We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I booked this hotel after seeing the reviews on trip advisor and I have to say this is the best hotel that we have ever stayed in. Everything in our opinion was perfect; the grounds are beautiful, the room was spacious and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
We initially booked this hotel for four nights and planned to move on to see more of Krabi, but we decided to stay on for an extra two nights.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2012

v relaxing resort in a great location. the island is much more quiet than samui or phuket - however - there is still lots to do should you wish to leave the pool. great food and fantastic cocktails, the food at the buffet dinners is sublime (quite expensive but worth it). likewise the snorkeling trips - v well organized, great locations, good equipment and great staff. service in general was excellent. I I think they could probably advertise some of the local activities a bit more - however the wifi is excellent so easy to research yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ledasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We've stayed few days at Layana Resort and in overall we were pleased about the stay.
The property is cleaned, quiet with a nice location.
The beach is cleaned and the sea is not crowded so perfect to swim. The beach team is helpful.
The food and service is fine ! Complementary bottles of water in restaurant were appreciated
The F&B manager is very professional and polite so as all his team with always a nice word & greeting
Turn down service is too early :around 7.00pm always when you are preparing yourself to go out for dinner but just a single detail
But the only deception during our stay was the hotel's manager attitude: he welcome you on arrival which we find as a professional attitude
We then noticed that he also greeted " some" guests everyday at diner time. We thought they were guests he had not seen before or whatever as at first we did not pay that much attention to the fact that he did not come to our table because this is what make ur stay a great one. But when on our 4th diner we saw him greeting the 6 tables on 7 located on the same floor, passing near us and meet the table just in front of us, we find it weird for not having a single hello. As a guest you always want to feel special considering the fact that we were staying 6 days and dining almost every night.... but feeling the other way is just not acceptable in a five star hotel! Either you greet everyone or no one!! For sure this single detail left an unpleasant taste at the end of our stay

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cempaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layana_Resort, General Manager at Layana Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Thank you very much for your review & comments. Layana prides itself for its personal touch and close contact with guests by all of us, as part of the overall experience.

I am personally very sorry for your disappointment and there were certainly no bad intentions.

Thank you again for your instant & honest feedback and with best wishes for a Merry Christmas from all of us,

Stefan & Layana Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Layana was the perfect place to enjoy our honeymoon!
We have both travelled to various parts of the world but no other resort comes close in terms of service, warmth/friendliness of staff and quality of facilities. The on site restaurant, especially the buffet breakfast, was more we could ask for.
We recommend signing up to Layana's leisure activities as the same service of third party providers, was of lower quality.
We stayed at Layana for 9 nights and could have easily stayed a few more days to take advantage of the many activities on offer. The ability to also hire a scooter on site made exploring the island a breeze. On the days we decided to stay on site, we lazed about on the beach chairs and the staff catered to all our requirements.
If pampering is what you seek, we also recommend purchasing a spa package as the relaxed and professional staff do an exceptional job in providing the many treatments on offer. We suggest you book your appointments early though!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeSophiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We had some "extra-time" to spend and a friend recommended the Layana, about one hour by minivan and speedboat from Krabi Airport. It was an excellent choice! Quiet, nice rooms, cosy restaurant, friendly staff and a GM who cares. The restaurant offers a selection of international and Thai food, not too big and rather expensive (local standard), but quality and ambiance is first class.Short walk from the hotel along the beach you find shops, bars and local restaurants. If you need a break, take it at Layana's!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grufty70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Our stay at Layana was truly a memorable experience.The service was excellent and staff very friendly.As we needed a break from the mad rush we decided on Layana based on reviews on Trip Advisor,We were not disappointed.It also has a beautiful beach which is right next to the restaurant.Here we found the world's best breakfast ambience....what better way of breaking the fast other than by having it just a few feet away from the ocean?The food was great.They also arrange transfers from and to the airport at Krabi which is about 2 hrs away from the resort.Lots of places to eat within walking distance which serve excellent Thai food .

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAYRO_Travelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The room we where given was in the middle of what I call a very unprivate traffic jam. Everyone going to the pool, food area or to the beach. Walks past our room and deck. No privacy at all. The staff have been unpleasant so far.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank xM0t0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
601 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#10 of 85 in Ko Lanta
828 reviews
8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
0.5 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#17 of 85 in Ko Lanta
466 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £109 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing