We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, impeccable service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The service at this resort, even in low season (when most resorts are understaffed), was incredible. The view from the different infinity pools are to die for. The dive shop (Scubafish) is an added bonus!

Room Tip: Most rooms/villas have at least a partial view of the ocean. I am sure they are all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLovingRashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear AdventureLovingRashi, Many thks for your short though straight forward write up on the resort; & thank you for staying with us. Sunny rods from lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,739
    241
    53
    35
    7
See reviews for
372
1,300
38
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This review is from about 4 years ago, but having looked at the Pimalai site recently feel it hasnt changed a great deal except the upper part of the hotel is now open and reading the reviews on here realise it is still as brilliant was it was then. We were recommended this hotel by our Travel Agent as we were travelling around Thailand and this was the last week of our holiday. Having travelled around the world this hotel has got to be top of the list. Everything about this hotel was fantastic right down to Spa. We were picked up from the airport in Krabi by private coach taken to a private boat and had a great trip to the hotel. The hotel is a must go to, the food was excellent as were all the staff, room was great with a view out to sea. As someone else mentioned the attention to detail was what made it for us. Dont know if they still do it, but when we sat round the pool they came round with fresh fruit kebabs and water. Round the pool was Tom who looked after us and he was great. The Restaurant Manager on the beach was also great, my husband told him he liked fishing and he arranged for my husband to go fishing, supplied rod and bait and he even had one of the lads accompany him. We booked an evening Squid fishing trip and again the attention to detail was amazing, we sat on the upper deck in really comfortable deckchairs, had wine in proper glasses, what a great night even though I didnt catch anything we had squid on the BBQ "caught earlier"! Another trip in one of their boats was out to an island for snorkelling and I am not a good swimmer and wouldnt go in, but one of the young men talked me into it, gave me a snorkel and mask and he pulled me along with a rope attached to a lifebuoy and showed me different fishes, I loved it. The water was crystal clear. They were just completing the villas high up and we went up in a Buggy to look around, the infinity pool was amazing and the views wow. See my pics. I would have loved to take all my family there, they would have loved it. We were going to book there in January, but my daughter found it too expensive as she was on a limited budget so we stayed at another hotel. Saladan market was great. I would definitely like to stay there again and maybe some day we will.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutchy1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Sawasdee Hutchy 1949 - great review thank you & we are still working on improving things wherever we can. Glad to read your remember well your stay here and hopefully we will see you back soon. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Once in a lifetime everyone should have the privilege of visiting the Pimalai, for truly outstanding luxury, impeccable service and gorgeous dining.

Nothing but nothing was too much trouble for the staff who took care of every need, whim and fancy. Constantly topping up ice cold water, constantly providing lovely fresh towels, wet facecloths, etc., all part of the amazing service.

Do everything and anything that you can whilst visiting - we went on 3 boat trips, each of which was more spectacular than the previous - it just got better and better.

Thank you to all at the Pimalai for the holiday of our dreams.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Sawsasdee Rcey from Singapore ; thank you so much for the nice review lah ! Glad you enjoyed the whole experience especially the crew delivering amazing service. You are 1hr30 minutes from SING via Air Asia or Tiger arrays ; so very convenient...see you soon back here. Sunny rgds from Lanta.! Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

When you've been lucky enough to have the opportunity of visiting so many beautiful places you could call paradise, how to comment another beautiful place?

Well, Pimalai is a great hotel to go to, beautiful place, nice beach, warm sea, great food, but what makes it real special is the attention given to small details and the fabulous people working there, that not only take care of all your needs, but do it in such a way you feel real welcome.

Reading previous comments, I'm sure you have a good idea of what you're going to find if you're going to stay in Pimalai.

You arrive at Krabi airport and there's someone waiting for you and will take you to a very modern and comfortable van(he leaves the van engine running while he waits for you so the air conditioning can keep working and so you feel cool and relaxed after your trip. A bottle of cold water is also given to you.. From this moment on forget about your luggage. It will arrive at your room). The van drives you to the jet boat that will take you to the hotel.

In the way back, they not only take you to the airport but also escort you to the airline check-in and immigration desks.

I'm not going to mention the Villas since we didn't stay there. We stayed at the deluxe room. It's not the most fabulous room I had ever stayed but who wants to stay in the room when you're in a place like Pimalai? (just in case you care about the room, try to get a first floor one, so you can enjoy a nice view over the bay).

They have 4 restaurants (only 3 were open while we stayed there). The Spice N' Rice Thai Restaurant offers great Thai food. The beach restaurant is great for seafood. The prices in both the restaurants are affordable (if you don't drink wine, for some reason wine is expensive).

I'm truly sorry I can't remember the names of all the fab people working there, so all I can say is Thank you all!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vitor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Sawasdee Vitor A from Portugal. Thank you for taking the time to write a rather positive review and also for highlighting the fabulous people working here; they will be pleased to know. Glad to read you have had an overall very nice stay; in rgds to wine prizes these are taxed 320% on arrival to Thailand..... It is ridiculous but nothing is happening to make it changed...and I am a wine drinker & from Bordeaux...and me too i have to limit my consumption.....! Good luck to Portugal at the world cup....but watch out with France ...! Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

While on holiday, I thought I might write a review while it is still fresh in my mind. OMG What a great place. Booked at last minute and got a great deal on a 2 bedroom pool villa with anaman sky adventures, plus they got us one that only had trees and sea in view, just beautiful, felt like we were the only people on the island. The Pimalai staff really go the extra mile, the friendliness starts at the top down with the charming French manager and continues down through the ranks, everybody was so smiley and happy. All in all an excellent stay, the food was really very well presented and priced at a reasonable level considering the quality of the surroundings and food. We enjoyed the massage centre and I enjoyed the Why Not bar just down the beach - great little place, wish it was my local back home.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Sawasdee KatherineM from Sydney - OZ - thank you very much for your nice review; especially for highlighting the crew going the extra mile. We are not top of the league yet but looks like we are pointing towards the right away. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to see you back. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

So let's start at the beginning; we were met at Krabi by staff in (what became the all familiar Pimalai uniform) they were easy to see and labelled our bags and escorted us to our transfer vehicle - the vehicles were luxurious, spacious, comfortable and clean - water was also provided. Next stop the powerboat dock - another fabulously organised transfer the powerboats were excellent - once again luxurious comfortable smart and clean! This was a great part of the journey enabling us to see the island from the water - great ride with great views!

Arriving at Pimalai - we'll the jetty was interesting but perfectly stable! Cases all carried off by staff loaded onto buggies and us on another then off our Pool Villa - we were met by a member of staff who checked us in at the villa and explained all we needed to know - and so the holiday began!

Everything about this resort exceeded our expectations and I can say that's not easy when considering a 5* resort. Every single member do staff greeted you with a huge smile a and 'sawadeeka' not one single person ignored us. Every interaction with the lobby was met with enthusiasm and efficiently managed. Breakfast buffet was extravagant and of outstanding quality; every eating place offering high quality food and service. There was a fab drinks menu always available to order from - even having menus at the beach beds! Each trip organised by the lobby for us was perfectly managed and to our complete satisfaction.
The pools were exquisite - sunbeds hugely comfortable and plenty of them. There was a vast array of watersports available for your convenience and beach volleyball net permanently in place (for the Brits vs Portuguese matches!)
The pool villa itself was vast and with 6 of us sharing a two bedroom it was no problem at all with its 3 bathrooms, living area inside and out and kitchen! All finished to a very high standard and kept immaculately clean with huge shower cubicles and lots of hot water! The pool at the villa was also surprisingly large and a reasonable depth.
The resort is set on a hillside with a split site but this caused no problems at all with the fantastic buggy taxi service offered 24/7.
The Spa is second to none - all 6 of us had more than one treatment - adults and children and it was a superbly relaxing experience in and outstanding environment.
We had to make use of the resorts nurse - this lady I cannot praise highly enough and she needs an award - thank you for helping us and assuring our journey home went smoothly!
We also lost a pair of sunglasses that were subsequently found and the reception staff have contacted us since our return and have subsequently posted them back to us - over above and beyond expectation!
The General Manager Franck was a regular site and always greeted us and was aware of what had been going on making personal references to our experiences (monkeys!) and I have no doubt that his leadership from the top is a major reason why this resort is so outstanding! He would also give you a lift in his car if no buggy taxi was readily available! With the amazing celebrations organised for us all for Songkran - Franck you are a legend!
All members of staff are worthy of massive praise - all going that extra mile to make our vacation perfect - and you did - make it perfect for us and for this we thank you for creating a wonderful lifelong memory - I hope that you can see how highly we valued and appreciated the whole experience :-) Kapunka :-)

Now if I have to be picky;
The beach sports equipment is a little tired and in need of replacing
Service at the upper pool area could be slow often needing to seek out a member of staff
You cannot spend time sunbathing at the villa because it is predominantly in shade (and the monkeys!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJGnewtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Sawasdee AJGnewtrees; thank you very much for the nice review and for highlighting son positively the work down by the crew; will pass on your comments. Sorry about the monkeys; they can be a bit of a pain sometimes....Planning to upgrade a few of the equipments in the GYM this year in particular the treadmills. Great to have you hear and look forward to see you hopefully back here sometimes in the future. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Never been such as this comfort while escaping away from city and especially my country. I am living in beach area as well, but this island and it's beach so so beautiful. Not many people were on the beach while we were there, so beach is mine, my son said! Pimalai has beautiful landscape even it's more than 10 years build. Breakfast not many choices but perfect for me. Try the mango!
Meet Khun Beatle at library if you don't know what you are going to do here. First class also for her who was processing my check in flawless. Can't complain, it's just beautiful and comfort place to escape

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Sawasdee Diah W - thank you for your nice review ; indeed nice to have a beach for your own, is it!
Resort is quite spread and even when busy , you can get your own place for your own. Cannot find that much nowadays in many beaches of Thailand. Thanks for praising Miss Beatle ; i am sure she will be happy to read about that. Thank you for staying with us and look forward having you back sometimes in the future . Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,457 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Property: Pimalai Resort and Spa
Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing