We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon resort”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights to finish a honeymoon of exploring different parts of Thailand. Having just come from 137 Pillars House hotel in Chiang Mai (really recommend this!) our expectations were set to be a little disappointed in comparison. Yet we were pleasantly surprised with how much we loved this hotel. Not quite at the top end of luxury - the room furniture had a slightly dated feel, lack of a good shower, and a few cracks in the floor tiles stood out. However, first impressions aside we enjoyed our time here enormously. Housekeeping had prepared a beautiful bed setting with towels and petals, and drawn a lovely flowery bath. They also brought a complimentary bottle of champagne for our honeymoon which was a very nice touch. The bed was hard - very hard which is surprising since they go to the trouble of providing a pillow menu - but actually very good for my back and we slept well all 5 nights.
The resort itself is absolutely beautiful. The staff are really what make it luxury, paying every attention and making sure you are always having the best time you can. We were disappointed not to be able to go on a trip to Phi Phi but the events manager Wit made every effort he could to round up enough people to put on another trip! He didn't quite manage, but we did a longtail boat trip snorkelling around 4 islands which was perhaps better if not in terms of beauty, definitely in terms of serenity and fewer crowds. The pool service was good and we were lucky enough to have sunshine the whole time we stayed. The attendants kept coming to refill your water and if your old drink had got warm, they replaced with an ice cold one. The pool has a stunning view of the beach and islands was big enough to have a good swim also. It remained peaceful at all times as most guests were couples seeking a relaxing time.
The Happy hour during sunset time was fab and we went down every day to watch the sunset from the bar area. The free wine evening was a nice way to talk to other guests and hotel staff Lion and Ned did a good job circulating and making sure everyone felt welcome. We were fortunate enough to be staying on 12th August which was the Queen's birthday and Mother's day in Thailand. The hotel had put on a special Thai buffet and the food was incredible, however I did order a Pad Thai from a cooking station which never materialised but my husband's food all arrived and I was pretty full anyway so it wasn't a huge inconvenience. The evening was beautiful - they had a live traditional band and at 8pm we sang anthems by candlelight which was very moving. It was a chance to try other traditional foods which weren't on the daily menu which we very much enjoyed.
One of our highlights was borrowing mountain bikes and cycling down to 'Old Town' at the bottom of Ko Lanta. Everyone we spoke to afterwards seemed to think we were mad!? But it was only 15km to get there and we rode at a very leisurely pace enjoying the absolutely stunning scenery of raw, untouched Thai island life. I would very much recommend this - it needn't be strenuous - it took us about 1hour to get there whilst stopping lots and going very very slowly. The shops and restaurants and view down there is worth it, though I feel the scenery you pass on the way would be missed if travelling there by moped!
We had a brilliant extremely relaxing time here and would definitely come again. We were fortunate with the weather though I know it is a gamble - however the 'low season' rates are unbeatable and it really was excellent value for money. The staff are fabulous and know how to make you feel like a valued guest, remembering your breakfast preferences and drink orders, coming to chat to you but never overstepping the mark. Clearly it was wonderful as I seem to have written an essay! Absolute bliss - thank you all, especially Joy who waited on us most evenings with an unwavering, genuine smile.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bewa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,280
    97
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
68
1,123
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Ct.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a great hotel and Spa. Right on the beach but with a beautiful pool. The Spa staff and services were wonderful and not expensive. The food and beach bar were great and you could eat and have cocktails right on the beach. The staff was very helpful. Rooms were very nice and comfortable.

The only problem was when you wanted to leave the facility and go out for the day or evening. They never seemed to actually know what the excursion involved. They sent us on Elephant Rides that were abusive and not at all what was promised. They sent us to the National Park without an understanding of what we would find there. Not much! My Sunset cruise left us in town with no pickup for over an hour. Not what you expect from a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sillygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Had a wonderful time. Looking forward to going back again. Attention to details and warm kindness of staff was lovely and memorable. Hired a scooter to explore the island. Resort location near to main centre of the island. Food was divine and the view spectacular. Rooms were clean and spacious. Looking forward to going back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff are what make the place. Attentive without being intrusive, very friendly and always willing to advise. We stayed for three nights as part of our honeymoon and enjoyed every minute. Koh Lanta in low season is very low key, so don't expect much socialising or night life, but this is the perfect place to relax. The rooms are spacious and well appointed (although could use toothpaste). We had a massage in the spa and whilst expensive when compared to lots of places in Thailand, it is a luxury resort and we left feeling incredible. Drinks are reasonably priced for the type of resort, especially at happy hour.

If you're looking for a relaxing romantic break then this place is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Theo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed from August 9th till August 12th 2014, currently still staying here, superb friendly staff, excellent service, very nice room, fav spot in the room, hhmm...definitely the daybed, nice pool and beach, location about 2 1/2 hrs from krabi airport..the taxi/van will take u twice with the ferry to koh lanta island, 2500 baht per van, van got wifi. Very nice breakfast buffet, but on the room service, we ordered room service spaghetti bolognese and pad thai noodle, average taste, but the rest nothing else i would say other than i would definitely recommend this hotel for those looking for privacy and quiet time for couple.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kucak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We actually stayed there 3 years for our honeymoon, it was so far the best resort we ever visited, we really had a great time and we liked everything there. The transportation took us one hour from krabi airport, you can choose the take ferry from Phuket only if peak season. We Want to visit again but the price has gone up so much.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rjliuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We wanted to relax for a couple of days and looked for a hotel in a large radius that was good and within budget. We had huge expectations before we went (the reviews are raving) but it was met and even surpassed!!

The Good:
- Great rooms, nice bathroom, clean
- The hospitality is beyond good. I stayed at top tier brand hotels that where nowhere near the Layana's level. Stefan and his crew add a personal touch to it which makes it feel as if you are a guest in their home. This can sometimes feel slightly too much but it never went beyond the border.
- The price/value both of the rooms (€125 when we went) and the inhouse dining is very good
- The 'no kids' policy. This was new to us but once you are there at the poolside you realise how relaxing it is to have no kids running around.

Room for improvement:
- The whole resort is starting to show a little bit of wear and tear even though they keep it spotless
- Koh Lanta is definitely not a place you need to go. The destination is really the Layana.
- The weather was not great when we where there. But instead of complaining about it the staff turns it into an oportunity and provides everybody with a 1000THB bar tab in a personal letter apologizing for the bad weather!?!

Have you ever heard such a thing? Wow!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Dutch1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel
The Houben Hotel
#3 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#12 of 84 in Ko Lanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing