We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My husband said if the Warwick in Fiji had the Y factor then the Pimalai had it all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pimalai Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My husband said if the Warwick in Fiji had the Y factor then the Pimalai had it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We travelled from Sydney Australia for 14 days to this beautiful resort. We had done our research and I can assure you 100% what people say is so true. You could not fault this resort or Frank for the way it is managed. The staff so friendly. The food tops.The awesome pools and magnificent sun sets .Your every need is catered for.
Frank it was an absolutely pleasure to share a drink with you.,and Joe and I look forward to sharing one or two when we return next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marguerite R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Sawasdee Marguerite from Australia. Thank you so much for the nice review; Credit to the staff! they run the show; i just have drink with guests....:-) . Thank you being with us and not elsewhere! And for those who will read this review , May is a very nice month (low season) to visit! we had only 2 days of bad weather in the whole month of May!
Look forward seeing you back for a couple of cold Singha beers ! Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,662
    233
    51
    34
    7
See reviews for
347
1,249
37
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Beautiful resort, grounds and rooms, great staff led from the front by the friendly manager Frank, super-tasty food too. Booked this as the most luxurious stop in a top-end custom tour around the region out together for us by andaman adventures, who got us a great rate on the resort, plus did a super job of stringing together the different destinations and resorts we visited. I like to go to different places when on holiday, my wife doesn't, so it’s important that the transfers are easy or I suffer for it.

We loved the individualistic character of Pimalai resort, where the rooms are a sharp and welcome departure from whet you expect in the average luxury resort around the world, which frankly bore me. The Pimalai accommodation is more inspired and imaginative and blends in better with the surroundings, which are kept immaculate by what seemed like a small army or gardners. The showers had enough hot at all times, never running out like soma places, and everything was always cleaned to the highest possible standard.

Pimalai consists of three distinct zones, which means you can move from zone to zone to vary your day, or just chill out in one zone all day. Its nice to have the choice. These three zones are (a) the beach (b) the lower pool (c) the upper pool. The resort is so big that to get to the upper pool, for most people means a buggy ride, but the bggies are on-demand and the ride is worth it, if only to go for dinner at the headline 7 Seas restaurant and get a fab sunset view, really spectacular from uo there.

The Why Not Bar down the beach was a great change as was the restaurant attached to it. We ate there pretty often as the local food was so exciting - you had to really explore the menu to get past the western tourist stuff but well worth it - wow - the local fish was stunning and very cheap in comparison with the hotel. We preferred it to the Same Same Restaurant further south on the beach - also nice but more restricted menu.

The food, spa and drink prices at Pimalai were normal for a five star (ie rather expensive). What we got for this was superb service. There was a mix up with our flight, which got delayed (nothing to do with the resort) but the result was that we arrived 3 hours late at Krabi airport. We were naturally a bit worried, but there was a car waiting for us, to take us to a boat on which the only 2 passengers were us, so full marks for seemless service levels to Pimalai.

Pimalai is located on Kantiang beach, which is the best beach I have ever stayed on – and I have stayed on a lot, maybe a hundred, certainly well over 70. The big thing is that it is so quiet and undeveloped, yet you still get top quality sand, swimming and sunsets, with a gorgeous hilly tropical backdrop. We also enjoyed the laid-back beach bars and restaurants along beach (not too close to disturn though, just the right distance away). We were recommended to go to the Why Not Bar by some other guests for a drink and to listen to Bob Marley, which was fun, even though my wife didn’t approve of some of the smokey smells. Live and let live is what I say, didn’t bother me.

In summary I would highly recommend going to Pimalai and I recommend getting a quote from andaman adventures, who appear to be the specialists in this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Sawasdee Dana R from Canada - thank you so much for placing such nice review on T.A - much appreciated; especially thks for highlighting the great staff ; they make it happen.! It is a long way from Canada to get here; so thank you very much for selecting Pimalai for your vacation in the part of Thailand, and look forward seeing you back here sometimes in the future. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This review is a bit late... but this place is paradise. The service, it is clean throughout, the infinity pools, the restaurants its an unbelievable place. We came here on our honeymoon i spend weeks researching what place and where to stay and this was the best i find in our budget. You will not be disappointed the staff are just amazing people they look after you so well it doesn't compare to anywhere in the world. Thai people are the best, the food is exceptional just seen a review about the food saying it was ok!? it was more than ok the thai restaurant is special we had some of best food i will ever eat in my life there.

Theres not much around but what else do you want? you've got a 5 star luxury resort to relax in! they also arrange trips for you obviously at a cost, theres a lovely beach to enjoy.

They pick you up on speed boat when you arrive at the airport.

Honeymoon? Holiday? Stay here and unwind because you won't have a better time anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Nice one Jonathan W & very happy to read that we got it right for your honeymoon, a very special time for you indeed. Thks for highlighting the quality of the food; indeed we want to please / or will do our very best to please everyone - and we work always in improving this aspect of the resort. Thank you for selecting Pimalai to celebrate your honeymoon and look forward to see you back for a wedding anniversary . Happy Married Life. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos Town, Greece
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is our paradise on earth!
The service absolutely perfect, the staff so professional!
The pool villa was something unique!
This place is the place to be!
The treatment there is royal! we will go back soon for sure! we still cannot forget our vacation in Pimalai! They made our stay so special! The beach is the best in the island, the service at the beach amazing, the small restaurants next to the hotel are a great solution if you want to escape for a bit from the hotel!
Hotel s restaurant very nice also the room service! Yoga classes so great!
pick up service from krabi is a must do! so great experience!
So much to say so sad i am away....
We had a great stay in Pimalai...

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicky k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Sawasdee Vicky K from Mykonos - Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. Not sure if we are perfect yet but at least it is good to read we are on the right tracks. Thank you for electing to stay with us and look forward to see you back with us in the near future. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Great resort this, we were recommended it by our travel agents at andaman sky, who booked us this awesome pool villa - enor;ous oceanviews and total privacy we had ! a dream ! It is also a good base for taking excursions from – we went to the Emerald cave, which is stunning – you get to swim through a tunnel into a lagoon, just like in a pirate movie. The resort’s restaurants are good ones, which was just as well because it isn’t easy to walk to anywhere else to eat ( only 2 other restaurants in whast we would call walking distance). All good, here – we do recommend you do like us and go for one of the more expensive rooms though, as the budget rooms looked a bit average to us. We could stay forever in our pool villa LOL )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pottyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Pottyjohn from Leeds , thank you for the positive review ; also thank you highlighting Andaman Sky adventure ; a good partner to us and a reliable one. Glad to read you have had an enjoyable time with us; hopefully we will see you back in the future. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for an idyllic, relaxing vacation in paradise, look no further than Pimalai. I traveled about 30 hours to get there (including 3 planes, a van ride, and the Pimalai speed boat), but the journey was totally worth it. I have been fortunate to travel throughout the Caribbean and Europe, and have been to many beautiful beaches, but there is something magical about Pimalai. It is supremely relaxing and the perfect place to unplug.

Above all, the resort provides some of the most impeccable service that I have ever experienced. We did not encounter a single staff member who wasn't smiling and eager to help us. Franck is a fabulous general manager and made sure that our anniversary was very special for us. From our welcome at the floating dock with beautiful fragipani flowers, to our in room check in we felt immediately at home. Our pool villa was stunning, and we took advantage of our jet lag by getting up early to watch the sun rise and have a swim in our private plunge pool.

The restaurant provided the best breakfast that I have had at a resort, complete with my favorite feature: luscious, local tropical fruits that rotated each day. The breakfast buffet also included fantastic fruit smoothies. We also enjoyed a lovely afternoon at the resort spa with a Thai herbal foot soak and couple's massage. The spa facilities were amazing with a lovely outdoor space of beautiful wood furniture where we could relax, have some cleansing ginger tea, and watch the koi fish swimming.

While at Pimalai, we met a couple who had been returning for the last 10 years, and we can certainly see why. Our only complaint was that we had to leave! We look forward to returning next year for our anniversary (hopefully for a longer stay!), and fully trust in Pimalai to provide an experience that is just as amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Sawasdee Melissa G rom New York!
YES ! INDEED - 30 hours.....! That the "price" you now have to pay to find something out of the beaten tracks and away from touristic Thailand. Thank you so much for making that long trip.
I am glad to read you enjoy the reward for such a long trip. Thank you for praising the staff and the service; they do it all....and so deserve all the credits! Thank for taking the time to write sic a positive review - much appreciated. And i look forward seeing you back here sometimes in the future. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed in a pool villa and within an hour felt so relaxed it was like I had turned to jelly. Well worth the price it is true luxury and outstanding service. The infinity pool and day bed is so relaxing.. Wander along the beach o whynot bar and chill out off the afternoon..Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwikirst2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Sawasdee Kiwikirst 2014 from UK - i can see that you stayed with us 8 months ago..; thks for taking the time for placing a short but great review! we are now early june - the beach is still very beautiful and i can still wander late in the evening once in a while , at the Why Not for a couple of cool Singha !
Hopefully we will see you back here soon. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Property: Pimalai Resort and Spa
Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Agoda, Booking.com, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Destinology and Southall Travel so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing