We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, cheap rooms, easy access to beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanta Top View Resort
Ranked #114 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing view, cheap rooms, easy access to beach.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a fan room for 300 baht per day in low season. We were above the driveway so away from the cliff but had a clear view (no trees) of the ocean and cliffs. Very nice to take a shower with both doors open and get a nice view.
The lounge area, restaurant and bar are right on the cliff, have nice pagodas w/ rugs and pillows for lounging, are shaded, and are amazing at any time of day. The food was decent and the bar makes nice drinks at 80 baht per for a small happy hour list.
The room was big but not well kept. It seemed clean enough, except for an infestation of tiny ants that got everywhere in the bathroom but mostly stayed on the wall. Honestly the room would have been more than fine
had it not been for the ants even w/ a soft bed. The room was large, the bathroom was not enclosed so watch mosquitos while in there. The porch was nice and had comfy chairs and a drying line.
We had rented a scooter so had an easy time of getting there but have heard they do pier pick up as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Capitana_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    15
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
18
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This was our second stay at the Lanta Top View resort and we expected same great experience as a year ago.
It seems their manager left and the local family who owns the place is in charge themselves.
Although we sent an email requesting the reservation, they never replied. We asked Cait from the Freedom adventures to kindly help us, since her shop is just down the hill from this resort. She personally talked to one of the people making the reservation for us for the desired dates and cabin, the person wrote our names in some reservation book.
When we arrived, there was no reservation for us, the cabin we asked for was booked by someone else, so we were given another room, where the views were obstructed by the trees.

On few occasions, when we needed something or wanted to order meal, we had difficulties to find anyone who could help us, or who spoke English.

They have huge potential, but need to improve the way they run the whole resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boleslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I was recommended this place by a travel agent from Phi Phi. I dont think they understood what I was looking for.

The room was very spacious and air con worked perfectly well, I was expecting a better shower though. As my room was amongst the trees, you could hear the crickets and other bugs outside making nosies. Wasnt too much of a problem for me though, and luckily enough they didnt get in. Dont recall any English channels on TV. Again not too much of a problem but would have been nice.

The resort itself was very nice. Bar/restaurant overlooking the beach and sea. and fantastic at sunset. The staff were very friendly also and would help with any query I had, and probably best place to hire a moped. The beach is a short walk down a hill, and at times I was the only person on the beach.Good but at times incredibly boring. I was told this was the best beach on the island. Hmmm. I felt a bit let down by that statement and maybe I was expecting too much. Although it was lovely, I have been better beaches. In fact I preferred Long Beach on Koh Lanta, purely for the fact there was more to do. I was luckily enough to meet some other travellers here and they made my stay a whole lot more enjoyable.

If you are someone wanting to get away from it all, stay here. you'll love it. Any form of nightlife is miles away. A hired moped is your best option. There is literally nothing to do but read books.Although they do provide some games to play i.e Jenga. and some evenings the staff bring out there guitar and have a sing song. (Not too roudy and noisy though). I personally would have stayed in a livelier/built up area and then come here for 1 evening, which I would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarge4280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed one week. Atmosphere on this resort is relaxed. Food is good. If you don't mind to be a little bit more far from the beach, I can recommend Lanta Top View. It is good to rent motorbike, with that you can explore island more easily and it is way much cheaper than taxis around Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank folivora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saalfeld, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The owners of the resort were lovely and very helpful. TopView is situated on top of the hill, and walking there is not for everyone, but not too much. Room was ok and the beds too. Don't book the cheapest bungalows. Eating and drinking is okay. There are better equiped bungalows at Kanting Bay but the view is absolutely the best!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The family who owned the resort was just super lovely and helpful.
The resort is situated on top of the hill, and walking there is a bit of an exercise, but not too much.
Room was ok and beds were good enough. Kantiang bay was really nice, beautiful and quiet beach to stay.
I can recommend this one and maybe could go there again by myself.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riikka s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Bad things first, our aircon and shower were broken when we arrived but were fixed within hours. The rooms could do with a little TLC certainly, but unless you spend your life in your room this shouldnt be a problem. The is a short steep hill to the resort but as long as your not wearing heels its fine.
The resort views are amazing, and even if you don't stay here then come up for a drink and seafood BBQ.
We thought of moving after a few hours but we are so glad we changed our mind, in the end we even extended our stay by three days we loved it so much.
The family that run it are the most friendly people i have ever met. Bang will see to your every need and then bring you a drink with a smile.
If we go back to koh lanta no question about it, we would stay here without a second thought!
We met a lot of people here that were so friendly, brilliant atmosphere

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Kantiang Bay View Resort
Kantiang Bay View Resort
#156 of 212 in Ko Lanta
125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phra Nang Lanta
Phra Nang Lanta
#40 of 84 in Ko Lanta
243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta Top View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta Top View Resort

Property: Lanta Top View Resort
Address: 253, Ba Kan Tiang Bay | Koh Lanta Yai, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lanta Top View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing