We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful resort, nice employees”
Review of Lanta Manda Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lanta Manda Resort
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“beautiful resort, nice employees”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Sometimes I don't understand the rating of a resort. This one for instance. At the moment I booked it, it didn't even score a 7, but because friends of mine stayed there a few days and assured me it was a very nice place I booked it anyway. Normally I wouldn't book a resort that scores below 7.

Anyway, from the moment I entered the resort I saw it was a good choice. Lovely situated against a small hill with beautifull gardens. Comfortable, clean, bungalows with a very good bed and good-quality sheets. Tthe bathroom is very nice also. It is a setting you would expect when you would have paid twice as much, but not for this price. There are two swimming-pools and the one up to the hill is wonderfull.

There are a lot of people working in this resort of course and I didn't meet a single employee that wasn't very nice and helpfull. From the lovely and friendly cleaning-lady's up to the management. They had a bit of bad luck because there were some difficulties with the water-installation one day and there was no water for several hours. Could be very annoying of course, but immediately all the guests were informed by letter that there was a problem, how long it would take to fix it and that there were alternatives for he people who needed a shower or go to the bathroom. When you get informed that well about a problem and you see that there are a lot of people working on it, then I think it is a very well managed resort.

I would like to thank everybody at Landa Manta for a wonderfull stay. Hope to see you again

Room Tip: I would ask for a room a bit up the hill. They are a bit further from the main road. But I also stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    70
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
24
72
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed in Lanta Manda for the second time for three weeks in january 2014 and it felt like coming
home again. The bungalows are spacious with privacy as they have some distance between them. Very shady with large trees. Short distance (2 min walk) to the wonderful beach, 7/11, a lot of restaurants and shops.
The manager and staff are wonderfull and do everything to make the stay pleasant, the cleaning is good.
Only minus could be that the bungalows are located on a hill but if that is to much you can ask for a bungalow near the reception. Some traffic noise but it didn't bother me and the more up the hill you stay the less you hear it. I will certainly return next year!

Room Tip: Down the hill if you are disabled or in bad shape, up the hill if you want less street noise. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natanja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you are a no worries kind of person or someone that only wants a bed to sleep in - this place is for you. If you like cleanliness and good standards - stay away! Booking this hotel was last minute. I read the reviews - they weren't too bad and was willing to live with a semi smelly bathroom as it's quite normal in Thailand. Upon arriving the staff was friendly and helpful. Our bungalow was about 300m up a very steep hill. The telephone wasn't working and the shower's water pressure was non existent. After a few times up and down the hill, we informed the management but nothing was fixed. The next day we couldn't shower at all as the water would appear and go away every minute. Not once did any of the staff offer to come to our room, my husband had to walk up and down the whole time. After many discussions, they offered to move us.
We moved down the hill to what seemed like an upgrade as the walls were brightly painted with a few extra scattered cushions but worse in every way. The maintenance was in and out the room the first 2 hours to fix the tv. The water pressure was fine but the water was bright yellow to the point that it stained everything!! We showed them and they said it's normal. We bought bottled water to wash. At 8h that evening we got a letter saying that the water would be fixed in 10 minutes. That never happened. During our Thailand trip we stayed in 5 different hotels and resorts and never had the water issues at any one of them. The staff started getting cocky and ignoring us. Unfortunate we had to book a ferry to Phuket through the hotel. After an hour of explaining they said everything was booked. They only booked a ferry to Phi Phi Island, when my husband questioned them about their mistake, the manager simply told him sleep in Phi Phi for one night! After a long discussion it was finally fixed. This is really the worst place I've ever paid to stay in and my first bad review. Attached is a photo of the water we paid to shower in. This is not urine, it's 'fresh' water. We completed a customer satisfactory form upon check out - still no reply. The hotel has potential but is dated and need some serious renovations and better management. Its on the main road across from many beach restaurants so we never tried the hotels restaurant

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank charnevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed in Lanta Manda in February 2014. It is a good location near Seven 11, a great beach and other stores. The bungelow was spacious, clean and the breakfast was very good. The staff
was nice and polite. Do not serve Pork since the population in the area is Moslem. loved it there

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rimona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed at lanta manda for four nights and has probably been best place we have been on lanta. Exceptionally well priced, the bungalow was huge and very clean. Hill steep but no problem for us so that wasn't an issue. Top pool was amazing. Staff very friendly, professional and efficient. No complaints, would definitely recommend to couples and families

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

A group of 9 of us stayed here and it was great. Good location, right off the main strip. Right across the street from 7/11 and a super short distance to the beach. The room was large, the A/C worked great. hot water worked, breakfast was good and there was a scooter rental place right across the street as well. No complaints :) Very enjoyable stay. The only thing I would caution is if you can't handle walking up steep hills as the bungalows go up pretty high. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Very nice place to stay, bungalows are big and quiet. Bit old and not always clean like european standard but you are in an island, so it's part of it. The staff is really useful and friendly! I will go back there!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
425 reviews
3.3 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#19 of 84 in Ko Lanta
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mook Lanta Resort
Mook Lanta Resort
#16 of 84 in Ko Lanta
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kantiang Oasis Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Manda Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Manda Resort

Property: Lanta Manda Resort
Address: 38/2 Moo 2 | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lanta Manda Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lanta Manda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing