We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful.”
Review of Costa Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Costa Lanta
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very peaceful.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for 4 days. Never really left the resort. Costa Lanta has a wonderful setting, set amongst beautiful grounds and right on a good beach. Very relaxing, peaceful atmosphere. Great place just to do nothing apart form eat, read and swim. Perfect.
The rooms may not be to everyone's liking but I loved the pared down design which is unique for Thailand. My one criticism is that the rooms are on the small side but then your rarely in your room anyway as usually by the pool or the beach.
The restuarant has great food but is maybe slightly on the expensive side, but then still cheaper than your local thai in London and a lot better quality.
Beach is good, not the best in Thailand, but large and quiet with some other restaurants and bars further up the beach.
The only things to improve would be a bigger snack menu either with the mini bar or from the restaurant and each cabin needs a little TLC. Otherwise I would recommend.

Room Tip: I couldn't see a huge difference between the sea view and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnabyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    92
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
23
164
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Fab food in restaurant. Concrete all a bit weird and unhygienic looking, particularly in bathroom shower base and wash basin. Hard to clean polished concrete. I agree with a previous reviewer -it seems a great concept but if doors re open no privacy and if they are shut it is like a cave where you can not even see the weather outside. Very peaceful with huge beds on floor with great pillows.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbert07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

If its not your wish to relax, have some quite time, good food, cool surroundings then this is NOT for you.....but if it is then you have it made!!
You stay in a polished concrete pods, minimalisic in their designe, yet totally functional. They are spread through a "garden" like space, coconut trees and shrubs and waterways crossed by wooden decking.....leads you to a very cool, trendy restaurant, bar and upper deck relaxation area, pool table included....along with cool jazz to help you relax even more!
The hotel does have some faults, minor though they are....no tv (is that a fault?, not sure, but it is nice to catch the news whilst you are away right?), the grounds needed a little TLC, no wi-fi in rooms (but free in the restaurant/pool area anyway)
The staff are great. Not a lot of English spoken BUT it's Thailand so WE should try to speak Thai a little to help, should we not?.....and anyway it is kind of fun to mess around with words to be understood!(the key staff speak it well, so don't worry about a thing)
The pods are very unique( in my experience ....the walls literally open out and you are transported from a room to an open air, tropical outdoor experience ! Soooooooo cool !
They have great aircon....quite, well up to the job of bringing the exotic temp down to a relaxing nights sleep level!
Our room had glass walls (only two pods seem to have this) so the walls slid open not swing open like the others but the effect is the same.
No shortage of hot water in the "open shower" bathroom (actually it has a roof but of clear perspex so feels like you are outdoors). Good quality toiletries, towels and all that good stuff.
The restaurant, bar and cool infinity pool are within a skip of the fantastic beach! Sandy with no rocks and shallow enough to be fun with nice waves to make it enjoyable without being dangerous .....water sports right on the hotel grounds( cool Austrailian couple run it)
There is not a lot to do, but that's what you wanted right? So you have a great location for a great holiday.
I totally recommend a private transfer from the airport (Krabi Airport) to the hotel. You need to cross on two ferries to get here so it would be a pain to rough it to get here.....so why bother?
It cost us 5k baht return by private aircon people carrier.....just enjoy the view and it's £100 well spent.
The bay has costa Lanta near to one end, the local restaurants along to your right as you face the sea....."Time for lime" is great and so is "slow Down" right next door. It's a 20 min walk along the sand to get to them.....what a nice way to work up an appetite and work off some of the excess you had coming home!
All in all a great place to unwind.....if its party time for you then look elsewhere!
Hope you have a great time (we are as I type this!!)
Regards
Perry

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Architecturally stunning, relaxed and friendly atmosphere, fantastic food in the restaurant, great advice and hospitality by the owners, friendly staff, and a prime location nestling on a quiet beachfront. We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Costa Lanta!!

We found Costa Lanta on Mr&MrsSmith. We were looking for a boutique escape from our busy lives in Hong Kong and stumbled across this unique hotel. With private, individual cabanas that overlook the beach, the sea or the gardens you are immersed in quiet, calm and natural surroundings. It took us a while to adjust from to the Costa Lanta way, but after a few days you stop looking at the clock, stop thinking about emails and start to unwind.

There was some confusion over our booking prior to arriving, but Costa Lanta emailed us straight away to apologise and we found them kind and accomodating - we had the next best room and were offered a complimentary dinner. Their customer service is second to none with a real personal touch. They realised that we liked wine and on our fourth night eating in the stunning restaurant sent over a bottle on the house!

They gave advice on excursions and where to go for the best sunset views, they even gave us the recipe for our favourite Thai dish!! If you are looking to get away from it all and have a fantastic experience in lush surrounds, then Costa Lanta is for you. We will most certainly be going back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyandSimonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I travelled to Thailand and visited several different islands. We stayed at Costa Lanta for two nights. It was definitely a unique experience! If you are looking for a quiet, secluded resort, this is the place. The beach is beautiful and the restaurant is terrific! We ate every meal at there. I call it upscale camping! The only downfall was that we couldn't sleep the first night due to the loud birds outside our window all night. We stayed in a room surrounded by glass, which I would recommend over the others with the wooden door panels. Overall it was a fun experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjones1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

My husband and I ended our honeymoon at the Costa Lanta resort on Koh Lanta and we could not have had a better experience! The resort is absolutely beautiful and the beach it is on could not be better. Because of the way it is laid out you truly feel like you have the resort to yourself. The owners and the staff could not be more helpful or nice and the food at the restaurant is amazing! This is the hotel to go to if you want to get away from it all and disconnect. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMCHAMBERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

When we turned up at Costa Lanta, like other reviews had said it is a bit of surprise to see the concrete bungalows, and they do take a bit of getting used too. But a after a short time you feel right at home at one with nature, which is exactly what the owner set to do. It is brave, but boy does it work. We had drag ourselves out for a day or two but mainly because it was raining for a couple of days. I would recommend the superior bungalows at the back of the site or the ones nearest the pool. None of them have a proper see view, it is in view but in the distance, not that matters as it a lovely walk through the natural gardens to the beach all of 5 minutes to crystal clear heaven! The resturant is a stunning building and seating there for breakfast an dinner is joy. The food is fabulous and cocktails are top notch. It was my friend and my birthdays while we were there and the owner organised a special table and feast of a meal. Every mouthful was delicious. A very special place here you feel right at home but a true escape. We will be going back this coming January. Not to be missed
We are hoping to return next January.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedger33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
726 reviews
2.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#4 of 84 in Ko Lanta
682 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#33 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#11 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Lanta

Property: Costa Lanta
Address: M1.Saladan,Krabi, 22, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Costa Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing