We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bacon, Beer & football ”

The Irish Embassy Pub
Ranked #16 of 347 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Irish, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open from 2pm daily(kitchen closes at 11pm). Serving all your pub favourites,such as - Fish & Chips,Bangers & Mash,Pie & Chips..Try our Jameson Burger! Sometimes rice just won't do!...and we guarantee that we have what you need!Also serving a Thai'Rish menu...a few Thai favourites,served with chips,mash,baked potato (or rice even!) Pool Table,Dartboard and 5 large screens,with 4 different satellite systems,make us the home of sports on Lanta. Children welcome,but remember we are a pub, which means the only high chairs we have are bar stools,and it does get lively. Monday- Quiz Night,Tuesday- Free Beer with any Burger! Wednesday- Name the Tune win Free Booze & Food!Fridays-Killer Pool. Weekends-All about Sport. Best music in Thailand daily! Slainte!
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great pub. Went to koh lanta in low season so very little open. But this pub was packed good atmosphere. Food is great too.

Thank PaulDouglas92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thanks for your review!
Sometimes while travelling..those three words are the ones that bring a smile to the face!
Bacon,Beer and Football! Brilliantly put!
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 381 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed in Phutara Lanta Resort and the manager Rob was English and told us if we liked roast dinners and football we should go to the irish Embassy. The atmosphere was really good and friendly. The food was amazing, sausage rolls and roast dinner was something we had not had for a long time while travelling so it was really nice

Thank Mohammed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thanks for your review!
Thats what we are here for! Giving everyone a taste of home on there travels!
Glad you left with full stomachs feeling happy!
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 2 out of our 3 nights at The Irish Embassy and were not sorry at all. The service is top notch and speedy too. The selection of drinks from around the world is wonderful and you are treated like an old and dear friend. Although we didnt order anything off the menu as we happened to come for dinner on a birthday celebration night where there was a help yourself braai (BBQ). The food was divine and we dived into potato salad, coleslaw and many other yummy foods we miss from home. The local expats seem to frequent this bar too and everyone is amazingly sweet, helpful and very talkative. A great place to be and a must visit in Koh Lanta.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thanks for your review!
Yes.we are indeed Lantas local for most people,with many regulars mixing with the tourists..always a good laugh to be had..we are glad you enjoyed!
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Irish is fun on any night, but it's extra lively on Mondays, when they have pub quiz. The questions are pretty skewed toward knowledge of the UK, so get some Brits on your team if you want any chance of winning. In any case, it's a great time, especially with the local expats heckling the quiz master. The Irish Embassy has a nice menu, an extensive collection of alcohol (even draft cider!), and a cozy atmosphere.

Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thanks for your review!
Yes,Pub Quiz Night is always a laugh..and always busy!
The quizmaster does get a hard time sometimes which adds to the fun!
Hope to see you for a quiz again sometime...and we'l make sure its not too Irish/English!
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We came here to watch the F1 one night and also they had the golf on at the same time .. perfect! They have cider on draft which was a little bit of heaven for me after 2 months of no cider!! The food was gorgeous, such a good selection of pies, we ended up with pie mash and beans with gravy and it was soooo tasty!! It is all reasonably priced and the owner looks after you and keeps an eye when your drink is low ... which most places don't seem to do!

The only downside was a group of people wanting to watch something i think it was either basketball or boxing and they kept asking to flick through the channels to find it, when it wasn't on and one guy in particular (think he was a local) was getting angry and saying things among his friends and when he was changing the channel ... he ended up changing our channel a few times. Someone took the remote off him in the end, which caused him to get annoyed.

All in all, visit this place as it has all the sport you need including being open till 5am if that's when the world cup ends. Go early though as it does get busy being the only decent place for sport!!

Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishEmbassyLanta, Owner at The Irish Embassy Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Thanks for your review!
We have quenched many a cider thirst down the years..some people just love their cider!!
The night in mention was actually a one off for us too...the reason being,there was a big Muay Thai Boxing match on in Bangkok..with a local fighting. So a lot of locals wanted to see it..and being the popular sports bar,they tried our bar to see if it was on as we have 3 different satellites.
We are glad you still enjoyed your time with us,amid the confusion!!
Slainte!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Irish Embassy Pub also viewed

 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to The Irish Embassy Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing