We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Panorama

Panorama
Ranked #35 of 289 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

really great food...really...and they dont seem to add sugar to the fruit drinks which was a bonus..their coffee is fresh and the owner Jack is as enthusiastic as any T.V chef about sourcing his ingredients. Friendly and beautiful place.We also got to read someones dissertation the local sea gypsies..very interesting!. This to me is a business that understands modern tourism....sharing and educating about local experiences.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AuroraLeeGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    16
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We had a quick stop here for a drink and a snack - the staff/owner were very friendly and we enjoyed the time we spent here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank suzeontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little jewel in the Jungle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

As pretty much everybody who has been there I found this restaurant totally by chance and I was so happily surprised to finally be at a place where you can really relax and feel good, away from the tourist crowds on the islands west coast. The atmosphere was right from the first moment and as I looked around I saw the other guests as happy as me about there discovery.Then I met Jack, the restaurants owner who's taking, together with his wife and staff, best care of his customers with fabulous fresh regional food and his kindness, which gave me the feeling to be his guest at his home and not a guest in a restaurant, if that's understandable. That was just nice, so I spend a big part of my time on Ko Lanta at the Panorama from that day on, enjoying the view and the music and the people and just everything. A must go!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimitri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best rest on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

You'll need a scooter to access Jack's Panorama- all part of the experience. Fantastic fresh fruit shakes and amazing fresh fish, all very very reasonable. The place is very eco-friendly, white painted drift wood is all eco paint- very impressive! Unbeatable view too and you can climb down to an exclusive spot on the water's edge. Jack was interested in meeting us and comparing notes about living in Thailand and the UK- fascinating to talk to. Enjoy and definitely don't miss!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank drcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comforting Hospitality with an Amazing View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

Stumbled upon this place completely by chance. Was exploring the island by motorbike when we decided to visit the South Western part of Ko Lanta. When we first passed the restaurant, we saw a man come out to wave, but decided to explore it later. When we turned back, the boyfriend decided to stop by for a coffee and to give the bike a breather. Thank heavens we stopped; this place is truly a hidden gem.

Owned by Thai-Chinese Jack and his wife, this little wooden restaurant sits upon the edge of a cliff, overlooking the sea. At sunset, the view is breathtaking. As we dismounted, Jack had already come out, smiling, to receive us. It was an unnaturally hot day (monsoon season) and upon seeing our rosy faces, Jack immediately recommended ice lemon teas for the both of us. The ice lemon tea was like nothing we've ever tasted. Compared to the regular types made from black tea with a squeeze of lemon, Jack's was made from traditional Thai Cha-Yen, thus giving the ice lemon tea and amazingly multi-layered taste of tart lemon, dry black tea, and fragrant orange blossoms and other spices, without being too sugary sweet either. It was a really enjoyable balance that took the heat right out of us.

After we had cooled down some, we ordered a cup of black coffee, as was recommended by past visitors who wrote reviews for him. A quick flip through his menu showed handwritten menus from various others in many languages, all recommending his coffee. To keep it short: TRY HIS COFFEE. Grown his sister's plantation in a mountain in Northern Thailand, this coffee is, like his ice tea, a new experience. Brewed from freshly roasted Arabica beans, is very different from all the other Arabicas I've ever tried. The aftertaste is especially exciting, and it is not too bitter or acidic. We bought a packet of the beans to bring back for our families to try for 250baht (Singapore $10).

One more thing on the menu that really intrigued us was his freshly brewed Jiaogulan Herbal tea, a Chinese herb that Jack swears by. He offered us a small pot for free to try it out because he saw my huge eczema patches on my leg. This is an herb that has been heavily researched into by both the Chinese and Europeans (see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jiaogulan), it is prized for its ginseng like qualities and low price. The boyfriend and I felt an immediate calmness after drinking it, and purchased a pack of it the second time we returned.

Yes, we returned. How could we not? On our second last day, we returned to watch the sunset and have dinner there. Jack was so happy to see us again, and got his wife to cook us something special. Having just bought some fresh fish from a fisherman that very morning, she steamed a fish for us with ginger and soy sauce, which was simple but heartening. She also fried a prawn omelette for us, which was perfectly done.

Food aside, we really were blown away by the friendliness and hospitality shown by Jack and his wife. Upon finding out that we would be moving on to Aonang Beach (Krabi) the next day, he immediately dug out two magazines on Krabi, and showed us some sights that we had to see, including the Emerald Pool and the nearby Hot Streams Waterfall. He also apologised that we would have to pay the tourist price when visiting the Emerald Pool which really wasn't necessary, but we appreciated it. His wife also helped us to arrange for a car to rent for when we were at Krabi, and got us a price far cheaper than anyone else could offer, including insurance. Jack also gave us his number, for when we were driving to Phuket to pick a friend, in case we got lost (it was a night drive), so that we could pass the phone to any passing locals to speak to them in Thai to help us.

We really loved our visits to Panorama and will definitely return when we go back to Ko Lanta. To anyone looking for a relaxing place with great drinks and good food with a wonderful view, visit Panorama. It is best to rent a bike or car and drive Southwards along the East coast of Ko Lanta. It's a little light blue shack on the left side of the road.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panorama also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Panorama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing