We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“XXXXAWESOMEXXX”
Review of Coco Lanta Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coco Lanta Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Booked this place bout 2 month before trip and was emailed saying my booking wasn't valid as it was including breakfast
Thought it was iffy so cancelled
Booked a place called banana garden and day before arriving on island they emails cancelling me
In desperation I went on booking. com and rebooked this place
Got to krabi and got on a long minivan journey that took forever and arrived here to what looked like a building site
I was sorely peed off on arrival but upon seeing my bungalow was amazed coolest place I have ever seen or stayed
Scenery amazing hammocks so cool
Beach divine
Tried breakfast in resort and was ok but mostly aye out as food here quite expensive compared to lots of other places
Shop just outside resort really cheap and does laundry
Did hire scooter for my stay here from reception and was cheaper than elsewhere
A terrific place to stay absolutely beautiful a cheap bit of luxury our week here cost less than £140
Would love to go back and would defo book coco again missing it already

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ommanipadnehum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Coco Lanta Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

This resort is excellent. The rooms are clean, tidy and modern. The facilities are very good, pool amazing, and restaurant has great food. The location is brilliant if you are here in high season. The beach is beautiful and you are a stones throw away form more beach bars and restaurants. The staff were friendly and kind and made a lot of effort to improve their English. There is one very competent speaking English worker and the rest get the jist. If you are looking to relax in a secluded bay this is your place. I stayed with a friend in June (low season) and everything apart from freedom bar along the beach were closed. I would not recommend ko lanta in the low season unless you want to feel like you are on castaway island, however I'm guessing it would be great in high season. If you stay here you MUST go to kwans cookery restaurant opposite the resort entrance, it has the best panang curry I have ever tasted in Thailand. Rent a moped off of coco it is essential to see the island and only 200bht. Overall a great very chilled stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megankennedy130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Enjoyed my stay here. The rooms are a good size with all you need, clean bedding and towels and good bathroom. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Clean rooms, very cheap but good standard for price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We booked one night this hotel as our first stop in Ko Lanta, and ended up staying three nights in total.

BUNGALOWS: The bungalows are just gorgeous. They're brand new (we were told by management that the resort only opened in November 2012), spotlessly clean, seal well to keep out bugs, and are well air-conditioned. The bungalows are small as noted in other reviews, but they're deliberately designed to be small so as to be Eco-friendly, and really, if you're spending all your time in your room then you really shouldn't be holidaying on a Thai beach! The bed was very comfortable, with new linen. The bathroom was large, clean, and didn't flood like many we've experienced. Each bungalow has a small deck out the front, with chair and hammock in the shade. My only two criticisms of the accommodation are that there is not a lot of storage space for belongings, and that at nighttime, and particularly when it rains, the frogs (or toads? Not sure how you tell the difference) can be very loud. Otherwise, I highly recommend the accommodation!

GROUNDS/FACILITIES: There is a lovely cushiony grass area under the palm trees, and then a large pool, in pristine condition, which overlooks the beach. These areas are beautiful in the morning and late afternoon, but unfortunately during the middle of the day there is a distinct lack of shade. This situation may rectify itself in a year or two when the garden matures. Fortunately for the moment, there are sun chairs and hammocks on the beach front, under large thatched umbrellas, and the beachfront restaurant has some comfortable areas in which to chill too.

BEACH: Many other reviewers have noted that the beach is very rocky - which is true, at low tide. If you like scrambling over rocks, finding hidden creatures, then this is the place for you! At high tide, I didn't notice the rocks at all. The water comes in a long way, and the beach is on quite an incline, which meant that the only way I could reach the rocks was to hold my breath and submerge myself. The rocks are really not as big a deal as others have made out.

LOCATION: We visited during the low season, and there was not a lot going on in the Khlong Khong area. Visit Kwan's Cookery across the road for some amazing food, or walk south along the beach to Freedom Bar for some evening drinks and games of pool. To see much more you'll need to either hire a motorbike or flag down a taxi, as it's a long hot walk along the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the pool, but not quite at the end where the bar is located.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aLissAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

New resort with new bungalows and pool but staff not yet well trained. It does accept credit cards, it was a problem when we wanted to book tours and the food at the bar was simply terrible. Khong khlong beach has a lot of rocks and so I would not recommend it to anyone. Khlong Nin is much better!!! - get a hotel there!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I would give this a rating of 4.5

The location of the hotel can't be any better. It's only a couple minutes away from the elephant-attraction and located right by the beach.

The pool is located almost right by the beach. You can sit down there and enjoy the sunset while drinking a cocktail. I enjoyed the pool even more than the ocean, since the ocean is not really clean and the visibility was horrible.

The restaurant is pretty good as well. They offer thai and western food for dinner and breakfast. The service is average and not the best. Sometimes it takes them a little longer than usual and sometimes they take the plate even though you're still chewing on your last bite. The price of the food is probably average. I found it cheaper than lots of other places.

I believe they say that there's wifi all over the resort. I stayed in a room pretty close to the reception and therefore I had fast internet. I heard from other people though that they don't get internet in their rooms at all. You'll find a wifi hotspot by the pool/restaurant/beach area though.

They also offer different services such as scooter rentals (250 baht/24 hours), elephant riding trips and post cards. I find the scooter rental really helpful. I rented one for only half a day and paid a little less. It's a great way to explore the island.

If I go back to Kho Lanta I would definitely stay a Coco Lanta Resort again. It's not that expensive and an amazing resort!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederikU_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The bungalows are small but are clean and tight for two but that makes it cosy. The pool is nice especially because the beach and water is not the best. The restaurant is good and so is the service.The staff is friendly and the spa is good.We stayed an extra two days here because of the atmosphere and the area.We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great little Greek restaurant 15 minutes down the road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.2 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Layana Resort and Spa
Layana Resort and Spa
#1 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
Lanta Pearl Beach Resort
#17 of 84 in Ko Lanta
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
1.8 mi away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
4.7 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Lanta Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Lanta Resort

Address: 175 Moo 2, Khlong Khong beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £18 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coco Lanta Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Lanta Resort, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like smoking area, concierge, tours, bar/pub, poolside bar and souvenirs shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Coco Lanta Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing