We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every possible way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had just over a week at the Layana for our honeymoon in April. We stayed in an ocean suite.

The hotel ia absolutely wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble.
The restaurant is excellent, and you can even get Wagu beef which if you haven't had it, you should. Best in the world like Kobe beef. All the food is great. Breakfast is a feast too.

Every day by the pool a free fruit kebab arrives at noon followed by an iced towel and there is iced water brought constantly. The staff are very attentive in everything they do and they really work hard to make your holiday fantastic.
The suite was great, a top floor for watching life go by and beautiful furnishings. Everything works just right, from the air conditioning to the Ice man coming with the delivery in the evening.

At sunset you can see the lights around the pool light up beautifully on the trees and then watch the sun go down over Phi Phi island.
I cannot praise this hotel and staff enough, especially Sureeporn and Lion.
Looking forward to going again sometime!
Thanks for the best honeymoon you can have!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 1,558 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you are looking for a definition of a superb, personalized service – come and see how they do it in Layana. And we are not talking about the obvious stuff, of being responsive and efficient. The staff knows what you want and offers it to you on the nicest way, sometimes even before you ask for it. For example: during breakfast, they would ask us if we want another latte right after we finish the first one. And they remember that you like it extra hot.
In general, there is a strong feeling of generosity that is combined with the service. They are not trying to sell you extra services or products. They give you the feeling that they truly care. For example: they constantly fill your glass with icy water near the pool, put a wrapped cookie on your pillow in the evening, let you choose between a variety of pillow types and so on.
But don’t think that service is the only advantage of this place. The location is magnificent; you can constantly hear the waves and the staff makes sure to keep the place quit and isolated from external visitors. You get the feeling of a private island.
The rooms and facilities are extremely luxurious and well maintained. The food and the drinks are great. We had one of the best breakfasts that we had in our life. Don’t miss the pastry – there is a real genius artisan on board. Lunch by the pool or dinner overlooking the ocean are also a great experience, very tasty.
Again – perfection. Not a bit less.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asaflew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from our 3rd stay at Layana and it just seems to get better and better. It has everything you expect from a 5* luxury hotel but what really sets it apart from other hotels is the quality of the staff and management which are second to none. If you are travelling to Layana make sure you specify their own transfer service as this is far superior to 3rd party transfers and will ensure the luxury experience starts the moment you arrive in Krabi Airport.
The rooms are really nice, the breakfast is excellent and the beachfront location is superb. You have a choice of sun-beds; either around the pool or on the fabulous beach. You will be served ice cold water throughout the day as well as fruit sticks.
We ate solely at the hotel (as most of the beach restaurants had closed for low season), but the food choice and quality in the main restaurant was excellent.
The spa is an amazing experience.
Last word has to go to the staff and management, they really are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mikey97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We spent 13 nights at layana in May and echo the other reviews. The rooms are lovely, the housekeeping is Immaculate, the beach is beautiful, good location with a few restaurants you can wander to along the beach however you do need to hire a motorbike or get the tuk tuck into the main town Saladan. The only reason why I didn't rate this hotel as 5 star is the breakfast. Let me start by saying that I do have high standards and have been lucky enough to stay in some fabulous 5 star hotels around the world and that is why I would expect more than a buffet at breakfast, the actual food is lovely and service very good with fabulous staff who can't do enough to help, however it is the system - you help yourself to buffet which is fairly average selection and can order eggs at the egg station ie omelette, scrambled etc, you go to the counter and place your order and then they bring it to you which is kind of pointless - either take the order and serve it or don't bother quite frankly. More often than not even if we ordered our breakfasts together they would come at separate times or my hubby would get the rest of his breakfast from the buffet and wait for his eggs but the other stuff would be cold by the time they eggs came, I hope this doesn't sound really trivial as I would definitely still recommend the hotel however until they improve the breakfast service wouldn't rate as 5 star.

Room Tip: We stayed in a garden villa which was lovely, wouldn't bother to upgrade to a sea view as the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atennant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

A regular visitor to Thailand we wanted a real escape to recharge batteries and found it at Layana. A long journey to get there but worth it. A most tranquil setting Thai style with greenery all around and the most stunning of beaches. A beautiful room where every little detail had been thought through, within a few steps of the private beach. Only one restaurant but it was enough with it's wide menu catering well for us vegetarians (a rare find). Set right on the edge of the beach alongside a cool bar where you could watch the sun go down. We could not have asked for better service from the warm, friendly and very helpful team at Layana. We cannot think of enough good things to say about the whole experience and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Murphy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

For a minute right there at Layana I kind of thought that it was a reality that I have been looking for for a long long time....We had a long drive for 6 hrs from Patong, almost 2hrs waiting on the queue at the ferry and once we got to the ramp open the car door the staff greeted us with big smile bringing refreshments, the car's gone checked-in's done and luggage are in room before we know it. The view was breathtaking right from the start at the lobby spot, we were escorted to our room, one with the best view of the Garden Pavilion right by the pool, through and through we can see the beach and hear the slapping sound of the wave from our room, the resort was very peaceful and quiet though.

Went running to the beach after unpacking, all the pool staff are really attentive helping with the sunbeds and towels and they never let us get dehydrated as the cold water, fresh fruits and cold towels keep coming or whenever we need one. Talking about service, this is the next level!

Breakfast was fantastic with ample of choices and real fresh ingredients with excellent quality, love those mild smoked salmon they have. On Sunday morning breakfast with free flow sparkling wine, don't I love it!

We want to try everything during our 6 night stay but 3 day straight we were at Linger Longer Spa, World class, absolutely! The Salt Room is different, guess two times were not enough. We went to 4 island trip which arranged by the resort and it was an amazing experience and kind of the trip of a lifetime on the way back the tide went down extremely fast and the boat got stuck in the mangrove, we, 8 guests and 3 staff, stuck there with the boat floating dead on the mud having white wine laughing our lungs out waiting for the rescued boat, wasn't it a real surprised hi-light of the trip!!

Room Tip: Only Beach Suite or Garden Pavilion no. 38. Try to book it way in advance, truly worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sholadda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We've just got back from the Layana and were so impressed with it! Transfer to and from the property was incredibly smooth - you are met by the friendly Layana airport representative who takes you to the most amazingly comfortable minivan. He even helps get checked in when leaving!
Lots of reviews mention the quality of the rooms, which are large, quiet and well furnished. There's lots of room for luggage and the daybed is really useful - there is even a washing line provided for the balcony that can be pulled out if you need it. The toiletries provided are lovely and replaced regularly. The water in taps and showers is all a little bit salty and so can't be drunk - plenty of bottled water is provided.
We spent most of our time at the resort by the large pool as the beach was just too hot (for us). This was just such a luxury experience - staff help you to towels and set up the loungers and umbrellas for you. They bring you iced water constantly and scented iced towels (and complimentary fruit sticks) once a day. The spa is worth a special mention - it is expensive by Thai standards but we used it twice. It's incredibly peaceful and well designed - each treatment room has its own outdoor bathroom attached which was a thrill. I had a seaweed wrap and then a head and back stress massage, both highly recommended. The spa staff were lovely, particularly the manager who took care to greet me for both treatments and introduce the therapists.
The food at the Layana was good and we had lunch there every day. The drinks are brilliant and there is a wide non-alcoholic range (try the smoothies!). It was good to have a choice of two restaurants (Sands was more casual and a bit cheaper and you could rock up in your swimwear, Tides was more formal). You could order the food from Tides by the pool... Both Thai and western dishes were on offer - best things were the Layana burger, mussaman curry and fried rice. We ordered a couple of dishes we didn't like (a green curry that was far too strong in flavour, not just spice and satay that was very dry) but staff were quick to rectify. The breakfasts were lovely and the range of options vast - I had a freshly made waffle every day because they were so good. Healthy juice shots were great - beetroot, ginger, lemongrass etc.
My only suggestions for improvement are that there was a bit of a breakfast tea shortage on a couple of days, I had to go and pilfer it from other tables - so more tea please! The other is that the hotel laundry service was very expensive, even by UK standards. If it had been a bit cheaper we would have used it rather than the laundry at the resort entrance.
All in all a great stay and we were sad to leave - I could definitely have stayed another week as there is a lot to do on the island outwith the resort, as well as at the Layana itself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoGo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
617 reviews
8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.5 mi away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#11 of 85 in Ko Lanta
849 reviews
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £108 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing