We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely low-key break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Pimalai is a sneakily luxurious place... not over the top, not in-your-face, but really, really nice. The spa is one of the most lovely I have ever seen in Asia, and the facial I had was superb, the Thai massage another of our party had was just as good. The two pools have fantastic views, the beach is well managed with lots of fun equipment -- boogie boards, catamarans, kayaks etc and plenty of lounge chairs. The gym is really incredible for a resort, huge and wonderfully equipped, and there are 2 tennis courts. The fancy European restaurant was a bit too fancy and stiff for us, the others were very good. We stayed in the lower half, in my opinion vastly preferable to staying up on the mountain. The golf carts that take you up to the higher restaurants are fun, it is less fun to go in a black SUV, I wish they didn't use them, it spoils the atmosphere. If you are looking for an exotic very Thai experience this is not it... there is some of that feeling but not a lot, except perhaps in the spa.

Room Tip: Make sure you research the on the mountain versus by the beach options, they are very different.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank longtermexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thks for review longterm expat. Glad you enjoyed the overall experience. Sorry about cars; we are working on alternative strong electrical cars to replace fuel power cars . It is very steep where we are and we need to get the right ones. Thks for nice review once again. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,089)
There are newer reviews for Pimalai Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Pimalai as part of our honeymoon. We stayed there for 9 nights in June this year (2014). Everything about our stay was fantastic. We stayed in one of the hillside villas, which is bigger than our flat! We had our have pool, daybed and outdoor space. The views were amazing, the staff were more than happy to help and were always polite and friendly.

We stayed during the 'off peak' season but this only meant that the main restaurant was closed for refurbishment and that the speed boat docked at a harbour the other side of the island. Everything else was open including the other 3 restaurants.

The food, location, staff and views were amazing and will stay with my wife and I forever. We could not have asked for a better honeymoon stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jmalex03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Saswadde ! thks for the great review. Delighted to read that you have had a wonderful honeymoon with us. U know were we are now; so think of a wedding anniversary celebration one of these days! Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

There is absolutely nothing that I could thing of that needs improvement. We stayed in a 3 br pool villa which was perfect by all means. All praise goes to the staff of the Pimalai. Anything we ever wanted was taken care of. Thank you, everyone at Pimalai, for making this a great holiday for everyone in the family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5starsorwiththekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear 5starsworthwiththekids! thank you for great review; thank you for being with us in August - It is also a great season (may - Oct) to travel with family; great to read you enjoyed all . Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pimalai was arranged for us by our travel planners from andaman adventures, who came up with a great price for our stay and got us what must be the best-situated pool villa in the resort - highest point up the hill giving dreamlike ocean sunrises and complete privacy. I bet thats worth mentioning too :) We learned that this resort is a bit of a legend in Southern Thailand, and we understand why. It possibly IS the most refined place in the entire region, with being over-the-top or showy. The resort grounds are as big as a small village, with only a limited number of villas dotted around, giving everything an open, quiet feel - we often felt like we had the domain to ourselves when walking around, so to speak. the villa : just amazing, there is no other word for it. The staff : sweethearts, from the cleaning ladies to the front desk crew. We are already looking in our calendar when we can come back. yes seriously !.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear SvenD - thank you for the great review and for praising all the sweethearts of Pimalai...:-).
Glad to read your are planning a return. See you soon back here then. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We went to Pimalai to spend a couple days of rest. Coming from phuket town where everything is huzzle and buzzle we needed a break.
We arrived in this piece off paradise and were checked in the Poolvilla 902. Amazing vieuw over the Bay and Jungle in the back.
We had a couples Dinners at Seven Seas fine dinning restaurant, Superb Menu was inventiv and the food was really good. Chef Neung who is outlet Chef of Seven Seas is doing a great job. Same as Excutif chef Pouk who is controlling all outlets.
The girls K.Mai and K.Ying are providing a great personalized Service.
Rak-Talay Restaurant on the beach was nice too with Khun Gun running around on the beach to serve all off the customers.
Villa and Pool were very clean and kept that way during our stay.
All staff are very friendly and helpfull.
A Resort to be ranked at the very top !!!

Room Tip: Select any room or Villa and you have Seavieuw!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kannapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Sawaddee Khun Kannapat - many thks for your great review and also for praising the staff ; they will be very proud to read your comments. Indeed! Lanta is a nice get away from busy Phuket! Look forward seeing you back here. Sunny rgds from Lanta. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Staying in room 228,brilliant view of sea, sitting on balcony among the trees and wildlife. Staff always helpful especially the breakfast staff. Room cleaning excellent. Food very high quality but a shame restaurants add on 17 percent to your bill. The surrounding gardens are stunning and very well cared for. Transfer from Krabi by speedboat a brilliant start to our holiday especially after a long 10 hour flight. Security at resort excellent, you feel cared about and protected, Great not to have street vendors on the beach.


  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franck d, General Manager at Pimalai Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Sawasdee Khun Sara - Thank you for the nice review ; hope you have had a nice trip back home !
and not to hard to get back to work!. Sunny Rgds. Franck

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks at Pimalai for our honeymoon. It is truly paradise- the setting is absolutely beautiful. We stayed in a standard room for the first week and were upgraded for the second week.

Service is excellent- we were greeted at the airport with cool towels and ice cold water, and from that moment on everything was taken care of. Staff are friendly and we felt valued guests at every point.
The hotel is large and hills are steep- we are pretty fit, but the humidity meant that we felt this more than we would normally. However, golf buggies are always available to ferry you around.

Food was fantastic- breakfast was varied and very tasty- although I would recommend bringing your own tea bags! We ate food in the evenings which was exceptional- the a la carte restaurant was particularly good. It is expensive- but worth it at least once. Most nights,we ate at 'Why Not' bar (turn right and walk down the beach) or 'Same Same but Different' (turn left and walk down the beach)- both tasty and much cheaper.

Rooms were gorgeous- lots of wildlife, which we loved as felt truly part of the jungle. Lizards and frogs everywhere, monkeys, butterflies etc. The pools were both spectacular- the top infinity pool is simply breathtaking.

Our only issue with the hotel was all the extra charges- we knew from tripadvisor that food and snacks were expensive, but I would rather tip individuals that provide excellent service rather than have a mandatory charge added to everything. Furthermore, I was very disappointed to find that you have to pay to witness the evening entertainment- at approx £20 per person! I would expect in a hotel to be allowed to visit the bar and be allowed to enjoy whatever music was on offer at no extra cost!

We had a perfect honeymoon in this paradise hotel and would absolutely recommend it. Food mad drink is expensive- but you expect that in a hotel of this calibre. But the many hidden charges can leave a bitter taste.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vikki V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.5 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,477 reviews
10.6 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.6 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pimalai Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pimalai Resort and Spa

Address: 99 Moo 5, Ba Kan Tiang Beach, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#2 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £108 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pimalai Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pimalai, nestled in a lush tropical forest with direct access to 900 meters of pristine sandy beach, is the Andaman destination to set your sights on. The beach resort combines all the right ingredients - subtle five star comforts, natural beauty, far from the crowds, with no noise except the sound of the waves sliding in and out and slowly breaking onto the sand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pimalai Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pimalai Hotel Ko Lanta
Pimalai Resort Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing