We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A magical honeymoon”
Reviewed 6 December 2007

We have just returned from the most perfect and magical honeymoon at the Layana Resport & Spa. We cannot rate this resort highly enough. Every aspect of our stay was of the highest quality. We stated in a garden room, and it was beautifully appointed. The gardens are immaculate, the restaurant, reception area and bar are lovely, the spa is bliss, the beach is perfect, the food and beverage prices very reasonable. But what really makes this place a heaven on earth is the Layana team. Nothing is too much trouble; every day we were surprised and delighted by the care and attention this dedicated team take. The guiding philosphy of the owners Bob and Margie is understood and demonstrated by all, and we were delighted to spend some time getting to know them on the sunset cruise that they regularly host. A wonderful, wonderful place which we intend to visit again as soon as possible!

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneElsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,257
    95
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,102
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2007

There really is nothing to add to the previous tripadvsior reports. We spent two weeks at Layana in November. Our expectations of Layana were incredibly high having read previous reviews. What we experienced was far beyond our wildest dreams. Margie, Bob and their staff are the most wonderful hosts who leave you wanting for nothing. From the time you leave the airport you are transported into a world where you no longer have to think for yourself, absolutely everything is taken care of. Nothing pretentious here, just sheer luxury in the most wonderful surroundings. Bob and Margie go over and above to provide a service that makes you feel like the only guests. We have travelled extensively and been to many wonderful places and hotels in the world, but there has always been a 'but', which has left us questioning whether we should recommend places, but I would recommend Layana to anyone (apart from families as it is not a family resort and children should be actively discouraged). Thank you to Bob and Margie, Michael and Daniel and the rest of the team for the most wonderful time that will stay with us forever. Already dreaming of our return.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank clarkesplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

The Layana was by far the best value of all the hotels we stayed at during our 2 week Thailand honeymoon. The location of the hotel could not have been better. It was literally right on the beach. Every morning we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast (smoked salmon, champagne, cheeses, french toast, etc.) while looking out to the beautiful Andaman sea. Our room (the least expensive one- I think it was a deluxe) was very clean and modern, equipped with a DVD player, flat screen TV, nice deck, beautiful bathroom with spa tub and separate shower. The staff was very friendly and made excellent drinks (a little expensive, but well worth it considering the location!). Overall, a very relaxing stay. We ended up staying an extra night!

Oh yeah, if you want to see the island, rent a motorbike for the day (we just walked across the street and rented one from a little internet cafe- it think it was like $6/ day- def. worth it.). There is definitely more to see in Koh Lanta than just the hotel...

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lola315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2007

An absolute gem.

My friend and I were pack packing in Thailand. We needed a bit of pampering and checked in. We never for one second regretted it.

We were collected and drove to the hotel. Greeted with flower garlands and many smiles. A super easy check in. We were given a garden suite – which are gorgeous. Everything you could possibly want. Comfy beds, soft top quality bed linen and all mod cons.

The spa and treatments were AMAZING. The staff were outstanding. They did absolutely everything to make you feel special. The treatments were excellent value for money. The refreshments were offered at the right times and always the right quantity.

The food was perfect. The atmosphere, ambience, friendly staff, Cleanliness everything about this resort oozes style, sophistication but friendly, nice and relaxing.

You never feel out of place, they can not do enough to please you. It is not snooty like many world class resorts.

The beach is nice, but nothing spectacular. This due to the actual beach and nothing to do with the hotel. The entire beach is yellowish sand not pure white. But with a swimming pool so perfect, the beach feels less important.

Everything about the hotel and spa is perfect… I long to go back

  • Liked — The rooms and Spa
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Missspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2007

I chose this resort after researching it through tripadvisor and was not dissapointed. This place is paradise. When you have trouble finding negative comments about a place, ( even when the English are praising it ) I thought this must be a good place. Our time here went so quickly, 5 nights of pure bliss. Food was above average, great daily activities planned and the pool was sensational. We tried swimming in the ocean once but my wife was stung by some massive jellyfish ( dead one ) so we stuck to the pool... I cannot fault this place at all, Excellent service and the rooms wre made twice a day, this is a true 5 star resort. Say G'day to Sakadan behind the bar, he makes a mean cocktail !! Book this place, it is worth the distance to travel to..
We stayed in the Garden Villa and are pleased, even though the Beach Front would be amazing they are closer to the pool and bar... not that there was ever much noise. ( Except for one night we got together with a couple of Germans, Danes and Swiss and hit the Chang beer pretty hard ! )
I tried to put on pics but the size opn the site are to limited.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2007

My husband and I stayed here in October, the weather was really good a couple of overcast days and one heavy storm one afternoon,this did not bother us at all ,we went to the spa it was so relaxing and the staff there were so lovely.This hotel is simply wonderful we only ate out once as the food in the resturant was so good,Felix the chef and his team really know how to cook,and every thing we beautifully presented and prices are much better than the UK.our room 1037 was so lovely ,the bed so comfortable, the bathroom and shower briliant,every thing you would need was there tea ,coffee ,bar and toiletries super.What makes the Layana stand out is the staff ,everyone of them are the friendliest we have ever met in Thailand and we have been many times before,nothing is to much trouble for them and everything is done with that beautiful thai smile.Saladan town is fine for a bit of shopping and if you want to eat out there are many seafood resturants there.we went on the sunset cruise with Daniel and his team it was a lovely couple of hours with lovely food and drinks and we saw alot of monkeys can really reccomend that trip,we also went to phi phi with a super couple we met,a lovely day hello Shell and Todor.now back to the beautiful Layana if you want a peaceful holiday look no more,this is the place to come you will not regret it .do not be put off with the journey ours went very smoothly.from the time we arrived till the time sadly we left we knew we had found our little piece of heaven,with new friends we made Katie, Chis ,Jason ,Tracy ,Sabine , Stefan and Becky and Steve hope you got that rock on your finger Becky.So thank you everyone sorry we did not meet Bob and Margie, but Michael and Daniel looked after us so well. this place is credit to you do not change a thing its just perfect.One last thing keep our room empty as we are coming back love and thanks to you all and happy "2008 ,sawadee from Sally and Clive

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank salcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2007

My wife and myself stayed at the Layana resort for 5 days in late September, and it was the highlight of the trip. It is one of the best hotels in which I have ever stayed. It is 5-star in all respects. While the hotel and room facilities are excellent, the catering is of a very high standard and the hotel is directly on a beautiful, unspoiled beach, the most memorable aspect of our experience here the quality of service and friendliness of the staff. I would recommend it to anyone seeking a relaxing break.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyseedy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
666 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
690 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,021 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing