We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb, top-end luxury resort with class and lots of space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful resort, grounds and rooms, great staff led from the front by the friendly manager Frank, super-tasty food too. Booked this as the most luxurious stop in a top-end custom tour around the region out together for us by andaman adventures, who got us a great rate on the resort, plus did a super job of stringing together the different destinations and resorts we visited. I like to go to different places when on holiday, my wife doesn't, so it’s important that the transfers are easy or I suffer for it.

We loved the individualistic character of Pimalai resort, where the rooms are a sharp and welcome departure from whet you expect in the average luxury resort around the world, which frankly bore me. The Pimalai accommodation is more inspired and imaginative and blends in better with the surroundings, which are kept immaculate by what seemed like a small army or gardners. The showers had enough hot at all times, never running out like soma places, and everything was always cleaned to the highest possible standard.

Pimalai consists of three distinct zones, which means you can move from zone to zone to vary your day, or just chill out in one zone all day. Its nice to have the choice. These three zones are (a) the beach (b) the lower pool (c) the upper pool. The resort is so big that to get to the upper pool, for most people means a buggy ride, but the bggies are on-demand and the ride is worth it, if only to go for dinner at the headline 7 Seas restaurant and get a fab sunset view, really spectacular from uo there.

The Why Not Bar down the beach was a great change as was the restaurant attached to it. We ate there pretty often as the local food was so exciting - you had to really explore the menu to get past the western tourist stuff but well worth it - wow - the local fish was stunning and very cheap in comparison with the hotel. We preferred it to the Same Same Restaurant further south on the beach - also nice but more restricted menu.

The food, spa and drink prices at Pimalai were normal for a five star (ie rather expensive). What we got for this was superb service. There was a mix up with our flight, which got delayed (nothing to do with the resort) but the result was that we arrived 3 hours late at Krabi airport. We were naturally a bit worried, but there was a car waiting for us, to take us to a boat on which the only 2 passengers were us, so full marks for seemless service levels to Pimalai.

Pimalai is located on Kantiang beach, which is the best beach I have ever stayed on – and I have stayed on a lot, maybe a hundred, certainly well over 70. The big thing is that it is so quiet and undeveloped, yet you still get top quality sand, swimming and sunsets, with a gorgeous hilly tropical backdrop. We also enjoyed the laid-back beach bars and restaurants along beach (not too close to disturn though, just the right distance away). We were recommended to go to the Why Not Bar by some other guests for a drink and to listen to Bob Marley, which was fun, even though my wife didn’t approve of some of the smokey smells. Live and let live is what I say, didn’t bother me.

In summary I would highly recommend going to Pimalai and I recommend getting a quote from andaman adventures, who appear to be the specialists in this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Sawasdee Dana R from Canada - thank you so much for placing such nice review on T.A - much appreciated; especially thks for highlighting the great staff ; they make it happen.! It is a long way from Canada to get here; so thank you very much for selecting Pimalai for your vacation in the part of Thailand, and look forward seeing you back here sometimes in the future. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 2,097 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This review is a bit late... but this place is paradise. The service, it is clean throughout, the infinity pools, the restaurants its an unbelievable place. We came here on our honeymoon i spend weeks researching what place and where to stay and this was the best i find in our budget. You will not be disappointed the staff are just amazing people they look after you so well it doesn't compare to anywhere in the world. Thai people are the best, the food is exceptional just seen a review about the food saying it was ok!? it was more than ok the thai restaurant is special we had some of best food i will ever eat in my life there.

Theres not much around but what else do you want? you've got a 5 star luxury resort to relax in! they also arrange trips for you obviously at a cost, theres a lovely beach to enjoy.

They pick you up on speed boat when you arrive at the airport.

Honeymoon? Holiday? Stay here and unwind because you won't have a better time anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Nice one Jonathan W & very happy to read that we got it right for your honeymoon, a very special time for you indeed. Thks for highlighting the quality of the food; indeed we want to please / or will do our very best to please everyone - and we work always in improving this aspect of the resort. Thank you for selecting Pimalai to celebrate your honeymoon and look forward to see you back for a wedding anniversary . Happy Married Life. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is our paradise on earth!
The service absolutely perfect, the staff so professional!
The pool villa was something unique!
This place is the place to be!
The treatment there is royal! we will go back soon for sure! we still cannot forget our vacation in Pimalai! They made our stay so special! The beach is the best in the island, the service at the beach amazing, the small restaurants next to the hotel are a great solution if you want to escape for a bit from the hotel!
Hotel s restaurant very nice also the room service! Yoga classes so great!
pick up service from krabi is a must do! so great experience!
So much to say so sad i am away....
We had a great stay in Pimalai...

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Sawasdee Vicky K from Mykonos - Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Not sure if we are perfect yet but at least it is good to read we are on the right tracks. Thank you for electing to stay with us and look forward to see you back with us in the near future. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great resort this, we were recommended it by our travel agents at andaman sky, who booked us this awesome pool villa - enor;ous oceanviews and total privacy we had ! a dream ! It is also a good base for taking excursions from – we went to the Emerald cave, which is stunning – you get to swim through a tunnel into a lagoon, just like in a pirate movie. The resort’s restaurants are good ones, which was just as well because it isn’t easy to walk to anywhere else to eat ( only 2 other restaurants in whast we would call walking distance). All good, here – we do recommend you do like us and go for one of the more expensive rooms though, as the budget rooms looked a bit average to us. We could stay forever in our pool villa LOL )

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pottyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Pottyjohn from Leeds , thank you for the positive review ; also thank you highlighting Andaman Sky adventure ; a good partner to us and a reliable one. Glad to read you have had an enjoyable time with us; hopefully we will see you back in the future. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for an idyllic, relaxing vacation in paradise, look no further than Pimalai. I traveled about 30 hours to get there (including 3 planes, a van ride, and the Pimalai speed boat), but the journey was totally worth it. I have been fortunate to travel throughout the Caribbean and Europe, and have been to many beautiful beaches, but there is something magical about Pimalai. It is supremely relaxing and the perfect place to unplug.

Above all, the resort provides some of the most impeccable service that I have ever experienced. We did not encounter a single staff member who wasn't smiling and eager to help us. Franck is a fabulous general manager and made sure that our anniversary was very special for us. From our welcome at the floating dock with beautiful fragipani flowers, to our in room check in we felt immediately at home. Our pool villa was stunning, and we took advantage of our jet lag by getting up early to watch the sun rise and have a swim in our private plunge pool.

The restaurant provided the best breakfast that I have had at a resort, complete with my favorite feature: luscious, local tropical fruits that rotated each day. The breakfast buffet also included fantastic fruit smoothies. We also enjoyed a lovely afternoon at the resort spa with a Thai herbal foot soak and couple's massage. The spa facilities were amazing with a lovely outdoor space of beautiful wood furniture where we could relax, have some cleansing ginger tea, and watch the koi fish swimming.

While at Pimalai, we met a couple who had been returning for the last 10 years, and we can certainly see why. Our only complaint was that we had to leave! We look forward to returning next year for our anniversary (hopefully for a longer stay!), and fully trust in Pimalai to provide an experience that is just as amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Sawasdee Melissa G rom New York!
YES ! INDEED - 30 hours.....! That the "price" you now have to pay to find something out of the beaten tracks and away from touristic Thailand. Thank you so much for making that long trip.
I am glad to read you enjoy the reward for such a long trip. Thank you for praising the staff and the service; they do it all....and so deserve all the credits! Thank for taking the time to write sic a positive review - much appreciated. And i look forward seeing you back here sometimes in the future. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in a pool villa and within an hour felt so relaxed it was like I had turned to jelly. Well worth the price it is true luxury and outstanding service. The infinity pool and day bed is so relaxing.. Wander along the beach o whynot bar and chill out off the afternoon..Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwikirst2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Sawasdee Kiwikirst 2014 from UK - i can see that you stayed with us 8 months ago..; thks for taking the time for placing a short but great review! we are now early june - the beach is still very beautiful and i can still wander late in the evening once in a while , at the Why Not for a couple of cool Singha !
Hopefully we will see you back here soon. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Following a somewhat busy "Thai culture and food" experience in one of the bigger cities up north, we wanted a few quiet days on the beach, and some serious pampering. We definitely found the right place with the Pimalai. From the moment you are met at the airport in Krabi, you are treated to the finest and friendliest service imaginable; when you arrive you are brought directly to your room to be quickly checked in, with a cold towel and refreshing drinks. Our room, one of the pool villas on the hillside, was beyond expectations, both the bedroom/master bath and the separate living room/kitchen/bath were spacious and luxurious. The real bonus was the private infinity pool (yes, totally private!) and cabana in the middle between the bedroom and the living room, with a gorgeous view of the beach and bay and the evening sunset. Could have spent the whole time in the room and not regretted it!

All of the resort grounds, restaurants, pools, etc. are beautifully designed and landscaped, and impeccably maintained. The service is exemplary, all of the staff seem to smile and greet you because they want to, not because they are ordered to, some even go to the trouble of learning your name to greet you personally. In keeping with the "pampered" theme we took advantage of an afternoon at the spa - I'm not really into this as much as my wife but this was the most relaxing bath/skin treatment/massage I've ever experienced. Another day we took a "2 island" excursion and snorkeling trip. There was just one other couple on the boat with us, compared to some of the other tour boats I saw that were packed with as many as 50 tourists. Again nothing but great service including a nice lunch barbecue on board.

All of the restaurants we tried (Seven Seas for breakfast, Rak Talay for lunch, Spice-n-Rice for dinner) were good, with gorgeous atmosphere and views. The Seven Seas has a nice looking western menu for dinner, however we didn't try this as we wanted to stick with Thai food. That said, Spice-n-Rice was good but not great, nice flavors and presentations but the dishes were tamed significantly which I suppose you have to do to please a wide variety of guests. If you're after more authentic, spicier Thai food, there are a couple places nearby with the real stuff, but without the setting offered at the Pimalai - you can find a number of reviews of these places on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Indulge yourself - go for the pool villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Sawasdee MarkC from California. Great review thks & much appreciated - Like the way you mention about the staff's attitude - thks - will pass on your comment to them. Great to read!.
Spot on the Thai food; have to find the right balance to please the wide variety in great numbers. One can always ask the waiting staff to get the chef to intensify the spicy taste if needed - no problem to do so. Thank you for travelling from so far to stay with us! Sunny rgds from Lanta! Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,485 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
571 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £92 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing