We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Layana is stunning. Most has been said before on other reviews so I will only add a few things:

Definitely arrange transfers with the hotel. We were collected in a air conditioned minivan with reclining leather seats. 2 hrs from Krabi airport, much better than friends who battled on local buses!

Breakfast is amazing. Amazing.

The spa was great - though under renovation right now.

Service is excellent. Yummy fruit sticks and ice cold water while relaxing by the pool.

Garden rooms are lovely and cool and private, with a nice outlook. Very big. Room is serviced twice a day - delicious little cookies at turn down service.

While you are on the island you must absolutely visit the Lanta animal welfare centre, they are doing excellent work with the population of unloved dogs, who are persecuted by some of the locals. Dog walking happy puppies on the beach in the sun is a lovely way to spend an afternoon. See you tube video below.

Best food we had was at time for lime, just up the road from layana. Great beach bar here too, with yummy lemongrass cocktails. Also the cooking school at time for lime is an amazing experience, with lots of yummy dishes to cook and then eat. A must do!

http://m.youtube.com/index?gl=NZ&hl=en-GB&desktop_uri=%2F%3Fgl%3DNZ%26hl%3Den-GB#/watch?v=b3m6JG1y34A

Room Tip: Garden rooms are nice and cool with a beautiful restful outlook. Not sure I would go for a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OfficeFZL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    97
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,123
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Jakob in Defereggen, Austria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

we visited here for the second time this year, the last time being two years ago.
It was great to be back.
All the staff we very friendly and always gave their best to try to make sure we felt comforable.
It was different this time as the hotel has changed hands being owned by MBK.
THe breakfast buffet has been reduced, dinner menu has not changed much during the last two years, also the buffet themes.
We were a little dissapointed because we noticed small things stand out and in my opinion it degraded the hotel and does not meet up to the 5 star standard it used to be.The biggest area of change i would suggest is the food, it's good but not awing...during the last few days of our 10 day stay i to be honest preferred to travel to Saladan or other restaurants close by. Next time e will only book room with breakfast and not halfboard...it gets boring eating here after a while.
As said, these suggestions are only small things and i would return to this resort, but only booking with breakfast not dinner.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bellafiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

First time posting a review on Tripadvisor, but it's hard not to do so after a holiday as wonderful as the one we've just had at the Layana. Put simply, this may be the most beautiful and relaxing place I've ever stayed. We were there for 12 nights, but found ourselves slipping into a blissful unwinding very quickly. This is in no small part due to the particularly charming staff (even by Thai standards, the welcome and friendliness here did not cease to surprise and delight) and the consistently exquisite attention to detail. Something that really marks the Layana out is the sense of a personal touch. The general manager Stefan and his staff are frequently (though unobtrusively) ensuring that everything's in order and to your taste. We came to be very fond of numerous of the bar and restaurant staff, such as Mo and Su.

We stayed in a Garden Pavilion, which was spacious and scrupulously clean, with a view over the lush gardens. The pool and beach are similarly spotless, and whichever you choose to sunbathe on, you'll be regularly brought iced water, cool fruit skewers, and cold towels scented with lemongrass and ylang ylang. I realise I'm starting to sound like a travel brochure but it's hard not to shower this place with praise.

It's easy to do nothing but lounge in the sun, though there are some great excursions and activities if you're that way inclined. We did the Thai cookery lesson (highly recommended: it's fun and you end up making so much food you'll find you've cooked both lunch and dinner for that day); the vegetable carving lesson; and a snorkelling trip. We also availed ourselves fully of the spa, which is fantastic. There's also a somewhat cheaper Layana-run massage tent right on the beach if you fancy being pummelled looking out to sea.

Or of course there are plenty of shacks up and down the beach, along with bars and restaurants. We ate a good number of meals in the Layana itself - because the food is terrific, and though it's relatively expensive by general Thai standards it's still pretty reasonable considering the quality. For a change of scenery, and to save a few baht, we'd recommend Lym's Rice Bowl which is right next door if you head onto the beach and turn left. Great Thai standards and lovely staff. If you continue down the beach that way there are also some sweet little bars. Other local restaurants worth attention are Mr Green's (exit hotel onto the main road and turn left, then head straight and it's on the left hand side) and Three Mums (exit hotel onto road and turn right).

In the interests of balance I'll mention the one niggle to our trip. We booked through Destinology (whom I would also recommend unhesitatingly for their helpfulness and efficiency) and all the airport transfers etc were apparently arranged for us. When we landed at Krabi airport, however, after flying from London for about 15 hours, there was no sign of the Layana transfer. Exhausted and confused, we called the hotel - who claimed they had not been informed of our arrival time. I took this up with Destinology, who emphatically claim they DID make our arrival time very clear... so we'll just have to put this down to some wires getting crossed. In any case, the situation was made good very quickly; the Layana got a driver to us within about 15 minutes and off we went. The transfer back, by contrast, ran with almost absurd polish and precision: transfer by speedboat and car, and then a member of the Layana staff waited in the airport queue with us until we were checked in. I started thinking he was going to come home with us and help us unpack too.

Anyway. The upshot is that this is a glorious place, and everyone involved in its running should be proud of what they've achieved. It is a genuine oasis, and I hope we'll be back.

Room Tip: Garden pavilions are great but I had room-envy of the "Beach 1" bungalow for location righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kowskazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

On our last day of a ten day stay and very sad to go, Resort is wonderful, staff are very attentive could not do enough for us (e.g. remembering coffee / tea preferences etc at breakfast). Resort is very relaxing and perfect to chill out and get away from it all (for those who can't switch off there is complementary Wi-Fi throughout the rooms / resort). Hotel is on a lovely white unspoilt beach (which you also arrive onto by "speed boat" weather / tide permitting). Lovely for a morning / late evening walk before it gets too hot!

The organised trips from the resort are excellent, we did the Phi Phi Island snorkelling trip (approx £55pp) which was fantastic and good value for money - lunch and drinks included. Jungle walk was interesting and not too hard! Few tree trunks to get over! Jimmy (Excursion Manager) was very helpful with advice.

Sunsets were lovely at the Sundowners bar - happy hour is mostly cocktails and beer. (would really like to see wine included which would be the only small criticism of the resort) We ate in the hotel (Tides Restaurant) quite a few nights food was excellent, you get what you pay for! There are also other beach style restaurants along the beach of a good standard and worth a try.

My husband and I had some Spa treatments while here, which were very relaxing and we enjoyed them, however the experience will be better once the new Spa opens (approx late Nov 12) currently the Spa is operating out of a temporary location.

Housekeeping of a very high standard - even putting away clothes / shopping etc and thoroughly cleaning the room each day.

Pool area was lovely to cool off in and pool attendants and service was very good.
For some fun take a Tuk Tuk (50 Baht pp) into nearby Ban Saladan for some shopping at the tourist markets (haggle hard!)

All in all would definitely recommend a stay here and we would seriously consider a return visit.

Room Tip: Request Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataliejwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

We spent a wonderful time in a very private place. Thanks to the friendly staff, making our honeymoon to the best holidays ever. Especially the organized trips were very exiting. Food and room perfect. Spa - for the moment being rebuild - was wonderful.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank reisefux1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Fanatastic staff, allbriefed on clients before you arrive. Numbers of excellent staff ensure tip top service. I timed them when pressing the button by my lounger by the pool for service and never more than 40 seconds before somebody appeared. Restaurant excellent and trips very professinaly organised. A must stay in this part of the world

Room Tip: Very good value out of season, rained one day out of nine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guinness047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at this resort because of a deal while they were renovating and got an extremely good deal. The island itself is a little out of the way making it difficult to travel to and from. This is a luxury resort I am often surprised when reviewers complain about price for food. If you are want to go cheap than go somewhere cheap or stay within the city where there are a lot of choices.

The resort stay was a wonderful stop over for our honeymoon. The staff was wonderful and made us feel very welcome. They pool and beach area is also very picturesque. The restaurant which overlooks the beach making a romantic eating experience. The restaurant also has good selections of thai food and other cuisines. We signed up for a private cooking class where we were able to work with the executive chef in making a couple of our favourite thai dishes. I recommend you to sign up if you have some cooking experience. if you do not, have cooking experience, you will find it difficult.

We highly recommend using the spa during your stay. This resort is a great place to relax, get tanned, and experience romance.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorisli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travelbag, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing