a short walking distance away.

There have been a couple of reviews that we have seen about Klong Khong not being the best beach on Koh Lanta because of the rocks close to the beach, but these are no problem at high tide and you can easily find areas where there are no rocks so I feel these comments are unfair, especially when there are a plethora of excellent bars and restaurants along the beach - try Green Chilli restaurant about 100m south along the beach from Lanta Lodge! - and it's such a quiet and peaceful place to relax with massages on the beach whilst watching the sunset. Explore either end of the beach for secluded areas too. We met people on Ko Lanta who left for other places and who said to be fair that they had seen some lovely beaches but nothing compared with the cafes, bars and restaurants you get on the beach here, so don't be too hasty to move on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodin_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Lanta just come and pinky bungalows are owned by the same family. We struggled to find pinky bungalows but if your heading from the port it's just before lanta just come by a cooking school (kwans cooking school I think). The bungalows were amazing such a good price and the rooms are lovely with cable tv (western channels available). Shower was perfect and bed was very comfortable. Room service once every two days and the man in charge was very polite and tried helping us with any problems. Not sure who is rude from lanta just come but certainly not anyone we met. Scooter hire if you head towards the beach for around 200 baht, don't buy fuel from them go to a petrol pump you get far more fuel for your money. We explored the whole of lanta and it was lovely. The old town wasn't as great as expected though. Amazing accommodation though, would 100% go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.4 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
440 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bamboo Bay Resort
Bamboo Bay Resort
#48 of 84 in Ko Lanta
100 reviews
2.7 mi away
Leaf House Bungalow
Leaf House Bungalow
#55 of 84 in Ko Lanta
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
Blue Andaman Lanta Resort
#43 of 84 in Ko Lanta
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Just Come? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Just Come

Property: Lanta Just Come
Address: 406 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Just Come 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lanta Just Come reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing