We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 out of 10”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2009

We've just arrived back after 6 nights at Layana. From the minute we were met at the airport, until the minute we took off, we were looked after. The resort is spotless, rooms and bathrooms spacious and well appointed. The grounds are extensive and we never felt crowded. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Every request was met with a smile, and carried out immediately. The staff are all very well trained, and are a credit to Margie and Bob. When my partner went down with a stomach bug (NOTHING to do with the hotel) they all showed a genuine concern, suggesting light food, ginger tea etc to make him feel better.
Food at the hotel was good, and the cookery course we did there was excellent. One good thing about Layana is that the prices for food and drink are very reasonable. They don't rip you off just because you want to eat on site. Likewise with the minibar in your room. You won't find a $10 bag of peanuts here!
The spa was excellent - they run various specials on certain days, which we took full advantage of.
The dive centre is also excellent - friendly informed staff, although having dived around the world, I found the prices a bit on the steep side.
We really were sorry to leave. The boat and van transfer to the airport was the icing on the cake.
My one (tiny) complaint was the beach. In front of the hotel it is pristine and well tended. If you like to go for a walk (it's a lovely long beach) and you walk 5 minutes south you come across alot of plastic (bottles, rope, bags) washed up on the shore. To be fair, this could have been due to the change in the winds bringing the monsoon. It really is an eyesore. Surely the authorities or local hotels could organize a weekly clean up?
I would love to return here.
PS Don't pay too much heed to the monsoon forecasts. We had 6 days of uninterrupted sunshine in the monsoon season - and it's blissfully quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuandjav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

990 - 996 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2009

I first hesitated to write this review. Not that the hotel didn't please me, on the contrary, but I wanted to keep this little paradise on earth for myself. What a gem. But Bob the owner desserves good publicity. He delivers a very personnel service (go on a sunset cruise with him, and you'll know...) and does a great job on this island.

It is the most calming place on earth for relaxing and charging your batteries. The Spa offers out of this world massages, only know what you're looking for because some Spa receptionists don't always know the treatments.

We stayed in a very spacious Ocean suite with an upper floor patio and day bed and an extra outdoor shower. The upper floor is outside, which means it can be very hot when the seabreeze isn't blowing. They do offer the opportunity to sleep outside and are willing to make the daybed. Although this sounds very romantic, I do not recommend this option unless you can stand the heat.

The restaurant offers light food and snacks all day long,either on the premises, by the infinity pool or in your room. Most nights they also offer a specialty menu, which is great the first few times, but after a while it gives the impression of a "holiday club": the "specialty" isn't a specialty anymore...

The staff are also quiet young and inexperienced, but their smile and their will to learn and improve is disarming. Bob and Marge do also a great job in educating the local youth, teaching them English and learning a job.

I will return here as soon as possible

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My husband and I spent two nights of our honeymoon here. I booked the Beach Suite through asiarooms.com few months ago. There are only three Beach Suite here, so they are almost always full - these are the best rooms in the hotel as you get both beach and ocean view. The staff was really attentive. Our room was decorated for honeymooners, including a floral bath. Hobie cat and kayaks are complimentary, but the waves now is too strong to do any water sports. The pool is wide and long, so we can do laps here. Restaurant food is great. The hotel arranges excursions to different places, but they are usually only offered once or twice a week. If you are only staying here for two nights (like we were), then the chances of you getting the excursion you want is small. You may want to contact them ahead of time to discuss excursions if you would like to join one during your stay there. There is nothing much to do around the hotel or Koh Lanta. All the guests here seemed to enjoy the laid back environment of just relaxing by the pool or the beach. My husband and I came to Koh Lanta from Koh Phi Phi - a nice change from the loud and upbeat crowd to the the laid back and quiet crowd.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincciCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My family and I just returned from a vacation in Koh Lanta and had stayed 3 nights each in Layana and La Laanta which are currently ranked the 1st and 2nd resorts respectively by TripAdvisor. I think a comparison between the two resorts might provide some hints to holidays-seekers to choose one to suit their personal preferences.

The resort – Before arrival, I expected Layana to be a small to medium size 4-stars resort because it has only 50 rooms. However it did exceed my expectation and was a truly 5-stars resort. It was spacious, tastefully designed and provided the comfort of a luxury resort without compromising the privacy and quietness. La Laanta had 20 bungalows with totally different style. In contrast to the luxurious of a general 5-stars resort, it provided a peaceful ambience which made its guests feel free, ease and relaxing just like home.

Location – Layana was rather conveniently located and guests could walk to nearby shops though, in fact, there was not much to shop around. La Laanta was seclude and remotely located and it was quite unlikely for guests to access nearby shops or restaurants.

Facilities – There were only 1 pool and 1 restaurant available in Layana. Though their sizes are medium comparing to those of an average 5-stars resort, they are adequate for a boutique resort as in the case of Layana. It had spa facilities which we didn’t try. Its library was comfortable and well-organized. When comparing to those of La Laanta, the pool and library in Layana are obviously of a higher class despite Layana had only 2 PCs for internet access while La Laanta had 3. The restaurants were hard to compare. La Laanta had 2 small restaurants. The breakfast restaurant oversaw the pool and the beach and made people feel calm and relaxing – particularly with 2 dogs and 1 cat lying at your feet. The dinner restaurant had a sand floor but the sands were neither as white nor powdery as those of some top Asian beaches. We had mosquito bites in the 2 nights we dined there. Overall, I personally liked the breakfast restaurant in La Laanta above the others.

Room – We stayed in 2 Pavilion rooms which were standard rooms in Layana. The room was spacious, warm and cosy. It was definitely better than equivalent rooms in average 5-stars resorts. In La Laanta, we stayed in a Sand Castle room overseeing the small garden, the pool and the beach (We were lucky to be assigned probably the best room in the resort). It was clean and cosy. In brief, the room in Layana was much more luxurious though I personally prefer to stay in the Sand Castle room in La Laanta mainly because of its view.

Services – The services in Layana were excellent. They were subtle and attentive and were the best that I have experienced in a 5-stars resort. (We have stayed in 30-40 5-stars resorts in Asia in the last 10-12 years). In La Laanta, you won’t see any staff to serve you in uniform, and this fitted well to an ease environment as you won’t expect a uniformed staff to serve you at home. Nevertheless, its staff members were always available to attend to your requests and to offer assistances. And both Michael in Layana and Patrick in La Laanta were very friendly.

Beach – The beach in La Laanta was quiet and private and the water was comparatively calmer and clearer. It was in general better than that in Layana.

Food – The restaurant in Layana offered more varieties of food such as Thai, Mediterranean and western while that in La Laanta mainly offered Thai food with some choices of western food. Layana also had more food choices during breakfast while La Laanta’s breakfast was decent. The food prices in Layana were higher by around 10%-20% for the same Thai dishes and this was reasonable for a 5-stars resort. In general, the food prices in both restaurants were cheap. For example, Layana offered a barbecue buffet at 850 Baht which was excellent value for money when considering the food quality. The quality of Thai food in both restaurants was close, though we all agreed that the smoothies in La Laanta were much better.

Cleanliness – Absolutely no criticism for Layana. As for La Laanta, the cotton cushions on the beach chairs as well as on the seats in the dinner restaurant absorbed water during the rain and were either torn or shabby.

In brief, both resorts probably topped the rankings among the resorts of their particular styles in Koh Lanta. Holiday-seekers won’t disappoint to have chosen either one of them.

Keith Yeung keith.scout@yahoo.com.hk

Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
13  Thank HKSunFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We stayed at the Layana on a whim. This was one of our highlights of Thailand. The owners are from South Africa and have built a beautiful plush property right on the ocean. The grounds are well manicured, the staff is knowledgeable and can speak and understand English very well, the rooms are beautiful and air conditioned and the chef of the restaurant is a Master Chef from Italy well trained in Thai and Italian cuisine.

The hotel is down the main road about 10 minutes from the pier and the property is beautiful. The hotel offers free wifi in the rooms, by the pool and on the beach. Each room has a patio and ocean villas are available at an extra cost. Flat screen tv, internet, air condition, bath tub and shower, in room safe and room service is available at all times.

The beach front is soft sand and plush chairs with exceptional service at all of the in/outlets of the hotel. Free DVD rental and a library with complimentary computer access is avaiable for hotel guest between 6am-8pm. There is an incredible beautiful spa on property and a small well equipped gym for guest to use.

We took a day trip on a mountain bike for 400 baht per person. There are many activities the hotel offers at an additonal fee: day trips, cooking classes and sunset cruises. The hotel had a complimentary wine tasting, water areobics and yoga for guest. The spa also offers daily specials. Breakfast was included everyday with our room rate. The buffet style breakfast was amazing. Lots of care was put into the menu and the service was unmatched.

The hotel van picked us up from the airport and took us to the resort . We took 2 ferries to get there. The ride from the airport was 2 hours but the van was very comfortable. The property was so nice I would return to Koh Lanta just to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bakesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed at Layana for 2 weeks in March 2009, and we loved it!
Very warm and friendly welcome with drinks and cold towels.
We stayed in the pavillion room and they are very nice and have all you need. The housekeeping staff are brilliant and kept the rooms very clean.
The food is great and reasonable priced, but try the resturants in Saladan as well!
At breakfast you sit right next to the beach and you have almost everything you need.
The beach is very nice, comfy sunbeds, lots of towels, staff comes with cold water just when you need it and it`s peaceful.
I used the gym and it´s a little oldfashioned and small but it works OK. You have the beach where you could run, swim or walk at.
We booked the 4 island trip with the hotel and it was great. We went with our swedish travel agent to koh rook and was not good at all. Next time we will book everything trough Layana because of the service.
Overall the staff at this hotel is faboulous and very friendly and helpful. They makes this hotel a 5 star!!
Can´t wait to go back!!
/Hulda & Anders
Sweden

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hbacke77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2009

The location is perfect - very quiet and luxurious on lovely beach, but a short walk up the beach to great value bars and restaurants (our favourites for food were Thai Cat and Suza Hut) so best of both worlds. There is also scope to see other parts of the beautiful island by scooter (rent from resort) or tuk-tuk and access to ATMs, pharmacies, etc etc so you are not isolated.

Service is friendly (loads of smiles and greetings), unobtrusive and efficient and Michael seems to be a first class manager. Nothing is too much trouble

Plus points:-
Pool voted by my wife as the prettiest she had swum in.
Excellent breakfast with loads of fresh fruit. All kinds of other tastes catered for as well.
Great cocktails in beach front bar and 2 hour happy hour to enjoy them!
Terrific rooms (we had the "cheapest" type - Garden View) - big, clean and nice balconies.
Speedboat/minibus transfer
Brilliant dive shop with staff (Alex particularly good) who are refreshingly focused on safety as well as giving you a great dive
Beautiful spa - also don't miss their own beach massage spot which is only slightly more expensive than the others on the beach but well worth the extra 10 baht!

Minus points (only small ones!):-
The aircon in the room has a minimum setting of 20 degrees which was a bit warm for us Scots!
The beach BBQ was a disappointment - coals probably not hot enough so food overcooked/rubbery and no fresh fish - apparently all the fish caught off Koh Lanta goes to Koh Phi Phi, but doesn't seem to stop all the other restaurants up the beach having fresh barracuda, bass, grouper, etc on their barbecues ...
The buzzer system for the pool and beach beds is a great idea for when you need something, but SOME (not all) of the staff are a bit slow to respond or, dare I say, sometimes even ignore/forget the buzz!
Beware the fuel gauges on the resort's scooters - we ran out of fuel with the gauge still showing "full"!

All in all a lovely place to stay - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jimmy_Superscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 85 in Ko Lanta
585 reviews
8 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 85 in Ko Lanta
2,141 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: £133 - £410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing