We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
65
47
20
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
65
47
20
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conclean poolcleaned dailyeasy accessbeach sidethe main roadmotorbikereceptionbungalowresortislandlantabeachesmassageko
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Khum Laanta is a very new resort - we were the first guests in the a/c bungalows by the pool (on the day of our arrival they brought the mattresses and tv sets). The construction works were actually over, so you don't need to be afraid of the noise and dust.
It is located at by Khlong Khong beach, but has no direct access to the beach. It takes 3-5 min. to get there. Khlong Khong beach can be recommended to everyone, who likes spending time at the one of plenty bars and restaurants by the seaside. The shore anyway is little rocky and swimming is possible only by the high tide (afternoon). The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. Only the a/c makes some noise - new plastic parts crunch from time to time. The staff is very helpful, friendly and smiling all the time, though some of the ladies doesn't speak English too well. They have a small patisserie-restaurant, rent-a-bike (new automatic motorbikes - B250/day), laundry (B40/kg), free wi-fi all over the resort (sometimes doesn't work inside) and a swimming pool. We enjoyed the stay there very much and I can honestly recommend it to everyone seeking the accommodation in a quiet, comfortable place.

Room Tip: I recommend rather the a/c room - comparing to the fan room it much more worth it's price. Fan bungalows bedrooms are located inside the bungalow (no window), and the fan is a pedestal one, not ceiling and I'm afraid it won't be sufficent at night.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in a standard room and basic it was.
The standard room was extremely hot, it turned out it was cooler outside! The two fans provided could not cope with the huge apartment-like room.
The resort is currently like a building site but progress is quick and we could see that once this work has been completed it will be great. Most of this work is commencing opposite the standard rooms. The bungalows have been there a year (we were talking to some locals about it who used to live there) and seem very nice and worth the extra money.
Beach is only a few minutes walk and their pool is lovely.
Breakfast was good, however we were only offered the same thing every morning.
Owners and staff were friendly and helpful. While this resort is still under construction, it's not reaching its full potential. We wish them good luck in their new endeavours.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Currently (November 13'), this place is undergoing very heavy construction work, which wasn't made clear to us before booking/arriving.

The work is all day and evening and very dusty and noisy for it. There are many builders who seem to reside on site (some with their families), so unless you don't mind a male heavy audience, you can't use the swimming pool either.

Whilst our room was spacious, akin to a small apartment, it wasn't at all comfortable. The curtain poll collapsed several times, giving us no privacy. The toilet was broken and flushed all night long. The TV didn't work. The duvet whilst clean, was synthetic and hot and thick enough for a British winter! With no AC, we were sweltering. Also, there is no mosquito net and many many Mosquitos, so we were bitten throughout the night. And the wifi doesn't work in your room, you have to sit in reception for signal.

To access the beach, the closest walkway is closed/ privatised by another property. So you have to walk down the road and through another complex to reach it. Then the beach here itself, is very rocky, only 1 small part is swim able unless you wait for high tide, in which case take reef shoes!

After long drawn out conversations, one of the 3 staff members was finally understanding and sympathetic and refunded our second night so we could leave, and gave us a complimentary coffee, which was appreciated.

I wouldn't recommend this place by a long stretch and would suggest some of these previously overly positive reviews must be fabricated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LettsieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, had stayed in another hotel on lanta then moved here, room was perfect and location was fantastic. Staff were very helpful and told us some good areas to visit. Beautiful beach, pure paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Surrey19862013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Khum Laanta resort at the end of February 2013, for a week in total. What a great place it was. The resort is located right in the middle of the island on the beach side, taking no more than three minutes to walk to the beach. The bungalows are suites with your own kitchen, the place is brand new, clean, and modern. Breakfast is included with the stat and it is served with the utmost care as it was served to our balcony and our dishes were beautifully decorated. The man that runs the resort is awesome!!! He made our stay that much nicer. We were able to rent a scooter for our entire stay...a brand new one to be noted. We can from a resort across the street, where we paid the same price, had a tiny basic room, and were further away from the beach. Khum Laanta resort is one of the best deals on the island. You will not be dissapointed. Travelled for three months in Asia and this was one of the nicest places for the price we paid!!!
Aviv and Nancy.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Selenachura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews