We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on Koh Lanta”
Review of Kung Restaurant

Kung Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 307 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$7
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best on Koh Lanta”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately I discovered Kung a little bit late, on my 4 day on the island. It was by far the BEST food and the best service in Koh Lanta!!! I will definitely eat there again! Try the Seafood wit curry sauce, it's damn good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sakis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    52
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“third year running...”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Tor and Kung, husband and wife team, run this restaurant with great love and consideration. It is our third year visiting Koh Lanta Yai and we consider ourselves as much friends with the staff as customers. The food is always delicately cooked, sauces are never over the top and we notice each year that they are adding to the menu and trying new lines, for example the excellent spaghetti seafood. The meals are prepared individually and the attention given by Tor to each group of visitors makes the visit memorable. Sometimes if everyone goes to eat at the same time, the last person to order may have to wait a while, but this place runs on Thailand Time and most of the customers are relaxed on holiday and don't mind waiting a while for freshly made meals. Next year we plan to start our travels in Kuala Lumpar, but we will probably spend the last week in Lanta and eating at Kung's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kung's for real taste of thailand”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Some of the best thai food I have ever eaten. The prices are excellent and the food so so tasty. I visited kung's 3 nights in a row the food was so good. I ordered a selection of 5 or more dishes as it was so cheap. If you are in Koh Lanta Kung restaurant is a must.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matt1234567891011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I Love these people!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Very friendly very clean and the food was great we had breakfast and dinner here half a dozen times. We really like it all the food was good especially we liked the breakfast fruit and muesli. Prices are reasonable for the good quality. Only thing is Breakfast doesn't start until 10am Loved it!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmnopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barneveld, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The "Duck" is delious !!!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Good choice to eat here, de Duck is lovely!

Also the juice and milkshakes are fresh and Lovely sweet, we come back again to KUNG , great owner and family

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kung Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Kung Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing