We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't disappoint second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Layana Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 84 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Didn't disappoint second time around”
Reviewed 13 November 2009

This was our second visit to Layana and having loved our first visit 3 years ago, wondered if we would be as impressed second time around. We needn't have given it a second thought. On arrival we were greeted like old friends and the memorable impeccable service continued throughout our stay. When we were taken to our room, the bed had 'Welcome Home' written in flowers and leaves. A few minutes later, someone arrived with a bottle of complimentary sparkling wine as we were returning guests. It's these touches that make Layana a great place to stay.
The owner is often seen around the resort and makes a point of chatting with his guests. The resort is small, which is part of its charm. You don't need to leave it and in fact this time around, we didn't!
The staff make every effort to look after you and you couldn't be friendlier.
Since our first visit to Layana, all other hotels have been benchmarked against. We've yet to find a hotel to beat it, so we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,318
    100
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
70
1,156
26
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

Stunning location. Very high service levels.Beach suite idyllic.
An hotel where the staff and management care very much that you have everything you wish.Faultless

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2009

The Layana is a truly fantastic hotel and spa. The customer service that we experienced here was second to none, the staff are attentive and friendly and made us all feel very welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was good quality and excellent (although we also ate at other restaurants just up the beach, which were also very good).

We had a magical stay and enjoyed every minute. We simply didn't want to leave. I rarely want to return to a place that I have stayed before, but I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel. I just hope that nothing spoils it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingWillbury14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2009

My husband and stayed at Layana for 12 nights August. We had a truly amazing holiday, one to remember for ever. The resort exceeded our exceptions as everything was more than perfect.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VOWLES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

We travelled to Layana for 17 nights and stayed in a garden view room on a half board basis. The long journey to get to Layana is truly worth it and very quickly forgotten - on arrival, we were greeted with cold towels, welcome drink and a very smooth check-in.

The rooms are lovely, really quite spacious and kept spotless - mosquito spray (very effective), water and toiletries were replenshed each day free of charge. The free wi-fi is great and mini bar prices are really good!

The food is fantastic and prices are reasonable - there are a few restaurants down the beach (only tried the funky fish restaurant and it was nice and very cheap) and more were opening for high season. If you are a wine drinker then I would suggest you avail of the happy hours between 5.30pm - 7.30pm as wine is quite pricey in Thailand. A bottle of house wine in the hotel restaurant costs approx 890 bhats and is pretty good.

The pool is great (very quiet as no children) and during the day the staff bring around cold water, fruit and cold towels - very welcome!

The spa is great - would recommend the Layana massage.

The local town (Saladan) is not far and well worth a visit or two (absolutely no hassle whatsoever from anyone) - it's only 50 bhats pp in a taxi ordered from the front desk. We hired mopeds for a couple of days and it was a great way to see the island - we also did the sunrise bike ride which was nice and you get to ride past lots of elephants.

What really makes this hotel so special is the amazing staff - you are genuinely welcomed and treated so well that you will not want to leave. On the day of our departure, all the staff were aware of our leaving and each one them personally said goodbye and wanted to check that we had enjoyed our stay! We have never returned to the same hotel before but we will be going back to Layana.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank prendy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Just wanted to say that I had an incredible stay at Layana Resort; the staff were friendly and very accomodating, the resort was immaculate and you couldn't ask for a better position practically on the beach. The restaurant was ideally located and the staff here were fantastic.

Anything you wanted or needed you could ask for and every effort was made to accomodate you including bug spray, adaptors, dvds, books, even cough medicine! I'd highly recommend Layana if you're looking for a place to chill out for a few days, where you know you'll be taken care of and your only stresses are deciding what you want from the awesome buffet breakfast or deciding on pool versus beach swimming. It does take a while to travel to from Phuket and Krabi but it's well worth the trip. Just do it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I did not write a review when we first visited Layana in November of 2006 but I am now. We have been remembering how wonderful the experience was and decided to return for our 25th Anniversary. Our inital visit was for 4 nights and when we asked to stay longer, there were no rooms available. This time, we have reservations for 7 nights and already wonder if we should stay longer.

We have travelled extensively and enjoy small boutique hotels. The level and quality of service is the finest we have experienced and we look forward to returning.

Although Layana is difficult to reach, the effort is well worth the reward if you are looking for a quality experince without the hassles found elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbandwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
2.1 mi away
Twin Lotus Resort & Spa by Burasari
0.3 mi away
Long Beach Chalet
Long Beach Chalet
#7 of 84 in Ko Lanta
556 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Houben Hotel ( Adult Only )
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Baan KanTiang See Villa Resort (2 bedroom villas)
8.5 mi away
Pimalai Resort and Spa
Pimalai Resort and Spa
#2 of 84 in Ko Lanta
2,074 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
#10 of 84 in Ko Lanta
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Layana Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Layana Resort and Spa

Property: Layana Resort and Spa
Address: 272 Moo 3 Phra-Ae Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ko Lanta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ko Lanta
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Layana Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Layana Resort & Spa is nestled on Koh Lanta Yai Island in Mu Koh Lanta National Park. The park is a marine archipelago, home to verdant tropical rainforests and undersea kingdoms of colourful coral rich in natural marine diversity. The resort enjoys a spectacular beachfront location on a 3-kilometer long white sand beach, situated about 2 hours south of Krabi International Airport. Environmentally-conscious design throughout the property results in a simple and elegant Thai atmosphere; alfresco architecture combining with contemporary design to provide an open, cool and natural feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Layana Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Layana Hotel Ko Lanta
Layana Ko Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing