We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Lym's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 311 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lym's is back and is even better than before.. Lym's is the best place to relax. Unwind along our 100meters of beachfront with swings, comfy hammocks, bamboo sofas, beanbags and more. We are nestled in the central part of long beach, with abundant nature of pine trees and uncrowded space. If you seek for a peaceful refuge on long beach, look no further. Enjoy our home cooked food, carefully prepared by the three mums who fondly overlook the restaurant. For those seeking a bit of liveliness, don't miss the live band and fire show here every Tuesday night from 8.30pm. Listen to the soulful melody blending with the soft calming of waves..
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
551 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Nice location, but move that bloody great sign right on the beach. If you're sitting at the end tables it's all your going to see during your meal, but like I say, good food, well worth checking out.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinheadplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    72
    32
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Our favourite!”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Authentic Thai food in a wonderful beach setting. The two sisters who own this on-the-beach relaxed restaurant are so friendly and keen to help you understand and experience the lesser known dishes often handed down through generations. A truly delightful experience which we sampled at least 4 times on our 2 week holiday.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MoirEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamtonshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendliest people and great food”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We ate here a few times during our recent holiday and everything we ate was wonderful and freshly cooked. The '3 sisters' are all so friendly and spent time suggesting delicious things to eat and chatting with us. We hope to be back next year!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RugBugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great to me”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I ate here for lunch with my boyfriend and a friend of ours and also for breakfast.
Breakfast was good, they gave you tea or coffee and a juice, some muesli or fruit with yoghurt as well as eggs bacon etc. Was only 150baht so quite good I think.
We were hanging out for the day on their lovely huts which are really relaxing I really enjoyed lying here.

We decided to get lunch instead of traipsing up the beach. The same dishes elsewhere were nicer for about a hundred baht cheaper.
Rice was a bit old I think and I found two tiny ants in it while I was eating. Bit late at that point though. My meal itself was a bit tasteless and my partner's garlic and pepper pork was all pepper. Maybe the other foods are better but we ate meals for 80 baht that far surpassed here. Certainly wouldnt come back on the basis of what we ate.
One thing I noticed on Koh lanta was the spice level was very mild. Living in Bangkok I quite like the spicier foods. Some places ask, this place didn't. Could be an idea for the future.

Helpful?
Thank Q-qlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

On this trip we've eaten (literally) at the best restaurants in Asia but for me, this place stood out above them all.
It's run by 3 Thai ladies ranging from 69-79 years. It's on the beach, a stones throw from our hotel the Layana. One lady, the name sake, lives part time in Birmingham so speaks fluent English. The menu contains some real gems, which we hadn't seen before including stuffed chicken wing (delicious) and rice cakes with a pork bolognese type ragu which we were told was an ancient Thai recipe that had gone out of fashion; I really think it should be brought back.
Mains were heavenly, spicy without blow your head off chilli. Everything we ate, and we ate way more than we should have, was delicious. Hopefully we can get a few more visits in before we leave.
Service was friendly attentive and efficient; these ladies could teach some of the bigger restaurants a thing or two about how it's done.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rachel69inman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lym's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Krabi Town, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Lym's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing