We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for privacy?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looking for privacy?”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed from August 9th till August 12th 2014, currently still staying here, superb friendly staff, excellent service, very nice room, fav spot in the room, hhmm...definitely the daybed, nice pool and beach, location about 2 1/2 hrs from krabi airport..the taxi/van will take u twice with the ferry to koh lanta island, 2500 baht per van, van got wifi. Very nice breakfast buffet, but on the room service, we ordered room service spaghetti bolognese and pad thai noodle, average taste, but the rest nothing else i would say other than i would definitely recommend this hotel for those looking for privacy and quiet time for couple.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kucak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,302
    98
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,144
25
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed there 3 years for our honeymoon, it was so far the best resort we ever visited, we really had a great time and we liked everything there. The transportation took us one hour from krabi airport, you can choose the take ferry from Phuket only if peak season. We Want to visit again but the price has gone up so much.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjliuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted to relax for a couple of days and looked for a hotel in a large radius that was good and within budget. We had huge expectations before we went (the reviews are raving) but it was met and even surpassed!!

The Good:
- Great rooms, nice bathroom, clean
- The hospitality is beyond good. I stayed at top tier brand hotels that where nowhere near the Layana's level. Stefan and his crew add a personal touch to it which makes it feel as if you are a guest in their home. This can sometimes feel slightly too much but it never went beyond the border.
- The price/value both of the rooms (€125 when we went) and the inhouse dining is very good
- The 'no kids' policy. This was new to us but once you are there at the poolside you realise how relaxing it is to have no kids running around.

Room for improvement:
- The whole resort is starting to show a little bit of wear and tear even though they keep it spotless
- Koh Lanta is definitely not a place you need to go. The destination is really the Layana.
- The weather was not great when we where there. But instead of complaining about it the staff turns it into an oportunity and provides everybody with a 1000THB bar tab in a personal letter apologizing for the bad weather!?!

Have you ever heard such a thing? Wow!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

It was our second trip to Layana and hopefully not the last one. Since last time the bar area has been changed and is really nice now - with direct access to the beach and view over the sea, which we enjoyed especially for our last drink before bedtime. Furthermore a new beach area had been created with comfy lounge furniture, where we celebrated our friends birthday in style.
At arrival we had a nice surprise: a towel arrangement in form of two elephants on our bed in the midst of flower petals and a bottle of champagne to honour us as returning guest.
The staff is very friendly, the Tides restaurant offers excellent food and the General Manager Stefan Heintze seems to be discreetly all over the place to take care of every guest and make him feel special. We loved the Wine Tasting Get Together for the Guest, the sundowner boat trip - thanks again to the whole staff who made our stay so unforgettable.

Room Tip: Garden Pavillion rooms on the right hand side of the site (when facing the sea from the reception) h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at layana for one week early July. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately maintained and only 50 rooms. The staff are fantastic, obliging and always smiling. Unfortunately koh lanta was incredibly quiet as it always is in July so as a solo traveller, the hotel was a little too quiet for me, however I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to a couple as a perfect romantic getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mupp007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown Penang
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I went to Layana with my wife and overall, the experience was just awesome.
We were greeted by the staffs and the Manager with a welcoming drink.

Everyone there was very friendly and greet you anytime you bump into them. We stayed in a Garden Pavillion Room which was clean and very comfortable.

They organize a Wine Get Together every Tuesday and were invited. It is a very nice concept where free wine is served with finger foods while you relax and the Manager/Supervisor walks around, chit chats with everyone to find out what they think about their stay.

The place and surrounding is so relaxing, quiet and calm. You'll feel very pampered staying there. The only sound you can hear is the nice music of waves hitting the shore.

There is a massage place right beside the beach but kinda hard to book because there is only one masseur working. Remember, this massage service is not the one inside the hotel compound.

Dinner and breakfast was good at Tides Restaurant. Breakfast was much more exciting as the food was fresh and there is a menu handed to you with variety of choices. You could order and they'll cook fresh for you. There is also choices of coffee from Black, Espresso to Latte and Cappucino.

Overall, our stay there was awesome and pampered!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishPriya1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have just spent a glorious week in this hotel. Absolutely everything including the way staff treat you is luxury. We are spending a month in Thailand and I wish so much we could spend more time here. We had some gorgeous treatments in the spa. The food in Tides restaurant is top class we had a different 3 course meal every night and each one was as good as if not better than the last. Such a stunning place very sad to leave! Rooms beautiful pool area fabulous can't rate it all highly enough! One tip....be prepared to put on a few pounds you won't be able to resist the amazing food & cocktails!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roisin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,055 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing