We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but manager lets it down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lanta Coral Beach Resort
Ranked #91 of 146 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
SOUTHAMPTON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place but manager lets it down.”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed at this resort in February this year and extended the days we were staying because of its lovely location.

Rooms were basic but did have air conditioning and the view was sensational. Food was excellent, no complaints there and fab beach bar.

However, the one big complaint I have was the attitude of a young manager named Jay. On booking the deluxe bungalow in advance of our stay we were told, upon arrival, that it wasn't available until the following day. As there was no other option we agreed to move to the other luxury bungalow at a reduced price the following night. When we went to move to this room the next day Jay then went back on his word and tried to charge us the full price!

As you can imagine this was not only stressful for myself and my wife but also really put a dampner on our stay.

Further to chatting to the other guests we found that Jay had been trying the same 'scam' on them and they were all equally furious.

Going back to the positives though we met Jill who had her own little beach bar and she was absolutely superb and the rest of the staff in the hotel were fantastic.

My advise to the hotel - get rid of Jay. The hotel is great but he really lets down the whole experience for everyone. I bet there are many others on Trip Advisor who would agree with me.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonTerry1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    26
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
44
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This hotel has excellent service. The can provide you with just everything you might need. Basic bungalows are cheap and the quality of the place is high. The beach in front of the resort has too many rocks and it is quite shallow but if you walk you can find neighbour fine beaches with more deep waters, more sand, more private and less rocks to step on. I recommend to go for the cheapest bungalow no ac (but fan) no hot water (you don't need hot water in Thailand!). And of course no tv to stay closer to nature and enjoy more :) but if u need luxury they have all kind of bungalows for any preferences. Different prices too. The food is really great but a bit expensive. Last but not least u might need to rent a bike to move around cuz everything is a little too far for walking distance. But no worries! They can provide you a bike at a cheap price too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavierN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

If you are looking for a laid back, no worries, chilled out atmosphere with lovely people and a few quite drinks then this is the place for you!

Its out the way enough that theres no noice etc (altho as Koh Lanta is more of an up and coming place, everywhere is out the way and fairly quiet!) and sooooooo laid back! Mo's bar on the beach is THE best and the staff are so welcoming and cant do enough for you. They have hammocks, beach huts etc for you to chill out on so this is very much the vibe of this resort. Also such amazing sunsets.

We stayed in an air conditioned bungalow and tbh, a fan wuda been enough as its all quite shaded anyway. Watch out for the crabs tho lol, they are only small but run about all ova the sand and come through the bar when your sitting there having a beer... it made me laugh several times! They will go hide as soon as you go near them tho.

As for the beach by the resort, yes there are loads of rocks but (TOP TIP!!!) just go out onto the main road and turn left. Walk up the hill about 200meters and you will see a sign for the beach on your left. Go down through the woods (dont worry, it takes 5 mins) and you come out to THE most beautiful beach with no rocks! Also Diamond Cliff restaurant is up on the cliff at the other end and they do lovely food/drinks/milkshakes etc. Its a steep climb up the man made steps tho but worth it for the view alone.

The bungalows are basic but we knew this when we booked. They are however clean and comfortable. Food is great and staff amazing, especially Mo at the beach bar. Go here!!!! x

Room Tip: No real need for the air conditioned bungalows I'd say - I hardly turned mine on even though it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We had booked via sawasdee and was a little dissapointed at the bungalow MO1. We booked bamboo with fann since you dont ned AC in a bamboo hut. However the bungalow was partly concrete and very closed. No air and a very noisy fann . Moisture was high and bathroom was moldy and smelly. There was also problems with sourage, a terrible smell spread though the whole bungalow and we had to evacuate. The problem was fixad but came back the next day. There is alot of vegetation around and still water so moskitos eat you alive. You can borrow some snorkeling gear for free and they have some games (chess, cards, dice) and retning motorbike was simple, 250 bath per 24 hrs. We payed 600bath per night, and we would not return nor recommend the bambo bungalows at least. It's not on klong nin, it's next to Narima, almost on kantiang beach, motorbike is mandatory. Breakfast good, big servings of fruit, drinks at mo bar very good, try the Margaritas.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cada03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ko Lanta hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

On arrival we were greeted by a member of staff he was young and full of energy showing us around. We were given an air conditioning bungalow, bed good and bathroom is not at their best but ok. No fridge or safe in the room. They only clean every 2 days and when we were there we didn't have cleaning done because we were on the different day!

Staff booked cooking course for us and also can rent scooter from them too.

Food is fantastic! All staff are lovely. It's really worth popping to Mo's bar for the cocktails and a massage on the beach.

Be aware, you will need to pay cash for everything. We didn't had enough so Staff took Neil to the ATM for cash to check out!

P.s lots of Mosquitos so bring plenty of insect rellepant

Room Tip: Not too bad for two nights but more than two nights - no
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meme V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We had a great time at Lanta Coral Beach Resort, the staff are by far the reason for this, lovely smiley people who are very chatty and will do anything to help you. Jiw (the owner of Mo Bar) is such an assett to the resort, she is a lovely character and made our stay here so much better! The bungalows are basic and we had quite a few ants in our room which is why this isn't 5/5 but the staff do clean your room and change the sheets every two days so that was nice to have fresh linen, The beach is secluded but its quite rocky so isnt very good for swimming, if you want to stay here then the best thing to do is rent a moped from the resort for approximately £4 a day.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed there for about a week. LCB Resort is located in the central part of the island (on the coast of course) so it is convinient to explore the island from here (and of course, you will need a bike). It's a pretty nice place, very quiet and with a nice looking beach (but you CAN'T swim here, it's very rocky, so if you want to sit your whole vacation in the room and leave it only to get food and make 3-5 steps to the water you should look for some other place). Owner picked us up at the port. Staff is nice, food is very good here, and the rooms were very cheap, simple and clean, so we liked them a lot. It's really awesome to sleep there listening to the sea and hang out on the beach. One thing, it's better to look for bike rent and boat tickets outside somewhere, it's gonna be overpriced in the resort.

Anyway, get a bike and explore the island and look for some good beaches, they are beautiful here. Number one beach is AO NUI, you can find the information about it in the web. National park is also worth seeing. You can also take a boat to small islands at south, or make a snorkling trip, it's very nice there. Lanta is very quiet and relaxing, it's a great place for those who hate staying in "tourist ghetto".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabylonDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Wild Beach Resort
Lanta Wild Beach Resort
#14 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Sabai Hotel & Bungalows
Lanta Sabai Hotel & Bungalows
#47 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Marina Resort
Lanta Marina Resort
#33 of 210 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
Lanta A&J Klong Khong Beach
#13 of 146 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Dareen Resort
Lanta Dareen Resort
#34 of 146 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Coral Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Coral Beach Resort

Property: Lanta Coral Beach Resort
Address: 77 Moo 5 Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta Coral Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Lanta Coral Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing