We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel experience”
Review of Costa Lanta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Costa Lanta
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting hotel experience”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Wonderful location; the beach in front of the hotel is the best beach I've ever seen. Quiet, endless, perfect sand, superb sea bathing. The hotel swimming pool was fantastic and for quality cuisine, the hotel restaurant is the best in the area; we ate there most nights.
However, the chalets are a bit like concrete air-raid shelters with little room to move around. Also make sure you've got plenty of insect repellant with you; lots of mozzies due to the chalets being set back from the beach with drainage channels criss-crossing the place.
Best tip; hire a car for a day or two and go exploring. There are some fantastic beaches on the island.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Away_On_Business57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    92
    27
    18
    8
See reviews for
23
167
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you want to relax and don't mind paying for a quiet but interesting hotel experience, this place is great. Great for couples. The rooms open up and become what I would describe as relaxing forrest hammocks. There's absolutely nothing to do, which is awesome. Just swim, read, eat.

The only downside was the amount of lizards and other animals around. That was an "experience" :) I must say, thats probably an issue most places on the island though.

Room Tip: No need to pay extra for a bungalow "close to the beach" as it is not beach side in any wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDontDoUgly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We came to Costa Lanta from Krabi Town and arrived at Sala Dan Pier. We have asked the resort to arrange pickup for us. I was thinking whether the 100 THB per person is worth the ride (the distance from the pier to Costa Lanta is only about 2 km). It was worth it as it saved us from carrying our loads in scorching tropical heat.

All bungalows, including ours, are lovely zen styled concrete box with peculiar wooden doors. The bed has mosquito nets, which provide comfort and defense againts bugbites and give that sense of calmness. Every 5pm the staff will prepare the mosquito nets and spray insecticide.

Bungalow has good facilities such as hot shower, air conditioner and small refrigrator. There's also a portable speaker for your music player so you can play own music in your room (just be mindful of your neighbours, they're here to seek some calm). There's a beach basket to bring towels and your belongings when swimming or suntaning. There is no TV in the bungalow, which suits us well as we didn't plan to waste our time in a resort so beautiful watching TV. The wifi doesn't reach our bungalow but always available in the front office and restaurant.

The staffs are excellent and helpful. They seem not many of them but the resort is always well kept.

The resort has a nice seaside restaurant with excellent ambient, which serves as front office desk after office hour. Breakfast and lunch before the sea were some of the highlights of our experience. The food served is always good (despite not the best Thai food I ever tasted).

The infinity pool is also nice. In fact, everything about the resort is great for slowing down. Everything feels relaxed here.

If you need to go out, the resort can call a tuk-tuk taxi (Koh Lanta version: scooter attached with some kind of rickshaw, 50 THB/person for ride to Sala Dan)

Bottom line: Costa Lanta is the ultimate tropical resort experience. If you want a rejuvinating laid back beach vacation and don't mind sharing the bathroom with some bugs or other creepy crawlies, this resort is for you. 

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SuarSanubari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you like to get formally dressed for dinner this is not for you! Very casual and laid back but beautiful setting, lovely food and great service. Choose one of the bigger rooms as the standard ones do not give you a lot of space especially when the mozzie nets are down - oh and make sure you take lots of mozzie spray if you are susceptible as they are vicious! Tiger Balm helps if you do get bitten.
A massage overlooking the beach is definitely a must and you will just be right for more relaxing! There are a number of activities like diving, snorkeling and boat trips if total relaxing isn't your thing and if you want to learn how to cook Thai the Time for Lime cook school does a great cook and taste which is fine for all abilities.

Room Tip: Superior beach view slightly misleading as not on the beach but very easy access
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J07sc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

after spending our first night in an area called Old Town, we decided to move to a hotel with a beach front. we found Costa Lanta. and our vacation had begun!!! though we didn't get the best room (just a bit to far from the beach), the chic design, swimming pool, the lovely & comfortable bed, yummy veggie spring rolls, amazing beach, Magnum ice creams (and the list went on) did make up for it.
though we had just two nights at Costa Lanta, we will never forget this incredible time we had there!!!
thanks Costa Lanta.. we love you and the dogs too!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaito-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Just got back from 2 weeks in the Andaman Coast area of Thailand and our highlight was definitely the 3 nights we spent on Koh Lanta at the Costa Lanta. Firstly, the location is brilliant, very convenient for getting there and away (5/10 minutes from ferry/boats) but not in any way a noisy location (far from it). Though it sits on the busiest beach on the island, as its at the north end of the beach there's very little passing traffic which makes it very peaceful. Secondly the level of service from staff is brilliant, very friendly and the can help you out with anything, always smiling. Finally the pool, restaurant, breakfast (order the french toast!) were all top notch and there's some very nice places nearby for when you fancy wandering out (L Maladee at the top of the drive is superb). Only negative I can think of is because there is a long of water around the hotel there was quite a few mosquitos, but wear some spray and it's probably not much worse than anywhere else and I mention it only so you are aware. Overall would completely recommend Costa Lanta and Koh Lanta in general, not completely off the beaten track but a world away in terms of peacefulness and level of service when compared to other places and hotel in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JReading156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We spent 5 nights at the hotel, I was very impressed by its design, which is very minimalistic made of concrete, what is just perfect. Very good located bungalows so you have enough privacy. Located really very close to the sea.

The other point of view is that due to the wooden door with small gaps the room is not isolated. So we had a lot of mosquitos in our room, but not only them also gecos came in to eat them, which was a bit shock for me at first, but later on I used to them. ( but it is not comfortable to know that you have lizards in your room )

Because of bad isolation at night we heard different noises of animals so we could not sleep well.

There is not enough space to put your suitcase, not even unpack, if you leave your lagguage opened, you will have over "million" mosquitos in it.

And the other point was breakfast, you had to choose only from 3 options, which is lot limiting, because you can choose what would you like to eat, because it is simply set. The staff in the restaurant was very slow and my impression was that they did not care of the guest too much, because of quite high price ( for Thailand ) of the food the restaurant mostly empty.

It is nice and design place, but I will not come back

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
2.4 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#18 of 84 in Ko Lanta
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
#34 of 84 in Ko Lanta
347 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.6 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Lanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Lanta

Property: Costa Lanta
Address: M1.Saladan,Krabi, 22, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Costa Lanta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Costa Lanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Costa Lanta Ko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing