We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lanta MP Place Hotel
Ranked #60 of 144 Ko Lanta B&B and Inns
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at MP Place for 1 night, but we would`ve stayed longer if we had not already booked our next hotel.

It is right at the beach (from the balcony of our room we were looking right at the water), the service is extraordinary, the owner tries to help whenever he can and has really helpful insights on where to eat and what to do around Koh Lanta.

From the hotel it is a 2min walk to the main street where you can find restaurants and street-cooking (which is excellent). But it needs to be said that you hear nothing at MP Place, it is really quiet and nothing to distrub you.

I can only recommend this place, it felt like we were staying with the family!!

If you go to Koh Lanta, stay here, rent a scooter and drive to "Old Town"

The rooms as well as the bathroom is really really clean and you can rent a scooter for 250 baht from the owner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMS587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a guesthouse that has everything you could want... Budget rates, large spacious and clean room with great A/C, large balcony terrace, mini fridge with complimentary water everyday, furniture and great location. There's a private beach about 30 steps behind the building. Best of all is the owner, such a nice and helpful man. We rented a motorbike from him and used it everyday during our stay. No breakfast but that's ok when there are so many food options to choose from in the Saladan area. My boyfriend and I have been traveling for months around Southeast Asia and we still talk about this place. Great feel and vibe and best of all, great value! It made our time in Koh Lanta so much more pleasurable. I'm definitely returning next time I visit what has become one of my favorite islands in Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovechild88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

There's a lot to like about Lanta MP Place, but the biggest thing is the location, which is, simply put, amazing. The hotel is located about 30 seconds from a private beach with beautiful white sand beaches and blue water. The beach itself is also super secluded and private, so you never feel like you're fighting for space with other tourists.

In addition to being super close to the beach, Lanta MP is also right on the edge of Saladan town. This makes for super easy walking to the night market, dinner options, and even the ferry is just a 5 minute walk away.

The room that we stayed in was comfortable, but not extravagent. Our AC worked, the beds were comfy, and the two of us had plenty of room to spread out. There was also a cable TV in the room, but we never bothered to use it.

Lastly, the staff was super awesome and helpful. The place is very much a mom and pop type establishment, so the owner got to know our faces pretty well during our 5 days there. The staff didn't have the best english, but they always had a warm smile at the end of a long day, which made us feel totally at home. Even when we blew out a fuse in our room, the owner was crazy helpful in getting everything back up and running as quickly as possible.

One thing to be aware of is that Lanta MP Place is very much a guesthouse, not a resort. There won't be a front desk to give you 5 extra towels, and they don't have a pool or lounge chairs to give out (although there are a couple by the beach which appeared to be free).

Nonetheless, at the price we paid, Lanta MP really was an excellent value and a great place to spend our 5 nights on Koh Lamta. If you don't need a resort atmosphere but still want a comfortable place in a great location it absolutely fits the bill.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cowslips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

After a shocking start at a horrible place on the island we came across here 2 days later and have been here for over a week. Friendly staff and great rooms. We paid 750bht per night for a huge room with large balcony and view of the ocean. The room is clean there is a fridge and the air con works! We don't want to leave. You can higher bikes from them and they cook a good breakfast! We will definately come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamgilbert22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

The family who run this small hotel (only 8 rooms)are very kind, and always help you with your needs.Very large and clean suites with all you can find in major chain htl,Good view from the room of the sea,althow this is not the best beach of the island,but you can rent motorbike directly from them and visit the island.Helthy and very good breakfast served upon request for a little extra.When visiting koh lanta again we will retourn here and we also suggest it to everybody!

Room Tip: require a room with balcony ,they are very large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beijaflor70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We have just completed a 3 night stay and I must say I absolutely loved this hotel. For 700 baht a night you get a fan cooled room. There are two options, most of the rooms have balconies and face away from the ocean however, we had a room without a balcony but a fantastic ocean view. The hotel is close to all the action in Saladan and the staff are willing to sort out tours and hires. We hired a tuk tuk for a day through the hotel and it was great. The staff werw super friendly, even giving us a hug when we checked out. One flaw was the general Asian hotel style of a bathroom where water goes absolutely everywhere when you shower. Another was that the wifi was bery sporadic; you could be standing right next to the modem and sometimes it wouldn't work. I would highly recommend this for anyone on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.0 mi away
Lanta memory ressort
Lanta memory ressort
#30 of 208 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Andaleaf Bungalow
Lanta Andaleaf Bungalow
#30 of 144 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
Lanta New Coconut Bungalow
#9 of 144 in Ko Lanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lanta Happy Hill Resort
Lanta Happy Hill Resort
#17 of 208 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baan Rim Lay
Baan Rim Lay
#11 of 144 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lanta Cottage
Lanta Cottage
#44 of 144 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanta MP Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanta MP Place Hotel

Property: Lanta MP Place Hotel
Address: 253/14 Moo 1, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Lanta
Hotel Class:2 star — Lanta MP Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Lanta MP Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing