We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best . Layana spa and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Today 12 December 2013
My husband and I are presently staying at this resort. I can describe as amazing . We have been thoroughly spoilt. The staff are amazing. The. Infinity pool is too die for. We are staying another week and only wish we could stay longer. Nothing is too much for the staff. The rooms are the best, for me the big plus is the bottled water they give you all of the time.
There are two things I would like the general manager to think about for the future .
1 all inclusive
2 non alcoholic beverages to be included in the rates

Congratulations to all who work there. The Barans

Room Tip: If you want peace and quite please do come
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annieb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Layana Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The selling point of this small resort is exceptional service. Rooms are great too. Restaurant is probably one of the best I've tried in Thai resorts. Problem with Thailand, rather than this property is ridiculously priced wines, I would avoid ordering wine in that country alltogether.
The only personal drawback I can think about is the area, there are more interesting planes down south imho, but no such hotels there. Rawi Warin looks cheap and tacky by comparison with Layana.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay at Layana. We could not fault anything from the moment we were picked up at Krabi airport until the moment we left. The speedboat is a great way to arrive, The garden rooms are very spacious and comfortable with a well equipped large bathroom. The pool area and beach are lovely. All the staff are attentive without being over the top and nothing is too much trouble. Good wine tasting evening on a Tuesday and a happy hour everyday.

Thank you very much to Wit for a really enjoyable island tour, he is very knowledgeable about the island and was happy to answer all our questions and find out about our lives in England too.

The location is great, there are lots of restaurants and bars within an easy walk either along the road in both directions or along the beach. We ate somewhere different every lunchtime and evening, the food was good everywhere we went.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alhglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is an excellent mini resort on the beach of beautiful Andaman sea. The serves is amazing except of the mentality to be afraid of everything if they wrong a little. Upon our early check-out was a mistake because of the front staff. Wу ordered a transfer from the third company at 7am. But when he arrived they said the driver that we would like to have a car at 8am. ARE YOU KIDDING US, I have asked later (it was the car to the airport!). They never ask us about departure time but decided that it could be 8am. 8. Why not 11? Pm.
We had to stress a bit. Had to call the transport company& Had to wait. Likely, the car was still nearby and we were able to go at 7.25am. But....
The resort is nice itself. Excellent spa, especially price/quality. Good breakfasts. Awesome cocktail happy hours, and following dinner which we found extremely reasonable priced.
It was rainy that days but very good! The only one more "-" is a level of humidity in our room and their version of "king-size bed" which was 2 queen with hole between them. Shame, guys=)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our second time this year in the Layana resort. It's a remarkable hotel. If you are looking for a multi award wining hotel, adults only hotel (no persons under the age of 18) serenity and beauty, this is the hotel for you. The hotel has gone a major refurbishment recently, it looks very good.

The service is truly impeccable in all departments.

We stayed again in Beech 3 Villa which has uninterrupted sea views, its 50 meters from the sea and 5 meters from the pool. True bliss. The cleanliness in the villa was immaculate, turndown service every evening.

The Wi Fi is available in the villa free of charge but is incredibly slow.

On Sundays there is a Champagne breakfast and a couple of times a week cocktail drinks around the pool.

The restaurant serves delicious dishes Thai and European with an extensive wine list.

There are various excretion with the Layana 1 boat, we highly recommend it.

I requested an oil burner in the villa with lemon grass oil, the operations manager Khun Ned went out from the hotel to buy one and put in our villa. Remarkable. Thank you Khun Ned, it made all the difference.

We would like to make a special thank you for the GM Mr Stefan Heintze for everything he has done for us and make our stay so relaxed, Jimmy the leisure manager as always charming and very helpful, the new F & B manager Lion Imhof is delightful and helpful nothing is a problem.

We are looking forward to our return coming April 2014.

Room Tip: Try Villa Beech 3
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sea98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed in Oct 2011 (not dec 2012). Only just joined trip advisor & this hotel is worthy of my first review. Things may have changed but when we were there, it was brilliant. Yes it could be seen as expensive for Thailand but its so worth it. You receive special treatment from the moment you arrive. Staff were great, they love the chance to chat with you to practice their English which we thought was great (and their English was fantastic). The garden house was great standard, very clean as were the pools. Loved the happy hour cocktails at sunset. Day trip on their speedboat to and around ko phi phi highly recommended as well. We didn't use the spa so can't comment on that but did get a great Thai massage from a beach hut just outside the hotel beach area. All in all, an amazing experience.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AJ- E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Enjoyed our holiday so much in this gorgeous hotel. It really is the last word in comfort and friendliness. I am not going to repeat all the things that others have said, altho I agree with everything, but only add one or two extra delights.
The meet and greet at the airport – what a lovely welcome. A smiling welcoming driver and a luxury ‘limo’ complete with comfy cushioned seats, cold lemony towels , cold drinks and a pop up TV with DVDs to watch if you are too bored with the scenary! As we arrived in October the speedboat was not in operation so it was limo all the way. On the way home (Nov) the speedboat took us to the mainland where the same limo awaited to whisk us to the airport where another staff member was there to greet us and help us and our luggage thro check in. It was such a nice touch to the end of the holiday.
Last thing about the hotel apart from the wonderful staff (I would not name any as they were all equally wonderful), you do not need to take -hair dryer (it’s a proper good one not bathroom wall mounted), toiletries (all good quality and plentiful), beach bag (lovely straw bag in room), mosquito spray and plug in provided, slippers, robe, beach towels-plentiful, including for trips out.
OK there must have been some downside? Well for us it was the lack of atmosphere in the bar at nights.
We were glad that we had only booked bed and breakfast because altho we had several wonderful meals at the hotel, we also much enjoyed the bars along the beach and in Saladan. Do not be afraid to eat out, we had some wonderful food and were never ill. A few of our favourites were:
Along the beach – to the left
Friends Bar. Only tiny but we were made so welcome by the family Nang and brother Noy who run it and Mama who does a bit of everything including massages. Also Nangs two tiny boys who run around providing the entertainment.
A bit further along is Lyms rice bowl – great food, run by two Chinese ladies who are a mine of information.
Along the beach –to the right
Long Beach Bar – great atmosphere and food –check out the barbequed fish
Pirates Bar great entertainment, snake shows and fire acts and a pool/snooker table, and great crowd of friendly ‘pirates’.
Thai Cat- wonderful food and waiters.
In Saladan
The Frog – doesn’t look much from outside but at the back a beautiful walled garden. The chef is Swedish and the food a mix of Swedish and Asian is to die for.
These are just a few but everywhere we were treated with such kindness and a big smiley welcome and it is all very cheap and great quality.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have more privacy
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
563 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,087 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £107 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing