We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Beach Holiday/Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Layana Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Beach Holiday/Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

GOOD
+ The staff. Friendly. Helpful. Attentive.
+ The grounds. Immaculate and green.
+ The Cocktails. Great variety, fresh.
+ Happy Hour! 5pm - 7pm at the bar near the pool/beach watching the sunset is a dream.
+ The Pool. Clean, infinity pool onto the beach/ocean looks amazing.
+ The Food. Good quality, great presentation, good mix of Thai and Western.
+ The Spa. I've had better spas to be honest in Thailand, but it certainly was relaxing. It was 30% off on Tuesday, and partner treatments were free on Friday!
+ The Location. The beach is great and very long (it's called Long Beach). There are a few bars along the beach if you're keen to try something different.
+ Adults only. No Kids, it's as amazing as you think it might be!
+ The Boat Transfer. Use this option if possible, it's a little pricey, so do it if you can, it makes the trip shorter and is a relaxing way to arrive.

BAD
- The external tour company we used but booked through the resort was very average. It was quite unlike any other experience offered by the hotel. This is a stretch though - it was hard to come up with anything here!

Summary - Pretty much everything was great. If you're after a relaxing beach holiday with your partner then just go.

Special thanks to Ned and Solae for being so friendly and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: Getting a garden villa away from the pool and on the second level is probably the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZapoAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    95
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
67
1,081
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights in one of the garden pavilions. The numerous awards and high rankings on "best romantic resort" lists are justified.

If you're looking for that peaceful getaway with just you and your special one, then this place is hard to beat. We were perhaps the youngest couple there (late 20s) as most seemed to be European and North American couples in their 30s-50s. However this suited us fine as we were just looking for something quiet and relaxing. The 'no children' policy really does make a big difference to the noise levels of a hotel/resort. The beach is well placed and spaced far enough apart from neighbouring resorts. There were very few members of the public that passed by. As for the beach itself, given that it was the tail end of the wet season, the water and beach was surprisingly clean and clear. I envy the people staying in the better seasons. The resort pool was simple but lovely with a temperature that was just right. The ability to swim to the end of the pool, come up, lean on the edge with your elbows and stare out to see nothing but sand, ocean and the late-afternoon horizon is unmatched. In terms of location, I thought it was balanced well between seclusion and accessibility. Even though the resort is secluded enough to feel out of the way, the main town of Ban Saladan is only about a 5 min tuk tuk ride away with its shopping and restaurants (50 baht per person each way).

Our garden room was excellent. Layana is almost a decade old now (they just had their 9th anniversary party) but the rooms look like they were built last year. Lots of room to move, comfortable bed with the obligatory pillow menu, a couch that might even be more comfy than the bed itself, space to perch more than just one of your luggage bags, spacious balcony with excellent seats... These are the cheap rooms and I was pleasantly surprised at what we got in the end. The only negatives would be to do with our shower. The door didn't quite seal properly, and the water often alternated from hot to cold which was a little annoying. Also, it would have been nice to have a rain shower head like most other 5 star places but now I'm just being *really* picky.

The service here was fantastic. Most other 5 star resorts provide excellent service. What sets this place apart was that we really felt that they were going out of their way to make our experience better. Case in point, the seats were filled at the bar for sunset cocktails and we told them we were ok with sitting at the back. Instead, they moved the chairs and table onto the beach for us so we would get front row. It was also good to see Ned, one of the managers, out and about frequently greeting the guests and making sure everyone was satisfied. It added that extra personal touch to the entire stay. And having the reception staff and managers come outside to wave you goodbye as you leave in the minivan? That pretty much sums up the service.

Cocktails are half price for sunset hours (5-7pm), and we didn't have a single dud drink during our entire stay. Everything was great. You should really try the Tom Yum cocktail whilst you get the chance in Thailand. I've had one at a different 5 star resort in Thailand which I thought was fantastic, but this one surpassed it. The food here was also good. Not fantastic, but certainly tasty. I was hoping for more variety at the breakfast buffet, but what was served was generally quite good. The main suggestion I'd have to the resort would be to cover the fruits as there were always lots of flies and little flying insects hovering on and around them every morning. We ended up heading into town to eat most of our lunches and dinners. Tasty and much less expensive. There's also a few restaurants within 10 min walking distance from the resort (turn right at the beach or turn left at the main road).

We didn't try their spa but that was in part due to the beach massages that they offered. We had a massage there everyday, and considering the price (400 baht for a one hour Thai massage), we felt that we didn't need to spend 4-5 times the price at the spa for the luxurious services there. Given all the awards and reviews though, I'm sure it's great.

Oh, and just FYI, there's also a laundry just outside of the resort on the main road (turn left) which will do your laundry at a much cheaper price (1kg of clothes for 40 baht). No complaints with our clothes when it came back. It's great if you have a large load of washing to do as we did.

All in all, our stay at Layana was wonderful with only the slightest and pettiest of issues. I would be more than happy to stay here again if I was to come back to Koh Lanta.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs garden pavilion room for a little bit more of a view and request one 'facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superted84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

From the moment we arrived to the time we departed we had a truly wonderful holiday experience. Impeccable service, lovely accomadation & immaculate grounds set in a beautiful location. Warm, welcoming, friendly management & staff who were all very attentive making it quite personal but not intrusive. Any queries or requests we had were met with speed, efficiency and a smile...nothing was too much trouble. There was an extremely high standard of house-keeping also the entire time we were a Layana - many thoughtful little touches. Whether you are lounging by the beautiful pool or enjoying a drink at the bar while watching the suset it made for a delightful time. We were reluctant to dine at the Tides Restaurant due to previous poor reviews we had read but we did enjoy a very nice dinner there one evening & a few lunches by the pool which were all tasty & very good, so much better than we anticipated. Breakfast was also nice with a good selection to choose from, my only request would be to include some GF bread & cereal in the offering. The restaurant Kua Kristina which is a few minutes drive turning left from the entrance of the resort we recommend to try if dining out, good food & great value for money. Special thanks to the GM - Stefan, Operations Manager - Ned, Leon & all the terrific staff for helping to make our time at Layana so amazing. So if you want to indulge yourself this is the place to stay. We didn't want to leave and we will definitely will return...the sooner the better ! Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed in some of the most beautiful hotels in the world during the past 40 years and the Layana is up there with the very best.
It is not just the location or the quality and cleanliness of the rooms it is the total commitment of the management team and the staff to ensure that your stay is perfect. The restaurant serves the most wonderful food from a varied and interesting menu. The special barbecue and theme nights are a joy.
This hotel is for the discerning traveller, it is for adults only so no screaming kids in the pool and restaurant, don't get me wrong, I love kids, I have 4 delightful grandchildren but it is a joy to stay somewhere so perfect that has the courage to say 'no children' not even passing trade for lunches and dinners.
Stephan you can be very proud of your hotel, thank you to you and your staff for looking after us, it was a joy.
We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The staff is just wonderful. Ned, the operations manager, made sure that everything we needed was taken care of. They even have a pillow menu! Food was good, not excellent, but I think that's how it is everywhere on Koh Lanta (compared to Bangkok, at least).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in Layana resort for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. Service is excellent and staff is trying to please you. Room are very clean as well as the ground in resort. We were there in mid October and the sea was rough and murky so we spent most of the time around the swimming pool. Staff always provide you with cold water and ocassionally fresh fruits. Exercise room is adequate. Breakfast buffet is adequate and Champagne served on Sundays. Food for lunch and dinner is extra but good quality and not as overpriced as drinks at the bar but happy hours from 5-7pm with breathtaking view of sunset. We went to the local restaurant just 10 min walk from the resort once which was reasonable and spicy so be careful and request no spice if you are sensitive. There is laundry service just outside of the resort and a few small stores. Bicycle rental is free and you may rent scooter for 24 hours for a small fee. Spa is very nice with regular thia masssage 500bt. If someone wants cheaper walk 10 min on the beach to the right from swimming pool you can get the same massage for 250 next to Pirates bar. Hotel arranged a taxi for us to Krabi and that was really helpful. On our departure manager (Ned) came to say goodbye that made us feel very important. Thank Ned. I would recommend this hotel if you would like to have some luxury stay in Lanta.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanfom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This place is stunning - from the gardens to the bar located on the sand to the spa to the rooms!
You won't want for anything here - pillow menu, fresh fruit in your room daily, beautiful staff who are there for your every need, a fully equipped spa/salon which allows you to truly relax (at a reasonable price!). Right on the sand you have the beach when you need it or the pool which is ample in size right in the centre of it all.
I stayed with 3 friends and we checked in the day after the renovations had finished - what a beautiful place which is worth every penny.
The food was to die for - we ordered the same meal two nights running because it was so good!! Then we congratulated the chef personally because we were so impressed.
Stephan (the GM) runs a tight ship and hats off to him and his team for offering 5 star service on such a sleepy island. Koh Lanta will soon take off - get there on your next Thailand trip!
This is one of the top 3 resorts I have stayed at - just divine.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BekGiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#9 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Baan KanTiang See
Baan KanTiang See
#5 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Holiday Gems and Odigeo so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing