We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less is real class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Less is real class”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We are not resort people and came to Thailand for a resort holiday with a little trepidation.
Our Thai experiences were of back- packing 40 years ago.
Layana just exceeded our expectations in every way. This is not glitzy granite bathrooms and gold taps but understated but exceptional service from wonderful staff, led by a highly visible manager,who greeted us and saw us off.
Fantastic food and a warm, friendly but very,very classy atmosphere.
We will DEFINITELY return.
Roger and Sue. Melbourne

Room Tip: The rooms don't have views and are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,314
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,153
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great Hotel, small amount of rooms/guests, excellent facilities friendly staff.

The attention to detail is very high here, and the staff are great, in particular Wit went above and beyond the call of duty.

I booked diving via the Dive Shop (Phoenix Diving have the concession) and the PADI training in the swimming pool.

The breakfasts in the hotel were superb, really really good. Typical 5Star, but done very well. I.e. they had health juice shots such as Ginger and Tamarind. The only thing I gave the swerve to was the butter which was Thai style (ie very sweet). I also had to leave the cinnamon buns, but for the reason that they were too more-ish! I liked that breakfast was open for 6:30am. Due to adjustments for time differences and a few anxiety stresses I woke up early every day, so went for a barefoot jog along the beautiful beach in the company of fishermen bringing their shore-nets in and 2/3 friendly beach dogs. Then had a great breakfast looking over pristine surrounds. The coffee was great, this being something that is important to us!

We stayed in a Garden room, it was very very nice, with massive bed and large bathroom and balcony.

My wife and I only ate in the Hotel once in the evening, and we found the food patchy, the fish grill was very bland, but the starters and deserts were well prepared and presented.

For lunches we ate in the beach restaurants, walk left for 300m to the "Pejinda" restaurant and you get a great meal for peanuts.

Asides from that I didn't rate the elephant trek (felt a bit iffy, don't want to say "cruel" but not enjoyable). We rated a motor scooter from a shop in the resort complex down the beach to the right, we paid 200 baht per day, this being around £4. No real paperwork, you just leave passport as insurance for the bike lender.

The best Thai restaurant we found was Krua Kritsana - check reviews on T/A. Red Snapper was also very good if you want a European meal.

The Layana was a great introduction to Thailand. Next time we would mix Hotels with beach bunglows and stretch out the holiday for 3-4 weeks.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs Garden room and you get a better view from the glass window in the bathroom, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmdenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights near the end of a 30 day trip and it was the highlight of our trip. This is a true 5 star property in every way.

The service is exceptional. Being only a 50 room property, you never feel crowded and always at home. It is the small things they and the attention to detail which make this resort truly special and truly intimate. Whether is be a pillow menu on your bed, sincere smiles or your towels laid out for you when you visit the pool.

Pool- amazing views and very intimate. Sunset is spectacular.
Restaurant- great selection of cuisine. 5 star quality.
Beach- not busy at all, feels private.
Rooms- very comfortable oversized king sized beds, sunken soaker and spacious balcony.

I have been fortunate to stay at many 5 star hotels across North America and Asia. This has been the best all round in my opinion.

Only two small things which I feel the property can do to improve....

1. Upgrade the shower heads. Very basic and similar to a typical, standard hotel.
2. Have universal pricing at the two bars. I can get a cocktail for 100 baht cheaper at the sand bar...50m away from the main bar.

Stay here...you will not regret it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank burley32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This is probably the 4th Time I am here to Layana, and every time my wife and I would just consider this as the only resort to stay at when we come to Koh Lanta.
The staff is amazingly friendly.
It has just been renovated not too long ago, they had pick us up from the airport, their boat to ferry us to the resort is nice, comfortable and the only way to go.
The Spa, wow, the spa is good.

The people here make a special effort to make you feel at home.

Thanks for making it such a relaxing holiday for my wife and I.
We will be back again!

The dive operator, Phoenix Divers Koh Lanta, amazing people as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We are at Layana Resort for two weeks and we are writing this review whilst we are here. We have travelled and stayed at many five plus star resorts all over Asia and the Caribbean and this resort ranks high in our opinion. The General Manger and the Operations Manger make a special effort to welcome every guest personally and they are also there to bid you goodbye when you leave. The Speedboat ride straight to the shores of their resort is nothing but magical. The staff are always accommodating pleasant and go out of their way to make you welcome at all times. The resort accommodation is excellent, the beach and the pool are perfect in every aspect. I have no reservations in recommending this resort to everyone. Thank you to all the staff and management for your unwavering attempt to make your guests stay at the resort a memorable one.
Anne & Jit Baran

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Today 12 December 2013
My husband and I are presently staying at this resort. I can describe as amazing . We have been thoroughly spoilt. The staff are amazing. The. Infinity pool is too die for. We are staying another week and only wish we could stay longer. Nothing is too much for the staff. The rooms are the best, for me the big plus is the bottled water they give you all of the time.
There are two things I would like the general manager to think about for the future .
1 all inclusive
2 non alcoholic beverages to be included in the rates

Congratulations to all who work there. The Barans

Room Tip: If you want peace and quite please do come
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annieb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The selling point of this small resort is exceptional service. Rooms are great too. Restaurant is probably one of the best I've tried in Thai resorts. Problem with Thailand, rather than this property is ridiculously priced wines, I would avoid ordering wine in that country alltogether.
The only personal drawback I can think about is the area, there are more interesting planes down south imho, but no such hotels there. Rawi Warin looks cheap and tacky by comparison with Layana.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoruskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
555 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,072 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Destinology, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing