We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,674)
Filter reviews
1,674 results
Traveller rating
1,509
118
32
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,509
118
32
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tides restaurant garden pavilion pillow menu sands bar sunken bath sundowner cruise coco loco operations manager krabi airport beach suite our honeymoon cold towels fruit kebabs pool staff ice cold water low season flower garlands
Filter
Updating list...
1,158 - 1,163 of 1,674 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2007

There really is nothing to add to the previous tripadvsior reports. We spent two weeks at Layana in November. Our expectations of Layana were incredibly high having read previous reviews. What we experienced was far beyond our wildest dreams. Margie, Bob and their staff are the most wonderful hosts who leave you wanting for nothing. From the time you leave the airport you are transported into a world where you no longer have to think for yourself, absolutely everything is taken care of. Nothing pretentious here, just sheer luxury in the most wonderful surroundings. Bob and Margie go over and above to provide a service that makes you feel like the only guests. We have travelled extensively and been to many wonderful places and hotels in the world, but there has always been a 'but', which has left us questioning whether we should recommend places, but I would recommend Layana to anyone (apart from families as it is not a family resort and children should be actively discouraged). Thank you to Bob and Margie, Michael and Daniel and the rest of the team for the most wonderful time that will stay with us forever. Already dreaming of our return.

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank clarkesplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The Layana was by far the best value of all the hotels we stayed at during our 2 week Thailand honeymoon. The location of the hotel could not have been better. It was literally right on the beach. Every morning we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast (smoked salmon, champagne, cheeses, french toast, etc.) while looking out to the beautiful Andaman sea. Our room (the least expensive one- I think it was a deluxe) was very clean and modern, equipped with a DVD player, flat screen TV, nice deck, beautiful bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. The staff was very friendly and made excellent drinks (a little expensive, but well worth it considering the location!). Overall, a very relaxing stay. We ended up staying an extra night!

Oh yeah, if you want to see the island, rent a motorbike for the day (we just walked across the street and rented one from a little internet cafe- it think it was like $6/ day- def. worth it.). There is definitely more to see in Koh Lanta than just the hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lola315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

An absolute gem.

My friend and I were pack packing in Thailand. We needed a bit of pampering and checked in. We never for one second regretted it.

We were collected and drove to the hotel. Greeted with flower garlands and many smiles. A super easy check in. We were given a garden suite – which are gorgeous. Everything you could possibly want. Comfy beds, soft top quality bed linen and all mod cons.

The spa and treatments were AMAZING. The staff were outstanding. They did absolutely everything to make you feel special. The treatments were excellent value for money. The refreshments were offered at the right times and always the right quantity.

The food was perfect. The atmosphere, ambience, friendly staff, Cleanliness everything about this resort oozes style, sophistication but friendly, nice and relaxing.

You never feel out of place, they can not do enough to please you. It is not snooty like many world class resorts.

The beach is nice, but nothing spectacular. This due to the actual beach and nothing to do with the hotel. The entire beach is yellowish sand not pure white. But with a swimming pool so perfect, the beach feels less important.

Everything about the hotel and spa is perfect… I long to go back

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Missspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2007

I chose this resort after researching it through tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. This place is paradise. When you have trouble finding negative comments about a place, ( even when the English are praising it ) I thought this must be a good place. Our time here went so quickly, 5 nights of pure bliss. Food was above average, great daily activities planned and the pool was sensational. We tried swimming in the ocean once but my wife was stung by some massive jellyfish ( dead one ) so we stuck to the pool... I cannot fault this place at all, Excellent service and the rooms wre made twice a day, this is a true 5 star resort. Say G'day to Sakadan behind the bar, he makes a mean cocktail !! Book this place, it is worth the distance to travel to..
We stayed in the Garden Villa and are pleased, even though the Beach Front would be amazing they are closer to the pool and bar... not that there was ever much noise. ( Except for one night we got together with a couple of Germans, Danes and Swiss and hit the Chang beer pretty hard ! )
I tried to put on pics but the size opn the site are to limited.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2007

My husband and I stayed here in October, the weather was really good a couple of overcast days and one heavy storm one afternoon,this did not bother us at all ,we went to the spa it was so relaxing and the staff there were so lovely.This hotel is simply wonderful we only ate out once as the food in the resturant was so good,Felix the chef and his team really know how to cook,and every thing we beautifully presented and prices are much better than the UK.our room 1037 was so lovely ,the bed so comfortable, the bathroom and shower briliant,every thing you would need was there tea ,coffee ,bar and toiletries super.What makes the Layana stand out is the staff ,everyone of them are the friendliest we have ever met in Thailand and we have been many times before,nothing is to much trouble for them and everything is done with that beautiful thai smile.Saladan town is fine for a bit of shopping and if you want to eat out there are many seafood resturants there.we went on the sunset cruise with Daniel and his team it was a lovely couple of hours with lovely food and drinks and we saw alot of monkeys can really reccomend that trip,we also went to phi phi with a super couple we met,a lovely day hello Shell and Todor.now back to the beautiful Layana if you want a peaceful holiday look no more,this is the place to come you will not regret it .do not be put off with the journey ours went very smoothly.from the time we arrived till the time sadly we left we knew we had found our little piece of heaven,with new friends we made Katie, Chis ,Jason ,Tracy ,Sabine , Stefan and Becky and Steve hope you got that rock on your finger Becky.So thank you everyone sorry we did not meet Bob and Margie, but Michael and Daniel looked after us so well. this place is credit to you do not change a thing its just perfect.One last thing keep our room empty as we are coming back love and thanks to you all and happy "2008 ,sawadee from Sally and Clive

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank salcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews