We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time - even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“2nd Time - even better!”
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I can't believe it's taken me a while to write this review on Layana.

February was our 2nd trip to the Layana at exactly the same time of the year (last 2 weeks in Feb) and the place has just got better and better if that's possible.

This time we stayed 11 nights in a Beach Suite - well worth it if you can get one as there are only 3 and 3 nights in a Ocean Suite - pictures are posted. Whilst the upstairs outdoor area of the Ocean suite was lovely with it's day bed, bar and desk it's design downstairs is not as lovely as the Beach suite so I would recommend that one most.

The whole hotel is beautifully presented, the gardens lush, always being tended too by friendly gardeners. The restaurant is extremely good and whilst we love Layana for the fact that you can walk down the beach to numerous other bars and restaurants, the Layana restaurant is worth staying in for when you do. The beach BBQ is a fabulous evening with a firedancer (much better than others that we saw on the island) and incredible food all cooked to order and as much as you can eat of it too.

Service is impecable, friendly and unobtrusive. The addition of the beach butler buttons is a great one so you can get service when you want and not when you don't. The guys cannot do enough to help both around the pool and on the beach (not to mention of course in the restaurant/bar).

Housekeeping was also even better this time, our rooms were kept in pristine conditiona and the outdoor bathrooms glorious.

My husband tried Thai boxing with Mon whilst he was there and ended up having a lesson every day for the time we were there. The owners rearanged Mon's shifts so that he could do this for him. Just one of the ways in which the owner, Bob and Margie are completely and successfully hands on. They are about most of the time and ask for your views and suggestions and clearly take them on board. If there ever open another hotel anywhere in the world we would be there in a flash, they care not only about the Layana but Lanta itself and the effect that some of the tourism is having on it.

Recommendations?
* Hire a moped and explore the island, it's easy, cheap and a great way to get to some more beaches (the south end of the island is very unspoilt)
* Try the Frog wine bar and food in Saladan - good value wine
* Have a drink or food at Relax bay and watch the sunset.
* Go down to Klong Nin Beach and eat wiht the backpackers
* Have a massage with the Layana girls on the beach (or in the spa but the beach is v cheap) rather than walking along, they are wonderful, smiling and relaxing.

Layana is deservedly the best hotel on Lanta (the Pimalai will claim to be so but it's a completely different type of hotel and miles away from anywhere). This is due to it's staff (most were well known faces from the year before), it's owners, it's great beach location and the lovely rooms and bathrooms. It is going to be super super hard to stay anywhere else in Thailand when we return in March next year as we have been completely spoilt.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank livery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,156
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We picked Layana based on the reviews from Tripadvisor, and they are all true – it’s pretty amazing. Beautiful idyllic setting right on the beach. Warm, kind staff that treated us like royalty. We stayed in a Garden Pavilion room which was huge and spotless. Food at the resort was delicious, the chefs do an excellent job. The spa was THE BEST, spa prices are amazingly affordable so we didn’t feel guilty indulging. The four hour couples treatment was heavenly – do it! We also booked the transfer to hotel (via van due to the season) and it was smooth and seamless. Loved the infinity pool. This resort is perfect for honeymooners or anyone looking for a little bit of romance and/or seclusion. We were only able to stay 3 nights (too short!), and most of the activities required more of an advance booking than we were able to provide. It would be nice if there were a few more activities available on short notice. Although we enjoyed simply relaxing. We were there in July – the rainy season – but it did not rain once! They were offering a pretty great “rainy day guarantee” as well, just in case. They also have a cool library with lots of books and DVDs to use in the room for free. Oh and we loved the free wi-fi! Layana is truly a hidden gem and so affordable for what you get – I almost hesitate to add this review for fear that more people will discover it and it will move out of our price range! Thanks Layana for a great stay and for making our anniversary special. We would love to come back soon!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank monalua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybiza, Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed for two weeks in July for our Honeymoon. Flew with Thai Airways (excellent) and were greeted by a nice lady at Krabi Airport for the private transfer (excellent) which took across the ferries which were fine (low season so the speedboat isn't an option as the sea is very rough).

Greeted by the owner Bob on arrival at Layana with drinks, cold towel and a flower necklace which was all very nice! Then taken to our room by golf cart. We stayed in Ocean Deluxe Suite 2 which is set just off the beach behind the Beach Suites. The suite was out of this world, huge bed, very spacious, outdoor and indoor shower, sunken jacuzzi tub, walk in wardrobe area, dual sinks and an interesting 'butt shower' in the toilet which I finally realised was a common 'eco' appliance across Thailand after reading it in a magazine!! There was also an upstairs part with a day bed which was brilliant to just lounge around drinking beer and reading a good book!

It took us a while to adjust to our surroundings and the way things work in the resort. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful which was quite daunting at first as I'm not used to that sort of thing but they all meaned well.

We stayed in the resort for pretty much the whole time as we were after relaxation rather than 'doing this and doing that'.

The restaurant is again excellent and the food amazing. I don't like fish and spicey food but I still managed to find something different on the menu everynight. We went half board, not sure what the price difference would have been if we didn't but we ate like kings so we weren't bothered! Particularly liked the T-Bone & Oz Steak Specials. Staff again are brilliant. We tried all the cocktails on the bar menu, all lovely and got us very drunk! They do a happy hour after 5.30ish, get them all in then! You dont pay for anything until the end of your stay, instead you sign the receipt and its added to your room, this is a new thing to me and we easily lost track of our expenditure we weren't 'spending' as such.

Pool area was again brilliant. Pool attendants sort your sunbed out, bring clean towels, cold towels, fresh fruit, cold water, you dont have to lift a finger! Theres even a button you can press to get served drinks and food straight to you! The pool is plenty big and it looks out across the beach and sea.

We had some treatments in the Spa too. First time ever for me as Im not into that sort of stuff but I thought I'd better make an effort what with it being my honeymoon and all! We took advantage on the 'partner goes free' special days and had a massage and facial in week 1 and week 2. Credit to the staff again as they were amazing and we felt so relaxed afterwards! Definately recommend!

We did a do couple of excursions with the resort and with a 3rd party company too (Evolution i think they were called). Unfortunately ALL boats trips don't run in low season due to the very choppy seas during monsoon season. I kind of ignored this and thought that I'd find atleast one trip, I was mistaken. This was our only disappointment of the holiday but it didnt ruin it, just a minor set back. The resort did however do a sundowner cruise on one of the layana boats. They could do this as it was between the two lanta islands were the sea was very calm. This trip was brillaint. Bob and his wife joined us and we just chilled for a couple of hours with some cold drinks watching the sun go down. We managed to see 1 monkey too! I also did a kayak trip with 'b', one of the pool attendants. He was a nice chap and he took me through the mangroves and showed me some wildlife. The other trip we did was an elephant trek with the 3rd party company. This wasn't what we expected. We were keen to see the elephants, feed them and learn about them but it turned out to be just a ride on one through a patch of 'jungle'. We didn't enjoy that much as we felt sorry for the elephant. The staff spoke very little english too.

It rained all day for just one day during our stay and a couple of times very late at night and very early in the morning so we didn't notice. The rain was never going to be a problem for us and it wasn't. The sun was glorious and the heat was immense, I actually came back to the Uk with a tan, first time ever!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay hugely. For us, we had spent alot of money on the holiday as it was our honeymoon and we wanted it to be extra special and we are glad that we did. It will be one to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djryki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I would like to add to the glowing reviews of the Layana Resort and Spa. Bob, Michael and Anya were nothing less than hospitable, helpful and kind. No problem was too small for them to solve and quickly! Even when we arrived and saw the unruly ocean and were regretting our choice, they offered to refund us the difference should we choose to find another location. Thankfully, we opted for the intended stay and am happy to report not one regret. Peaceful, restful and relaxing! The local staff was polite and welcoming. The food was outstanding! My only advice would be to have more options for activities even in the down season. All in all, the price for the stay and food was fair and would recommend Layana to friends and family when they visit Koh Lanta. Thank you for a wonderful stay! Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

All I can say about the last review is wow you must be use to six star cause honestly we had a great time and all the guests that we spoke to said the same thing. The service was amazing small details they go into are things we have never seen at other hotels and we have been to thialand Nine times.

The staff go out of there way to please you and can;t do enough for you....

Just a supper supper place .................

  • Liked — Luxuary
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vannabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

in response to poppy roberts review we stayed at layana in march for our 46th wedding anniversary and couldnt fault it the staff were wonderful and we didnt need to give hand signala as there english was adequate. as for the flies etc at breakfast we didnt see any and this is from someone who throws a steak on a barbie and opens a tinny?
Our anniversary was treated like we were on honeymoon flowers on the dining table flowers in the room,champagne.
my wife suffers with a back problem and we told (margeret) and she said no problem when we got back to our room a softer mattress was on the bed.
the layana staff were wonderful they good not do enough for you you only had to ask and they were there.
the cleanliness was perfect the gardens immaculate what more can i say.
once again thank you layana for a wonderful stay hope to be back soon.
(theres always someone who goes on holiday just to moan)

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I got married at this resort in March 09 and cannot say enough good things about this place, the staff and especially the owners Margie and her husband, Bob. They both made our stay a very special time.

Our planned wedding day was rained out (sods law). My wife was upset as expected as she had been planning this day for over a year. Margie bent over backwards to see that all the arrangements were changed so that we could get married the following morning. We had a perfect empty beach for the wedding and a stunning sunset later on before the evening meal.

Unlike other hotel websites with the Layana's 'what you see is what you get'.... the location, the grounds and rooms are lovely.

I'd highly recommend getting picked up from the pier by Layana's speedboat. didn't think it would be my cup of tea being a down to earth traveller type, but it was great. The resort looks stunning from the boat.

As with any review on trip advisor you have to take it with a pinch of salt, but there is a reason this place gets top marks from everyone!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelRoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,075 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Destinology, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing