We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveller rating
1,509
120
32
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,509
120
32
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tides restaurant garden pavilion pillow menu sands bar sunken bath sundowner cruise coco loco operations manager krabi airport beach suite our honeymoon cold towels fruit kebabs pool staff ice cold water low season flower garlands
Filter
Updating list...
1,154 - 1,159 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We stayed at the Layana for a week in December 2007.

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome and this continues throughout your stay. The staff are excellent and always willing to help, speaking good english.

There is plenty of space around the resort, the rooms are all set in a large and pretty garden and the pool is really nice.

The bar area and restaurant was very good, the food and cocktails excellent. Breakfast offered a large buffet (with egg chef) and the hotel has a large wine list to choose from.

We liked also being able to walk down the beach and having a selection of Thai beach shacks/bars to be able to eat and drink at.

All in all an excellant resort and well recomended.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cowper05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2007

We spent ten days at the Layana Resort during August 2007 and are pleased to say that it lived up to our expectations based on what we read at TripAdvisor.

We stayed in Beach Suite 3 which was out of this world and well worth the extra money over a standard room. We were a little concerned that the noise of the waves might keep us awake at night, but that was not the case at all, and we really enjoyed having our own balcony from which to enjoy the wonderful view.

We ate all our meals at the resort – we found the pricing to be very reasonable (much cheaper than what you would pay in Australia for the same quality) and therefore did not feel the need to look for alternatives.

The staff is extremely friendly and Margie, Bob and Daniel did a great job of making us feel welcome and ensuring everything was just perfect. We really enjoyed the wine tasting they put on and as part of our package we received a free Thai cooking lesson which was a lot of fun. Best of all, they gave us the recipe for the cappuccino mouse which my husband ordered virtually every night, so that we can enjoy this at home.

The spa is also excellent and we felt the prices were very reasonable. The Layana signature massage is well worth experiencing and we found that the 90 minute massages were better value than the 60 minute massages.

The beach directly behind the hotel is very well maintained by the hotel staff, but we noticed if we walked beyond the hotel section, the shoreline was very littered and not at all attractive. If you are hoping for beautiful beaches, you will surely be disappointed. However, as we were there to relax, we spent most of our time enjoying the infinity pool where we were given complimentary cold drinking water and small snacks.

The only aspect of our stay we did not enjoy was the trip there and back from the airport. Because the resort is so secluded, it takes quite some time and effort to reach it - approximately 2.5 hours.

Overall, we found the resort to be excellent value for money and will think about returning in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Sashenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2007

My Partner and I stayed at Layana for 2 wonderful weeks. The weather was better than expected, we knew it was the Green season as it is being known.

We had a Garden Pavilion Room (1012) , no need to upgrade as the room was absolutely superb. The bed was changed daily, towels changed twice a day if needed.

Food is fantastic, we only went out once in the evening to eat at a fish retaurant in Ban Saladan. Absolutely superb and cheap.

Spa facilities were wonderfaul, I had several treatments.

You must go to the Happy hour as most drinks are half price.

We met some wonderful people, must say Hi to Sally and Clive, Steve and Becky (how is the rock?), Kim and Paul and of course all of the staff at Layana.

My partner done his Padi Open Water and Advanced Diving Courses, which took several days. I was known as the Diving Widow.

( Hi to Louise, Miriam, Grant and Emma, enjoyed my Diving with you all Jas.)

There is so much more I could say, but others have already told.

Do not hesitate to book this hotel, it is absolutely WOW.

We will be back.

Tracey and Jason

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank jatrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2007

We have just returned from the most perfect and magical honeymoon at the Layana Resport & Spa. We cannot rate this resort highly enough. Every aspect of our stay was of the highest quality. We stated in a garden room, and it was beautifully appointed. The gardens are immaculate, the restaurant, reception area and bar are lovely, the spa is bliss, the beach is perfect, the food and beverage prices very reasonable. But what really makes this place a heaven on earth is the Layana team. Nothing is too much trouble; every day we were surprised and delighted by the care and attention this dedicated team take. The guiding philosphy of the owners Bob and Margie is understood and demonstrated by all, and we were delighted to spend some time getting to know them on the sunset cruise that they regularly host. A wonderful, wonderful place which we intend to visit again as soon as possible!

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank JaneElsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

There really is nothing to add to the previous tripadvsior reports. We spent two weeks at Layana in November. Our expectations of Layana were incredibly high having read previous reviews. What we experienced was far beyond our wildest dreams. Margie, Bob and their staff are the most wonderful hosts who leave you wanting for nothing. From the time you leave the airport you are transported into a world where you no longer have to think for yourself, absolutely everything is taken care of. Nothing pretentious here, just sheer luxury in the most wonderful surroundings. Bob and Margie go over and above to provide a service that makes you feel like the only guests. We have travelled extensively and been to many wonderful places and hotels in the world, but there has always been a 'but', which has left us questioning whether we should recommend places, but I would recommend Layana to anyone (apart from families as it is not a family resort and children should be actively discouraged). Thank you to Bob and Margie, Michael and Daniel and the rest of the team for the most wonderful time that will stay with us forever. Already dreaming of our return.

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank clarkesplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews