We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our favourite venue in lanta old town”
Review of Fresh Restaurant

Fresh Restaurant
Ranked #162 of 297 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Brussels
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“our favourite venue in lanta old town”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

WOW. We loved Fresh, when we entered the first time we expected the bill to be high but Fresh is cheaper or same price than other restaurants that serve equal or less value food without the magnificant view Fresh has We tried different dishes and all were excellent, try the fried rice southern style or squid in tempura! Menu is huge , large choice of thai and western, though we only had thai. Staff are lovely , so are the cooks and yes they do speak very little english but who cares and ... they are not pushy in any way . What a view! Spacious, very calm and relaxing. Fresh was so good that we returned without hesitation and will do if we go back to lanta old town

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank naftalinabrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    65
    16
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place with great food”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

At seaside. Wonderful food!
The prawns tempura are to die for. The location was very nice too. On a seaside deck.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ON_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable meals in Koh Lanta”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We've dined at Fresh Restaurant a few times over the years and it's always been memorable. Old Town is a great village, little affected by the tourist boom happening in this sweet island paradise. The location over the water on stilts and open air dining make it a gorgeous venue for a relaxing lunch or dinner overlooking the Andamen Sea. The service is gracious and very accommodating. The food presented simply, the freshness is immediately obvious from the first bite. Make a trip down to Fresh Restaurant in Lanta Old Town and experience a taste of heaven.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pvoscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The outside of this restaurant is nothing special. However when you go to the seated area at the back, the views of the sea and other islands are stunning. To get to this area, you have to walk through the kitchen which is clean. I found this a plus to know that the food was being prepared in an hygienic area. I had prawn and cashew noodles and my husband had chicken and cashews with streamed rice washed down with fresh pineapple juice. The food was fresh and delicious. We then had banana pancakes with honey which were gorgeous! The service was friendly and efficient without making us feel rushed. We stayed for two hours having a leisurely meal, relaxing and enjoying the views. We also had two coffees each. The bill came to 940TB and it was well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonihous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Seaside Dining Experience”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We paid a visit to Lanta Old Town because my wife is a great fish eater. I myself am a vegetarian, but since my wife speaks Thai she can always have something whipped up without meat or fish for me.

The Fresh looked, well, fresh from the outside and seemed to have the longest extension out over the sea so we stopped there for lunch. We weren't disappointed.

The friendly waiter cheerfully accommodated my request for a vegetable and tofu stir-fry served with khao suay (rice). The wife had her eating shoes on, so she ordered "steak chicken" (satay) and a grilled fish. We both drank tall, cool pineapple shakes.

Everything we were served at the Fresh Restaurant was well-prepared and presented. The food was great and the wonderful seaside atmosphere just added to the delightful experience. The keptang (bill), at 680 baht, was perhaps the most elevated we've ever been presented with in 6 years of eating in Thailand. But the satisfied feeling we walked away with made the stop very worthwhile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Fresh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing