We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An amazing stay in Paradise”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I stayed at Layana for two weeks in May 2011 for our honeymoon. There are plenty of detailed reviews on here so I will just cover the basics. The room was decorated with flowers and complimentary sparkling wine on arrival - a lovely touch. The room was a good size and very light and airy. The bathroom was spotless. I was provided with a padded coat hanger for my silk nightwear - it was just there one day, I hadn't asked for it!! Service is impeccable, you don't lift a finger but the staff are not over bearing. The grounds were spotless, the beach in front of the hotel kept completely clean. The breakfast selection contained virtually everything you could imagine. There was a good variety on the menu, the quality of the food was excellent and mid priced - not as cheap as restaurants down the road, but half the price of the UK. Drinks were a bit pricey, much more like UK prices but we just made the most of the happy hour!

Overall, a delightful, small and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravellinggirlUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    98
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,144
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I have just read the previous post and either they did not stay at Layana or they are just seasonal complainers. I would seriously disregard their comments.

My wife have been amaized by the level of service from the staff they are the most helpful people and geninely go out of their way to make your stay special.

The food is great, well priced and served quickly.

Rooms are large and serviced twice a day with special treats and flowers. They go the extra mile

In all an excellent experience And great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JenJans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

We chose Layana after reading all the reviews on the the Trip Advisor. We wanted to go back to Amari Vogue, but decided to try something different. Since we arrived in the low season, it took 2 hours by car and 2 ferries from Krabi Airport to reach the resort. I would like to point out that there is nothing specifically wrong with Layana Resort, and perhaps our expectations were a bit too high. We travel a lot, both business and pleasure, and since this wasn't our first trip to Thailand, we kind of knew what to expect.

First, all the good things worth mentioning:

- We loved their adult only policy, the resort was peaceful and quite.
- Breakfast was very good, always fresh and a good mix of Thai and Continental food.
- The food at the restaurant was reasonably priced and always good.
- Our Garden room was a very good size, and had a very nice bathroom with a sunken bath and a separate shower. Free internet was great as well.
- As always in Thailand, the staff were always smiling and always willing to help. The pool boys always seemed to work very hard to keep everyone happy.
- The Spa was amazing - priced very similar to European ones, Friday special where partner goes for free was great.
- BBQ night and Thai night were fab.

A few improvement suggestions:

- All though the staff is very friendly, the service was a hit and miss at times. I must point out that this was not deliberate. There is so much staff there and everyone seems to be doing everything, which makes it seem very unorganized. Therefore, a quality of your cocktails for example would vary a LOT depending on who made it. Your wine would arrive after you finished your main meal along with your bread and the small appetizer. The drinks could take 20 min sometimes, even when not busy. Our food got mixed up several times, which ended up causing a few issues, since my partner loves spicy food and I don't.
- The same menu for lunch and dinner gets tiring after a while.
- The Garden rooms are a bit out of date and could use a touch of re-decorating.
- The pool is on the small size.
- The Island Discovery trip we did, was nice, but not worth the money, (2600 for both of us) We saw the old town, new town center and the gypsy village. That was it.
- Organizing a giant Tiger Prawn' evening, and running out of tiger prawns 20 min into the service, again seemed very unorganized and a bit unprofessional. Especially when the waitresses were taking orders not even realizing they had run out in the first place.
- Esthetically speaking, the gardens are beautiful, but Layana could use a few improvements on the outside. Howerver, I do understand that there are refubrishment plans for this summer.

I am very sorry to write this, and I wish we felt differently, but to us that special something was just missing here.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank nats-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LayanaManagement, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Dear nats-dk,
Thank you very much for staying at the Layana Resort&Spa during your recent visit to our beautiful island. We appreciate you taking the time and giving us detailed information about your stay. We value your comments and will use them to further train our associates in order to meet and exceed our guests expectations.
Please trust that we will discuss all your mentioned points with our managers and staff and train our associates accordingly.
The esthetically parts will be taken care off as we never stand still in our business and will keep improoving and refining our resort and the services offered.
Looking forward welcoming you back here on Koh Lanta,
Warm regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The title says it all. This was written on the back of the staff t-shirts on BBQ Nite, which is not to be missed by the way. Great food and great value.

This is our second visit to Layana (First in 2009) and like many were worried that the philosophy of excellent service maybe lost with the change of management. Let me say there is nothing to worry about. Many of the restaurant and poolside staff are the same and still take real pleasure in making sure you have a great and relaxing time.

We had a couple of conversations with the new management team and they are committed to keeping the core values of Layana but also have plans to reverbish and update the facilities in the coming months. So who knows, it might even get better!!

We will definitely be back in a couple of years as this is a magical place. The hotel cannot be beaten for service and value and the island (in low season) is perfect for those looking for a relaxing break.

We booked a package which included dinners at Tides restaurant and a spa package. The food quality in the restaurant is excellent both western and Thai. The Yellow Fin Tuna is the best we have ever tasted...yum. But it is also well worth getting out and sampling some of the food in the local restaurants where a meal for 2 with a couple of drinks will be around BHT600.

As many have said you can get very cheap massages on the beach but for anyone who enjoys the spa experience, you must visit the Linger Longer. It is fabulous!

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NewcastlePeterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Layana was truly all that it set out to be. Idyllic, serene, private and secluded. Luxury at it's best with a human touch. Just loved it.

Thank you Layana and than you other tripadvisors for the headsup.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank indo_ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Everything about this hotel is amazing. We were lucky enough to arrive on the 28th April, a couple of days before the rainy season officially started so we had the luxury of a private speedboat from the mainland to the resort and a private welcome on the beach from the general manager which was special.
The service, rooms, grounds and food were outstanding. The spa was also fantastic and great value for money, especially on Fridays when 'Partners go free'.
My only slightly negative point is that there is a 'Sunset hour' (happy hour) from 5.30-7.30pm and all cocktails are 1/2 price. We ordered 2 when at the restaurant which adjoins the bar but found out when signing for the meal that if you have your drinks anywhere other than the bar, they are full price which I fed back to the general manager as isn't clear on the brochures.
If went back to Thailand, would have to re-visit this place.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LucaTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We recently spent nine nights on honeymoon at Layana Resort and Spa and had an absolutely fantastic time. We flew to Bangkok and spent three nights in the city before we arrived on Koh Lanta.

The hotel’s own boat collected us from the pier and the team greeted us on the beach as we stepped off board onto the wonderful white sand of the extremely quiet and peaceful beach.

We stayed in a Garden Pavilion Room for the first seven nights and then decided to upgrade to an Ocean Deluxe Room for the last two nights for a supplement. The Garden Pavilion Room was lovely and we were greeted to a wonderful honeymoon spread on the bed, a flower-filled bath and complimentary Champagne and chocolates. On the seventh day, we moved to the Ocean Deluxe Suite for an extra-special ending to our honeymoon and it was definitely worth the extra money. We spent the first night sleeping ‘under the stars’ in the outdoor bedroom (but under the mosquito net) and then our second and final night in the spacious bedroom on the first floor. The Ocean Deluxe Suite had two showers (one indoor and one ‘al fresco’ and a bath with big concertina windows that made it feel as though you were bathing outside. The room was much more spacious than the Garden Pavilion with a bathroom with dual sinks, a dressing area and additional storage space. Outside, we had a terrace area overlooking the pool and of course, a second floor with the outdoor bedroom/day bed. My only negative comment about the Ocean Deluxe Suite was that although they looked soft and inviting, the outdoor chairs were SO uncomfortable! My overall opinion of the rooms would be that the Garden Pavilion Rooms are very nice and have everything you need but the Ocean Deluxe Rooms go the extra mile (although two nights was enough as a special treat!)

The resort as a whole was really clean and exceptionally kept. The pool was a nice temperature (much cooler than the warm sea) and the pool and beach-side service was very impressive – towels laid out on your loungers for you, iced water poured and continuously topped up and fruit kebabs and cool, scented towels supplied in the afternoons. It was never busy and there were always plenty of loungers available both by the pool and on the beach and quite often we would be the only people in the pool.

The restaurant was in a great spot overlooking the beach and we had three evening meals here. The first was a BBQ buffet which was nice but not hugely inspiring, the second was a Thai evening which was really nice with a good selection and on the final evening we dined a la carte which was OK but no better than the meals that we had at the nearby beach or roadside restaurants and much more expensive.

The breakfast selection was great with continental, full English and Thai options as well as fresh fruit, a great selection of breads, eggs and waffles cooked on request and fruit juices and smoothies.

The staff were all very attentive and did everything they could for us. My only comment was that considering the resort was not full when we stayed, the service could be a little slow at times – 15 minutes waiting for our drinks (two small beers) to arrive at the dinner table?!

The location was superb, right on Long Beach in a secluded spot away from the bars, restaurants and other resorts. It was however just a short stroll to the beachside restaurants and bars (mostly to the right of the resort) and we also had a Thai massage in one of the many ‘huts’ right on the beach – for just 250 Baht!

The Linger Longer Spa at Layana was amazing and myself and my husband had a massage together which was one of the best that I have ever had - and reasonably priced at around the same price as a spa treatment in the UK (perhaps a little cheaper!)

The island was perfect for us – enough to do and see yet not full of back-packers and tourists. We hired a motorbike for a day to explore the island (booked through the resort) and would strongly recommend this – some of the bars on the East of the island have views to die for!!! We also took the boat to Koh Phi Phi to see the famous ‘beach’ and clear blue waters. The island itself is a complete dump but if you take a long tail boat out to see the islands, it’s a trip worth doing. Although beware - you have to pay 200 Baht per person to just step on the sand on the famous beach – which is covered in tourists!!!

In the evenings we dined out and ate in Salandan (the main town on the island) on a couple of nights and then wandered out to the road near the resort on one night when we found ‘Chilli House’ which to the left of the resort where we had one of the best (and cheapest!) meals.

Overall, Layana is a superb resort in a fantastic location and the fact that it is adult-only is such a bonus – we really could relax and just enjoy each other’s company. We would both strongly recommend Layana and the island of Koh Lanta for a relaxing break in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing