We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none - just blown away by everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our second stop on our andaman sky holiday was the Pimalai Resort, a resort located towards the Southe End of Lanta Island. Firstly, it is not exactly easy to get there. We were given the option of using their transfer, or the resort's transfer. We decided to go with the resort's transfer, which was slightly pricey, but worth every penny. It was all very smooth. We were picked up by a minivan, that took us to the resort's pier and from there took the resort's very speed boat straight to the property. Coming in with the speedboat, we got a grand view of the resort, and arriving on a speedboat was just so fitting. The check in was smooth and the welcoming staff were just fantastic. We then got whisked away to our Pool Villa, which our agent tried their best to get us one with the best possible sea view. The pool villa is amazing and you really are alone out there, complete privacy. The restaurants are also fantastic. I would also suggest people go out of the resort and try some of the local cuisines. But the meals and drinks in Pimalai are fantastic. This resort is second to none in the Southern region.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks Phil Y from Berlin for great review; yes a bit of journey to get where we are but i think at the end our guests realise that it is what you have to invest for, should you want to get away from the tourist thailand... I am glad you enjoyed the stay and relied on the Adaman Sky Adenture's suggestion to stay with us. Look forward to see you back in the future. Good luck with the World Cup...Ur team is playing My team in the quarter final! Good Luck. Sunny rgds from Lanta . Franck,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great resort this, we were recommended it by our agent Andaman Sky - as a quiet, stylish and luxurious place with a great atmosphere and views, and they were right, it was just what we were looking for. A lot of value-for-money too, and a good base for taking excursions from as well – we went snorkeling to Koh Rok island, which was really good, and we also went on the “4 Islands trip” which included going to the Emerald cave, which is stunning – you get to swim through a tunnel into a lagoon, just like in a pirate movie. The resort’s THREE restaurants are v good, which is just as well because it isn’t easy to walk to anywhere else to eat (we found 2 small beach resto’s about 15 minutes walk away if you want to mix it up).
All good, here – we would recommend to book one of the more expensive roomtypes – we did and our villa was just amazing ! We could live there year-round and wouldn’t complain HA !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jonas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Sawadee Jonas V from Netherland; thank you for the great review and glad to read you thoroughly enjoyed your tim with us. Will pass on your comments to Andaman Sky Adventures - a very good partner to us ; they will be pleased to know. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My admiration to the Manager and staff of Pimalai. I was so impressed by how slick the transfers were run from the moment you step off the plane. Everything was thought of and runs like clockwork. Never experienced such coordinationeven in Europe. Rooms are beautiful, clean and you can hear the waves from your room. The amazing swimming pools have the best views of the island.

Breakfast is delightful. Really recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to be pampered. Thai love children so we had extra help with our baby too!

Room Tip: We stayed near the bottom next to the Dive centre. Great for catching the little car that takes you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Debbie F - thank you for the very nice review ; staff made it happened ; i am glad to read about that and thank you for praising them. Thank you also for staying with us especially in June; for those who will read, it is quite enjoyable month -( despite what you can hear/ read about the May to Oct season in Thailand) - to travel in SouthernThailand - So far in May we recorded 2 very bad days; In june 4 very bad days.....So one should not be worried about visiting us at that time of the year! And the accommodation deals are also very good!
Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Visited March 2013

Loved this hotel! Feels remote

On a beautiful quiet beach

Great food, romantic settings

Wonderful spa treatments

Great little hippy bar down the beach with live music

Great rooms but little tatty bathroom needing attention.

Cute monkeys swinging from garden trees.

Staff were amazing!


Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank rena h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Rena H - thank you for nice an positive review & most importantly for highlighting the Amazing staff! Look forward seeing you back . Franck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We did not actually stay at the resort however they were extremely accommodating to us as wedding guests. The wedding was held on the resort and put together by the Pimalai. It was extremely professional and such a beautiful setting. The food provided on the day was some of the best we had in Thailand and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel welcome throughout the week. All the time we were not guests of the resort but visited the bride and groom everyday who were. We were welcomed to use all the facilities free of charge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernyd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Bernyd 87 - thank you posting your review; nice one and much appreciated. Glad to read you enjoyed the wedding set up and food put up for your friends. Sunny rgds from Lanta . Franck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I was reading the feedbacks about Pimalai because I wanted to come back and I was really shocked to read one review published here.The place is simply fantastic and the thing that impressed me and my wife the most was the kindness and finesse of the whole staff so when I read a comment regarding racist managers I was a bit shocked.As I said the whole staff is great and makes you feel extremely comfortable and pampered like nowhere else and the accuse of racism is absolutely unfounded.My wife is Jamaican (so not exactly pale) and we still remember (among others) Mr. Langiu who has been extremely polite and supportive even beyond what his role imply.I absolutely want to come back in this Paradise and meet all of them again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dessler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Sawasdee Dessier 75 - ! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this little note on Trip Advisor especially in rgds to this very sensitive issue . It was a very shocking statement made by a past client and i have since then asked that review to be removed - my request was rejected. I have then asked again - highlighting the fact that the comment made was "defamatory, insulting, hostile" as per T.A guidelines - and have been sending the same email everyday for the past 10 days to the T.A head office - May be at some stage someone will be fed up with my daily email and the comment will be removed.... May i thank you for having posted your sincere and kind note. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderful experience at Pimalai. From the moment we were greeted at the airport the service was seamless. The management really lead by example and are very present. In fact we wondered if Franck (the GM) had cloned himself. Unusually for a resort of this calibre they offer an array of free activities of which the wine tasting with Mirko was a particular highlight. We really can’t complement the staff enough on their warmth and hospitality.

The location couldn't be bettered with a pristine beach and a few bars within walking distance. The resort blends in with the surroundings and the views from The Seven Seas are magnificent.

Don’t be put off of travelling during the green season. Whilst there was the occasional rain storm, it cleared quickly and for 90% of the time we were there we enjoyed beautiful sunshine. For the exceptional value for money and peace & quiet during low season we would definitely travel at the same time of year again. We rarely go back to the same resort twice but would return to Pimalai in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Book through SLH
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Che_Bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Sawasdee Che_Bruno - Thank you for great review and highlighting the service ; credit to the crew, they make it happen. No cloning of my own person, please!! You would not want to have 350 "Frogs" alike running the place! :-) - Glad to read you enjoy the free activities including sharing a few glass of wines with Mirko.
And thank you for highlighting that the weather is quite good in May! Look forward to see you back at Pimalai . Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,544 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
600 reviews
11 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 85 in Ko Lanta
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £136 - £838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Sawasdee, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing