We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What I Needed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What I Needed!”
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I would like to add to the glowing reviews of the Layana Resort and Spa. Bob, Michael and Anya were nothing less than hospitable, helpful and kind. No problem was too small for them to solve and quickly! Even when we arrived and saw the unruly ocean and were regretting our choice, they offered to refund us the difference should we choose to find another location. Thankfully, we opted for the intended stay and am happy to report not one regret. Peaceful, restful and relaxing! The local staff was polite and welcoming. The food was outstanding! My only advice would be to have more options for activities even in the down season. All in all, the price for the stay and food was fair and would recommend Layana to friends and family when they visit Koh Lanta. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,154
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

All I can say about the last review is wow you must be use to six star cause honestly we had a great time and all the guests that we spoke to said the same thing. The service was amazing small details they go into are things we have never seen at other hotels and we have been to thialand Nine times.

The staff go out of there way to please you and can;t do enough for you....

Just a supper supper place .................

  • Liked — Luxuary
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vannabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

in response to poppy roberts review we stayed at layana in march for our 46th wedding anniversary and couldnt fault it the staff were wonderful and we didnt need to give hand signala as there english was adequate. as for the flies etc at breakfast we didnt see any and this is from someone who throws a steak on a barbie and opens a tinny?
Our anniversary was treated like we were on honeymoon flowers on the dining table flowers in the room,champagne.
my wife suffers with a back problem and we told (margeret) and she said no problem when we got back to our room a softer mattress was on the bed.
the layana staff were wonderful they good not do enough for you you only had to ask and they were there.
the cleanliness was perfect the gardens immaculate what more can i say.
once again thank you layana for a wonderful stay hope to be back soon.
(theres always someone who goes on holiday just to moan)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I got married at this resort in March 09 and cannot say enough good things about this place, the staff and especially the owners Margie and her husband, Bob. They both made our stay a very special time.

Our planned wedding day was rained out (sods law). My wife was upset as expected as she had been planning this day for over a year. Margie bent over backwards to see that all the arrangements were changed so that we could get married the following morning. We had a perfect empty beach for the wedding and a stunning sunset later on before the evening meal.

Unlike other hotel websites with the Layana's 'what you see is what you get'.... the location, the grounds and rooms are lovely.

I'd highly recommend getting picked up from the pier by Layana's speedboat. didn't think it would be my cup of tea being a down to earth traveller type, but it was great. The resort looks stunning from the boat.

As with any review on trip advisor you have to take it with a pinch of salt, but there is a reason this place gets top marks from everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelRoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, London
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Well where do I start ????

My now wife and I had done lots of research on trying to find the perfect place for our honeymoon. We are so glad we decided on Layana. We read review after review on various different locations and hotels but we never seemed to find anything wrong with the reviews about Layana (apart from the very odd one on trip advisor, and what they complained about was in our opinion a tad fussy.)

Reception : Upon arriving at Krabi airport we were swept away with the Layana staff. Air con transport and ice cold drinks until we got to the harbour. From the harbour our private speed boat to the beach in front of Layana was very very special. This is a must and well worth the cost as the option of 2 ferry boats wouldn't be enjoyable after a long journey. So once we got of the speed boat our pampering continued. Fresh flowers garlands, iced cocktails in the Tides bar and also a very cold towel to refresh yourself. Very nice touch. After 10-15 mins we were whisked to our room (Ocean Deluxe Suite 2) by buggy which made us laugh as it was only about a 50 yard journey. Chicken the Thai reception girl walked us through our room and told us all we needed to know about the room. It was great to find fresh fruit, choc's and a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket!!!

Room : Oh my god we were in for a treat. The rooms from the website looked great but in reality they were much better. We had so much space and comfort it really made our stay so comfortable. Upstairs. This was where the daybed was with "mossie" net and mini bar facility. The view down to the beach was perfect!! Ground Floor. The bathroom and dressing room areas were set out brilliantly. His n' hers sinks with individual dressing areas right behind. Full walk in wardrobes complete with sandals, dressing gowns and umbrellas for when it rained!! The bathroom area was fantastic. To the left our inside shower area which also led us to the outside shower area ......... bliss. The sunken bath with French door like windows which opened onto the outside shower area. Even the loo area was pretty special. No details required. :-) The giant bed was so comfy and always decorated beautifully with flowers and leaves and of an evening a turn down with sweetie.

Tides & Sundowners : The bar and restaurant area. Tides was a great place to meet or chill with a nice drink during the day or before (5 - 7.30 happy hour) and always after our evening meals. The cocktails were lovely and plenty to choose from. My wife Tania sampled them all!!! Prawit one of the barmen would even make a cocktail up from scratch, just tell him what you like and a few minutes later there it was for you always decorated and always nice too. Sundowners restaurant was just amazing. We never ate out once during our 11 days as the food on offer was fantastic and very reasonably priced in our opinion. The breakfast was unlimited and the choice was endless. The snacks during the day were very nice and cooked to an equally high standard not just bunged together and stuck on a plate. As for evening time every night was brilliant. I could comment on so many things but in a few words was just the perfect venue to spend our 1st nights together as Mr & Mrs. Great food and great service. One thing to be careful with is the wine as it is expensive but this is due to Thai taxes which drive the price up. However we did drink the wine as with fine food you don't want miss out on the wine do you??

Pool : The 2 pools were fantastic and temperature was perfect too. The small pool was also a spa which you can activate by yourself. The large pool was great as there were areas where you could sit in the water in a sculpted seat in the shade reading or just cooling off. Loved the pool areas so much. Also the pool boys were so on the ball and seemed to be mind readers. Always timing the cold drink perfectly and fresh fruit kebabs!!! They were really great at their jobs and couldn't do enough for you. Straightening your bed, sorting your towels, putting up the parasol you name they did it.

Spa : We bought the 15000bht package for 9500 bht special offer and got a total of 9 treatments for around £185 so very good value. Full body signature massages were 1 1/2 hours of bliss. Also the foot massage made you feel like you were walking on air when you came out a really great all round service. The girls were exceptional in there manner and also there massaging skills. If you go don't miss out on visiting the spa.

Staff : Bob & Margie (I think) Your staff are wonderful and your jewels in your crown. Aran, Anya, Chicken, Boy, Sittinporn, Prawit, Red, Aom, Kung, Rung ......... very special and made our stay fantastic.

We really do hope to see them all again soon.

Alan & Tania Grays, Essex

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snedthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful 10 nights at Layana. We chose to go early May as the cost was reasonable although we were warned about the weather. We were pleasantly surprised to have only 1 day of rain throughout our whole time in Thailand, and a couple of showers over night; please don’t be put off by anybody that tells you it’s a bad time to visit Ko Lanta. The only downside, and this is no means the hotels fault, is that the boat trips were scarce and speedboat transfers did not run due to the rough sea. However, the journey by road and ferry from Krabi airport was absolutely worth getting to Layana.

From the moment we were met at the airport, by a hotel staff member, and shown to our air conditioned vehicle, complete with ice cold water and DVDs to watch on the journey, until we were waved off by Michael and Bob, we really felt like the whole world revolved around us.

The staff in the hotel are second to none and simply cannot do enough for you. The guys around the pool and beach show you to sun loungers, set them up and bring you fresh water and fruit throughout the day; the bar staff are attentive, remember what you like to drink, and are chatty without being intrusive. All of the staff spoke good English (certainly better than our grasp of languages, so why anyone complains about going to a foreign country and them not speaking English well is beyond me!) and we had a great time with out waitresses in the evening as they taught us something new to say in Thai each day!

A word about the food…simply stunning. Excellent quality and choice and not at extortionate prices; this was the first time to Thailand for us, so we may not know what prices other hotels charge, but we found for a hotel of the class of Layana, with not much else around to go to in low season, the prices were very reasonable. Around 200-400Baht for main meals, and during happy hour cocktails and beers were just 100-120Baht. In fact, for 10 nights, including the spa goer’s package, Thai cookery class and a few excursions we spent a lot less than we had first expected which was a pleasant surprise.

There are bars and restaurants to visit along the beach, more open in high season than this time of year, but Anja did offer to recommend some local restaurants should we want to go elsewhere. To be honest, the choice and the fact that the hotel did daily "specials" - a beach bbq, pasta night, etc, we didn't feel the need to go elsewhere to eat, as the quality was great and the prices reasonable.

The resort is very small, just 50 rooms, but very well planned out; if you are expecting the opulence and brash style of some Middle Eastern large hotels, then be prepared as this is on a much smaller scale, in traditional Thai style. The whole resort is very well designed; the beach and infinity pool are lovely, and the gardens which the standard rooms face on to are beautiful; the whole place is kept immaculate by the staff, brushing up leaves and generally tidying each day, and the room service was excellent. Fresh towels, cosmetics and water each day in the room, with the bed decorated with fresh flowers. They thoroughly clean and mop daily, and nothing is too much trouble should you need anything extra. The garden rooms themselves are of a good size, bathrooms are large with sunken tubs looking onto an outdoor area and separate showers. The patio’s are usable and of a good size, and who ever commented in a previous review about not having privacy was a little over the top. There was minimal noise from our neighbours above, and the resort was so quiet, there were hardly hordes of people passing your window all day long!

The beach villas are nice, although a lot more expensive – you get a few more square foot, but the main thing is the outdoor shower and the view on to the beach and the fact that you are not adjoining anyone; if you want that level of privacy then pay the extra, but with 4 rooms in 1 story blocks, the garden rooms were fantastic.

The spa is stunning; all of the staff are knowledgeable, and the therapists really do the best treatments and massages that I have ever experienced. They are perfectionists, so if you have a manicure/pedicure, be prepared to sit back and relax, and the Thai massage is a must…you will leave feeling like you are walking on air. A nice touch is the fresh fruit and flavoured tea that they bring after each treatment, you really don’t feel the need to rush and will leave feeling pampered.

For rainy days (not that we had many) the staff brought out the ping pong table, there is a good library with DVD’s and fruit carving and cookery lessons to keep you occupied.

Also, not that we don’t like children, but it was a nice touch that the hotel only takes reservations from adults.

We were told by Bob when we arrived that if we wanted anything at all, just to speak up, and they really truly go out of their way to make your stay perfect; anyone that does not have a fabulous holiday at Layana should stop travelling, as there really is no better place to visit and wind down.

The staff are a credit to Bob and Margi, some of them have been there for many years, and you can feel that when they talk about their jobs, the resort and the owners, that they genuinely love working their.

As hosts, Bob and Margi are fantastic, and their management team go out of their way to speak to you and make you feel welcome; the complimentary wine tasting was great fun, and good chance to get to know a little about the lovely couple that own this resort; Layana is wonderful for the small touches that they do to make your holiday special, and I really hope that they do not change in any way, we will hope to return next year for more of the same.

If anyone from Layana reads this…We thought about the staff party on the 20th, and would be very interested to know if the Blue Angels or Red Devils won on the day!!

Room 36 – 6th May – 16th May
[--]

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayneyManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We have just returned from 10 wonderful nights at the Layana (May 09). The hotel itself is faultless. The staff are friendly and attentive and simply can't do enough for you but it was never oppressive. We stayed in a Garden Room and it is as good as any top class hotel room I have stayed in. I'm not sure how often the rooms are cleaned/made up but everytime we returned to our room it was spotless with flowers on the bed! The balance of 5* luxury and small boutique service is perfect.

We booked a package which included a couple of evening meals, spa treatments and a sunset cruise. Where to start...The sunset cruise was made a bit more special by the fact that Bob and Margie (The owners) come along and spend time with you. Bob is a natural raconteur with a particularly dry sense of humour.

Food at the resort is very good. The breakfast offers both western and asia food buffet style but also has an eggstation for fresh eggs how you like them or for preparing fresh thai style breakfast. The evening menu is split into European and Thai we tried both and both were very good and reasonably priced. Obviously some things are imported and are therefore a little more expensive but you can order a Thai Green Curry for 180b.

The spa is fantastic. Great setting and atmosphere (apart from one piece of background music!) and very good staff. It is not cheap but you get what you pay for and with the various specials available, it works out as very good value.

May is the start of the low season and the island was very quiet. So if you are looking for nightlife you will be disappointed at this time of year. However there are still quite a few places open nearby if you want to get out of the hotel for a meal and drink. The Retro Bar is worth a visit as is a small restuarant on the beach (Tatto Bar, I think). Take a right turn up the beach and it is the first 'restaurant' you come to (before you get to Kapa Klum bar). A few tables on the beach and a lovely guy in a beanie hat. Great thai food!

Thanks to all at Layana...hope we are back soon

PS Don't believe the weather forecasts on the web. We had 1 day of rain out of 10 and a couple of days with a few showers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastlePeterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#6 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,074 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing