We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Happy !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Ranked #8 of 144 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really Happy !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

On arrival i do agree with some of the other reviews , some of the staff appeared a bit rude , not the bar staff they were consistently happy !! But having spent 11 nights here you get used their way, not all of them are rude most friendly and maybe its just the other couple of staff's way..After all they work very very long days . But we did find they were very helpful..
The food is amazing consistently good , fresh fish from the sea every other day barbecued to your liking..
The bungalows are lovely air conditioned and spacious and clean (you do have to ask in the morning if you want them cleaned)
The Location is perfect the beach is lovely when the tide is in and interesting when out due to the rocks , but the sunset every night is beautiful !!
We travelled with our 6 year old daughter who loved the pool , it was better than other islands we have visited as there were other families there and children to play with.
I would highly recommend staying here and of all the islands we have visited we would definitely return ..
The bar does play loud music quite late but only bothered us one night , the closer bungalows would have been affected more..
All I would say is pay the bill every day, as we payed three times during our stay and the last bill was questionable, as we were with a couple other families I think we ended up with some of their food and drinks to pay for ..

Room Tip: Air conditioned bungalows further away from the bar more spacious and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sho198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    43
    19
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
57
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here for five nights from 29th Dec - 2 Jan.

The staff were so rude and obnoxious I could hardly believe it. Everywhere else we went in Thailand, the hotel staff were so friendly and helpful it was just delightful.

Our friends staying at other places along the beach had a much better time with their hotel staff than others.

The bungalows themselves were OK - overpriced, yes - but at least there was a cute swinging hammock outside each bungalow. For the price we paid, the bathroom was pretty gross. We asked them (very politely) if they could clean it but they did a pretty poor job.

On the day we left we were waiting at the bar for a pick-up to take us to Krabi airport. The pick-up was half an hour late and the staff refused to call the agency to inquire because we had booked the transfer through another travel agency. They made some excuse about not having a phone - it was embarrassing. The only reason we booked the transfer elsewhere was because the staff at New Coconut knew nothing about an afternoon bus transfer to the airport. They said the only option was taking the morning boat to Krabi. They were completely wrong and we knew it so we went elsewhere! You just wouldn't believe how rude these people are. Don't bother going here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaw2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in New Coconut for 5 nights and absolutely loved it. This resort is simple, unassuming, with a great and totally laid-back atmosphere.

Grounds: The grounds are simple, but nice. They have a salt water pool, which is great to use during the low tides, when the beach turns into a bunch of shallow tide pools. There a lots of hammocks, mats and lounge chairs in the restaurant, pool, and bar areas. The restaurant serves pretty good food at very reasonable prices. They have the best spring rolls in the entire island!

Rooms: The bungalows are simple, but comfortable. The rooms are only cleaned upon request.

Location: The location is excellent. The resort is right on a beautiful and pretty hip beach.

Staff: The staff is very friendly and willing to help. This is a small resort and you end up getting to know some of the staff. They are always smiling, and cracking jokes, and are a big part of why this resort feels so welcoming and relaxed.

The bar plays loud music until pretty late, and we could hear it from our air-con bungalow. It did not bother us very much, but we'd probably not recommend it for those that value a quiet and peaceful night of sleep.

Overall, my husband and I absolutely loved this place and would recommend it to anyone looking for a simple place without frills to chill on the beach. I certainly hope to go back there some day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aposales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

The bungalows are simple, but clean and nice. The resort has a nice bar and the food is excellent. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The only complaint we had was that the bar played very loud music every night of our stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nether Heyford
Level Contributor
132 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. We were in one of the fan bungalows, which was more than adequate.

Our initial welcome certainly isn't one to remember, bitter looking expressions on the ladies who greeted us. That could be they are always receiving walks in's, as they are directly on the beach. I must say that if we didn't have a booking I would've kept walking.

However, glad we stayed they have a great little pool, awesome location right in the beach and bar with pool table.

You need to ask for your room to be cleaned or made up..

We found better food served outside, sorry can't remember it's name but walk back towards the road and you will see an art gallery and next door is the restaurant, excellent service and food for both breakfast and dinner, pricing is good as well.

Overall I would recommend the New Coconut, but they do have to work on their greeting.

Room Tip: We were in Fan room 2, which is one of the bungalows furthest away from the in-house bar area, as dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we walked through building work and the man at reception couldn't speak any English, it wasn't a great first impression however, it was all up from here. A lady eventually turned up and could speak English so we checked in and were shown to a fan cooled bungalow. It was our own little bungalow with a hammock outside. It was nice. The pool was also good and the place is situated right on the beach. We could hear the sound of the waves whilst we were in bed. It rained a lot whilst we were there and as it was low season not many restaurants and bars were open and offer we were the only people in them. There are a few restaurants along the beach and main road. We wanted some peace and quiet and sure got it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights in May and really enjoyed our time.

We were there in low season and at one point were the only people in the resort so it was VERY quiet but meant we had the pool to ourselves!

The food from the restaurant is really nice, the staff are super friendly and always keen to help and give you a smile as they go past.

We were in one of the fan bungalows which can get extremely hot during the day. One night there was a powercut (on the whole island) and we had to sit outside in the dark as it was too hot to sit inside.

I would recommend this as a nice budget place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sofe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.4 mi away
Lanta Just Come
Lanta Just Come
#27 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relax Bay Resort
Relax Bay Resort
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sonya Restaurant & Guesthouse
0.5 mi away
Coco Lanta Resort
Coco Lanta Resort
#4 of 208 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.3 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta New Coconut Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta New Coconut Bungalow

Property: Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Address: 22 Moo 2 | Saladan Subdistrict, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lanta New Coconut Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing