We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back for more”

Kantiang Restaurant
Ranked #72 of 289 Restaurants in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$3
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Ba Kantiang Restaurant is the best! Owned and run by the lovely Pi-On and his family, this is a real Thai restaurant that all the locals eat at. Offering a range of authentically prepared Thai dishes
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Back for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I've returned to Koh Lanta again and the first place I visited with being in Kantiang Bay for less than an hour, is Ba Kantiang Restaurant. What a welcome I received, for Khun Mae and Pee Ong. The restaurant is now larger, the menu offers some new dish to cater for every taste. If your in Kantiang Bay, I guarantee once you been here once you'll keep coming back. Portions are large, fresh and tasty. Prices from as little as 50 Baht. On some nights there may be live Thai folk music. Also if you staying at a hotels in the area, food can be delivered. I had food delivered to my villa up the hill on many occasions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThAiPoGai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    22
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
“Family Run Restaurant with Fantastic Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Went to this after reading other reviews on here, so glad I did. Decided to eat here every night. Very wide range of dishes to choose from at very cheap prices. The owners, husband and wife are very friendly, treating you as part of the family. Offered free sticky rice and mango desert plate, which was out of this world.I would recommend anyone staying in Kantiang Bay to visit this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Markolomew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous traditional Thai food in an authentic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was definitely a food highlight of our Thailand/Koh Lanta trip. The restaurant is a short walk out of town - if you follow the road south out of Kantiang Bay it's about 500m down. The restaurant is run by a lovely smiling family who are charming and generous. The kids seem to enjoy practicing their English with foreigners! The place was mostly filled with locals (always a good sign) and with what I assume we're other travelling foodies keen to try delicious, traditional style thai food. The food was a nice level of spice and made with care and attention to detail. So many flavours shone through all of our dishes that it was very clear that they care deeply about making delicious food. They also threw in dessert (sticky rice and mango) for free. Lovely people & great food. Strongly recommend you get off the beaten tourist track and try this one out. You won't regret it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Penylane26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Thai Food on Koh Lanta WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Wow, its a must try restaurant.

Run by a family who have been here for 10 years. Serving wonderful local cuisine. There are many options to choose from on there menu. Many locals choose to eat here, because of the high quality and friendliness of the family.

Its situated only 2 minutes walk from the Kantiang Bay 7-11, walking towards the Pimalia Hotel on the left hand side.

I've eaten here every night of my holiday.

looking forward to returning next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FarawayTree1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food on our holidays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Family run restaurant a bit south of the village Kantiang Bay. Best Thai food, cooked by the mother of the family (she is from the area between Chiang Mai and Chiang Rai - so it's authentic North Thailand food as we had it up north, even a bit better!!)
Very hospitable atmosphere, a lot of locals eat here as well! Amazing good prices for amazing good food!!
Very recommandable!

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kantiang Restaurant also viewed

Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
Ko Lanta, Krabi Province
 

Been to Kantiang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing