We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great vacation, great rental”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlainSima...
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect villa right on the best beach in Koh Lanta!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful vacation there and decided to stay 3 extra days. This beach villa is gorgeous, spacious and luxurious, with a nice exotic garden and swimming pool with full ocean view and good privacy. It is really better than the pictures!

The location is the best on the island, very quiet but close to everything you need, and the patch of beach right in front of the house is the best one around, even at low tide, wich is quite rare in Thailand... Amazing sunsets and sea shells in bonus!

The only problem we had was an air condition unit that became noisy and it was repaired within two hours. Ben and his staff are always ready to help with a smile. We will come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house and location
Liked least: Having to leave...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiloManil...
Manila
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“An average accomodation and a poor service for morethan 500 dollars a day”
Reviewed 7 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
14
people found this review helpful

As usual, let's start with the nice bits. The villa is spacious, the layout is quite original, with the complex divided into 3 separate bungalows with an open air corridor with a wooden plank floor in the middle and a little pond on the side. The bungalows on one side are the sleeping area, with 3 bedrooms (one bungalow is for the masters bedroom and the second bungalow is for the 2 other bedrooms, which are not communicating). On the other side you have the third bungalow which comprises the living and dining area, plus the kitchen.
There's a smallish private pool perpendicular to the corridor between the two wings, just before the path leading to the beach. The Asian style layout is quite pretty and one really enjoys the feel of being free in front of an almost empty sandy beach (although when the tide is low swimming gets a bit awkward as big rocks surface).
The place is overall quite user friendly for kids (with a caveat though due to the surfacing rocks, and - what's worse - hordes of mosquitoes and aggressive ants), which was good for us since we were 2 families with 3 small kids all in all.
Although the second and third bedrooms were quite basic, the villa was quite tastefully designed, with nice exterior lighting.
So much for the nice part. Now for the not so nice one.

First of all, upon booking, the management made us pay a hefty non-refundable deposit of about 1,200 dollars by Paypal (this was the only payment method offered), and, what's worse, they charged us the Paypal fees, which is illegal. In fact they sent me a receipt showing an amount paid which was more than 1,300 Bht less than what I had actually paid and they justified this by saying that that was the net amount they had received.
We tried to discuss this issue right away (and for several times) but the management kept ignoring the topic altogether.
When we booked the transport from the airport to the villa (about three weeks before the start of our rental period), they asked me to pay by Paypal a deposit even on the cost of the transport (they wanted 800 Baht deposit again via Paypal on a total transport cost of 2800). This time I simply refused to pay in advance and they backed off from asking a deposit on the car transfer.

When we arrived at the airport the day of our check in, the driver who was supposed to pick us up was not there. I tried to call the number we were given in case of problems and there was just an answering machine in Thai. I emailed my contact person, but no reply. The driver eventually showed up about 15 minutes late.
When we arrived close to our destination, it came out that the driver had no clue of where the villa actually was and had to stop a couple of times to ask for directions. When we finally arrived at the villa, we got the most unpleasant reception one could possibly imagine, i.e. no reception at all. The driver helped us unload the luggage in front of the house, which was open but with nobody around, and left. After wondering around the area for a few minutes I located a woman in a building nearby which was supposed to be the 'sales office' of the villas. She just dumped in my hands the keys of the house and, before we could say anything, she left saying that the following day she will come and collect a further deposit of 10,000 Baht in cash to cover for any breakages. It was 6 pm, we were tired after a full day of travel, with 3 kids (2 four years old and one 4 months old) and we had now to figure out ourselves everything about the house.
The baby cot we had requested had not been provided, nor the extra mattress for our son.
In the bathtub of the master bedroom there was a dead cockroach, and of the 3 rooms only one had hot water. Of the other 2 bathrooms, one had no hot water at all, while the masters bedroom had a dripping sink which had flooded the whole bathroom. But unfortunately there was nobody at all to help us with all these problems.
Also, there were no decent grocery shops in the vicinity (as opposed to what we had been told when we made the booking) but fortunately there was a resort nearby where we managed to have dinner.
The following morning, in a pouring rain, we went back to the 'sales office' where the woman of the previous night was supposed to be but she wasn't there. She came after about an hour and she admitted she had no clue of how many we were supposed to be and of what were the requirements we had discussed in the exchanges we had had with the manager of the estate, who, by the way, had left for England and didn't endorse anything to her.
She didn't even know we had 3 kids with us and had no clue about the problems and the provisions of the house. We told her about the plumbing issues and all the things which were missing. She said she would send a plumber and a maid, and then insisted on the deposit she had mentioned the night before. So we paid it.
She disappeared again and after a few minutes the plumber came. It took him a good 3 hours to fix all the plumbing problems with several trips back and forth from a supplying shop or quarter. Unfortunately, even after fixing the drip, the master bathroom kept smelling like stagnant drainage water whenever the aircon was kept off for more than 30 minutes. This was probably due to the fact that the shower was placed above the WC and having a shower meant flooding the bathroom, whose drainage was not that good and the floor was permanently wet.
In any case getting hot water remained a fiddly affair throughout our stay as it was coming and going incessantly while taking a shower. And having hot water coming out of the faucet and the shower at the same time was wishful thinking.
At 5 pm the maid/cleaner was still nowhere to be seen. We located her near the 'office' busy... sleeping. We literally woke her up and dragged her to the villa where she just dumped the lining and the things we needed, but didn't clean anything as she appeared far too lazy and disappeared saying she would not come on the following 2 days because it was a holiday (although the 31 Dec is not a holiday in Thailand).
This episode ended our first full day at the villa: so much for relaxation at 550 USD per day.

The whole cleaning affair was actually going to become one of the highlights of the inefficiency of the management. Even when the cleaning staff re-appeared on Jan 2, they did a very cursory job in the bungalows, and left the kitchen area untouched. We mentioned this to the 'office' and a few minutes later they came back to clean the kitchen, which meant basically only emptying the trash can... The following day no cleaner showed up and the following one we had to go and look for the maid again to make her come.

The villa complex, although pretty, had several quirks and was not very functional overall. We soon realized in fact that the bathrooms had limited space to put the toiletries and only one small wall bar to hang the towels, there were no bedside lamps and the small bedrooms had basically no furniture at all apart from the bed and a small cabinet which forced us to live out of the suitcases on the floor for the whole week.
Moreover, the front gate had no lock and the back was just facing the wild wide beach, with no form of security whatsoever.

As a result, in the morning of the first day we saw from inside the room local strangers wandering around the premises for no reason whatsoever and when we mentioned it to the manager she shrugged it off saying that probably they were workers. This wondering around of strangers kept going on throughout our stay. Two days later I found the lights in the garage switched on, although I remember switching them off the night before and none of us ever went there to switch them on again. Also, we found the third bedroom locked with one of our two set of keys inside and none of us had done it. Nothing was missing but obviously there were people wondering around who were not supposed to be there.
Not a nice feeling considering that the locks of the rooms were all very flimsy and the 'safety box' was a light and tiny one, freely moving at the bottom of a cabinet so that anybody could just lift it and carry it away. In any case it was locked when we arrived and therefore of no use.

The whole dining- living- cooking area was equipped only with ceiling fans (no aircon) and the kitchen had only an electrical stove with only 2 plates (whose functioning we were left to figure out ourselves) and was far from complete in terms of utensils. So it was practically impossible to cook anything serious. In any case the only acceptable supermarket for groceries was about 15 km away and far from complete.

Other small details: a generally pretentious design, but the dust bin was an ugly plastic bucket and the curtains of the bedrooms were so thin that getting undressed with lights on at night time could offer a fine entertainment to by-passers on the beach. Lastly, the villa was infested by hordes of huge mosquitoes whose bites disfigured the face of our four year old son and which were impossible to eradicate even after a full day of toxic coil burning. Let alone the nasty ants which kept biting the kids (and us) throughout our stay.

I should also mention that getting a car from the villa to the supermarket area was a lengthy and costly affair: a wait of one hour to get a car with driver, a return fare of 600 Baht and an almost 30 minute trip.

Even in the main market area of the island there's not much choice in terms of fresh food so overall in Koh Lanta it is advisable, in my view, to opt for a resort rather than a rented villa.

Another surprise came in the evening of 31 December (we had arrived on the 29) when I got a reply from the contact guy (supposedly the manager of the estate) whom I had emailed from the airport when we were waiting for the driver. He was just saying that he had been informed that the driver had not collected the payment for the transport and that we should pay it to the lady in charge since he would be back to Thailand probably after we will have left. Not one word about the check in or any interest whatsoever in how things were going!

Electricity was also a flimsy affair. It was cut off at least a couple of times, the second time for a couple of hours.

Half way through our stay we were asked to pay the whole balance. I then explained the issue of the Paypal fees to the lady and she accepted the amount without the Paypal fees (about 40 dollars), but with reservations, as she needed to clear it with the 'manager' in the UK. Eventually, we did not hear about this topic any more.

On our last day, on the way back to Krabi airport the driver of our van inexplicably stopped at a Thai massage parlour, went down and started talking to a woman of the Thai massage and both started making mobile phone calls. After a few minutes I went down and asked for an explanation. None of them seemed able to speak a word of English, but the driver at some point said 'you pay to her'. Basically he had stopped to make me pay the transport fare to somebody at a Thai massage parlour. I resolutely told him 'I'm going to pay you if and when we get to the airport' and we finally proceeded.
This was the last hiccup of a generally less than relaxing holiday (we also had a less than pleasant experience with the '4 islands tour', but that bit doesn't belong to this review - you can ask me if you want to know more).

So the bottom line is don't choose this type of property (unless you really know who you are going to be dealing with) because you are on your own for everything. In our case, the place was managed by foreigners who, although not 'mean', were obviously not professionals of the hospitality business and had serious difficulties getting to grips with the local environment to provide a serious service. At least in a resort you have somebody managing the place, not just somebody asking you to pay. Oh yes, and let's not forget that at the rented villa, for 550 dollars per day, you don't even get any form of internet connection.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location and part of the design of the property
Liked least: The service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareefr
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We would recommend staying here if you enjoy the privacy of your own place. It has everything you need but most of the time we spent outside by the pool or walking to great nearby restaurants or having fantastic massages on the beach. Tuk Tuks were easily accessible as were the mini marts over and down road. Drivers would take us anywhere, wait for us and then take us back. Clean bedding every 2 days was appreciated as was the mini cleans. Electricity included was also a great idea however i think the accommodationit is on the pricy side if one family staying.
Beautiful beach loved listening to the waves. Excursions by boat also pick you up virtually in front of the villa. Air conditioning was very cold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bangkok
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MartinaKr...
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: das großzügig Layout der Villa und der Pool
Liked least: die Küche
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$466
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing