We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discrete service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Discrete service”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

An amazing hotel on a lovely island.
The hotel grounds are fantastic like having a hotel in the middle of a tropical rainforest. The staff are discrete but excellent. The infinity pool has a view of the sunset that is so picturesque.
The dive company on site operate to a high standard. The spa is beautiful with a waterfall running through the grounds. The restaurants are good but a bit overpriced for Thailand. The cooking lessons were however great fun.

The only downside for some people would be the number of steps between the various places from our apartment to the beach it was 180 steps. This did not bother us but it might be an issue if you have difficulties with stairs.

The only thing I did not like about the hotel provided wedding guests with an elephant ride to their reception. If you knew what they did to the elephants to train them to carry people you would never ride one, especially to the happiest day of your life.

But that aside a very nice hotel just say no to the elephant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Johnnysh from London ; thank you very much for posting your very nice review; much appreciated by all . Indeed a little bit of stairs & hilly slopes around ; though all for our own fitness benefits at the end :-) . We also provide transportation to go up the hillside facilities. for those who wish.
Thank you bringing your concerns about the use of the elephant; these are "domestically raised" elephants that nowadays have no work - as hardly any forrest to work in as in the past as they were used for pulling large teak wood logs...that have now almost disappeared in Thailand forrest (except the now protected forrest) . The use of elephant is mainly for the elephant owner "The Mahoud" to raise enough money to buy the huge amount of food the elephant needs on a daily basis. Having elephants working in the tourism industry allow to maintain the elephants head count that has been on the decline non stop for the past 30 years... Thank you though for bringing up this issue. Thank you for staying with us. Sunny Rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    238
    52
    34
    7
See reviews for
360
1,282
37
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a very exclusive resort like for the Vip!!!
The personal could speak English so that was very helpful since in Thailand it is sometimes hard to find. Everybody is very happy so that contributes to a very nice atmosphere.
We had a Pool Villa which had the room and the living room separately and it was really amazing if you want to spend a lot of time in the privacy of your villa.
We spend a lot of time in the upper swimming pool because of the amazing view.
If you don't want to spend a little bit more money on the Pool Villa it is possible to get a room with amazing view, close to the ocean without the pool since the resort has this incredible swimming pool.
The manager of the hotel Franck and the Italian person in charge of the restaurant were very kind in case we needed something.
The food at the restaurants is very good
On the way back we met the owners wife which was very very nice talking to her and they seem to take care of each an every little detail in the resort.
It is worth the trip by car and boat getting to the resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Sawasdee Adrian F! thank you for placing your nice review. I was even more happier to read that we are doing well with the english proficiency level! we are not there yet but we are on the right way then. Thank you being with us - from so far - with your nice family. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent three nights a few years back in this amazing resort on the beautiful koh lanta, which is much less commercial than other islands in Thailand like Phuket or Koh samui. It took some efforts to get there by car+boat trip (arranged by the resort) after I landed at Krabi airport. But the boat trip was stunning as you would get a chance to see all different shapes of big rocks coming out in the middle of the ocean here and there!

I stayed at private pool villa on the mountain. You actually have a two separate houses (one for living and one for bedroom) with a big private pool in the middle facing the ocean! The whole complex has its own entrance and you don't see any other villas so absolutely privacy. This design is perfect for newly weds!

The service and facilitates in the resort are all top notch. The public pool near the reception area is a must see. If you go down to the beach and watch the stunning sunset, you would feel it's a place to be called 'paradise'.

The SPA in the resort is great too. I had full body scrub package and completed felt refreshed afterwards.

The only thing when I was there that not working well is the wifi connect. But with that full front ocean view and the relaxing villa, who needs internet?!:)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tony Z - thank you for the nice review & most importantly for returning to stay with us. Much appreciated. We are working to improve the internet wifi connection and it should get better soon. Though no need to connect with the rest of the world when here! Hopefully we will see you again. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

It would be unfair to compare Pimalai to any other hotel in Thailand, because it's truly one of a kind.

Our 5 days included breakfasts overlooking the breathtaking Andaman, and long strolls off the pristine beach.

To top it off, I proposed to my now-fiancée on our airy balcony, where the staff graciously set up with a unforgettable surprise, above and beyond what I requested. This is a truly, truly exceptional service.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Stewe W - well done on the proposal ! proud it happened in our resort ; Got to tie the knot now.... so you know where to do that ; we can certainly assist you ! :-) . Happy to read you had a great time. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is one of the top resorts in Thailand and certainly the best one in Ko Lanta. It takes time to get ther but it is more than worth it. The pool villas are absolutely gorgeous. Don't miss to ask for a couples massage in your own villa - you will never forget it!!!

My wife ans I also had a great sea food barbecue prepared by our own chef in our pool villa - amazing food served with special attention and accompanied with a nice French Champagne.

We stayed her for three nights and will certainly return in our next trip to Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Juan C from Colombia ; many thks for posting your very positive review. very much appreciated. Thank you for travelling from that far and selecting to stay with us.
Well done on the World cup! - Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Pimalai is an absolute delight. Located on a steep hill, the views from our pool villa were magnificent. The villa itself was luxurious and well appointed and the pool superb. The pick up service by "golf buggy" was very efficient and much needed to get around the steep roads. All 3 restaurants were very good, although the seafood BBQ at the beach bar was slightly overcooked. The spa treatment was also very good particularly given there was a half price special. Staff were typically friendly and polite. Overall no complaints and would definitely recommend

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend a pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thks for placing a great review Craig R from Melbourne . Much appreciated . Franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Our second stop on our andaman sky holiday was the Pimalai Resort, a resort located towards the Southe End of Lanta Island. Firstly, it is not exactly easy to get there. We were given the option of using their transfer, or the resort's transfer. We decided to go with the resort's transfer, which was slightly pricey, but worth every penny. It was all very smooth. We were picked up by a minivan, that took us to the resort's pier and from there took the resort's very speed boat straight to the property. Coming in with the speedboat, we got a grand view of the resort, and arriving on a speedboat was just so fitting. The check in was smooth and the welcoming staff were just fantastic. We then got whisked away to our Pool Villa, which our agent tried their best to get us one with the best possible sea view. The pool villa is amazing and you really are alone out there, complete privacy. The restaurants are also fantastic. I would also suggest people go out of the resort and try some of the local cuisines. But the meals and drinks in Pimalai are fantastic. This resort is second to none in the Southern region.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thanks Phil Y from Berlin for great review; yes a bit of journey to get where we are but i think at the end our guests realise that it is what you have to invest for, should you want to get away from the tourist thailand... I am glad you enjoyed the stay and relied on the Adaman Sky Adenture's suggestion to stay with us. Look forward to see you back in the future. Good luck with the World Cup...Ur team is playing My team in the quarter final! Good Luck. Sunny rgds from Lanta . Franck,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Property: Pimalai Resort and Spa
Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing